We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Perfection In Every Aspect”
Review of Amankila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amankila
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Close to Perfection In Every Aspect”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Amanresorts is a hotel chain that I have wanted for a long time. I first confused to choose which Amans I choose, because every Amans seems fine, unique, etc... but after make some research I finally decided that my first Aman experience is: Amankila. Then, I waited until a special time to stay here for one nights or two...

1.Pre-Arrival
Prior to my arrival, I make some email that contains my questions about Amankila service, package, etc they reply quickly (not more than 1 day) and full of information that I need. But, one week before my arrival, I sent a email again, to confirmed my pick up time, but they never reply my email. So, 3 days before my arrival, I must make a call to the hotel. When I ask why you don't reply my email, he reasoned that his network was disrupted. 7/10

2.Arrival
Amankila staff pick up us in a hotel in Nusa Dua area. I want them to pick me up at 10.30 am, the car arrive at 10.30 am sharp, the car was a Toyota Innova MPV. Amankila use only Toyota Innova as their pick up fleet, so you cannot request more posh car. Journey to the Amankila takes about 90 minutes, the driver (the only man who picked me up) who pick-up me is nice person.Because the journey takes a little bit long, they provide reading materials, like magazines, Amanresorts and Amankila information. They also provide many varities of cold drinks and snacks. Finally we arrive at Amankila, when we arrive, about 3 persons greeted us (we don't see the GM, Claudia), no check in formalities here, as they just ask my passport. After some chit chat, the butler escorted us to the villa. When we arrive in the villa, my bag is already in the my villa. The butler also explained us about the Villa facilities, and Villa conditions. The exotic welcome drinks was also served in here. 8/10

3.Villa
Our villa was located near the lobby. In my email, I asked that I want a Villa near the lobby area, because Amankila’s location is a little bit hilly. I do not want to be too tired, so I chose a villa near the lobby. The Villa itself although in good condition, but I think it was quite old. The sounds from old air conditioner was also loud enough. All Villa here also don’t have a television set, so you must call the butler if you want a television set installed to your room (takes about 10 minutes). All Amankila villa have a same layout, and large enough. In my opinion, the Villa here is also lack of privacy. 8/10

4.F&B
Just try their FB when breakfast. Their breakfast was no buffet style, you can choose from a menu. My Breakfast experience here was less enjoyed, because less variation, it seems less delicious, and the presentation is quite long. The view was great as breakfast area is located near the legendary three tiered pool. 6/10

5.Pool/Beach Area
Main Pool here is a legendary three tiered pool. You can see the beautiful Manggis coastline here when you take a dip in pool or relaxing at their cabana or beach chair. Sometimes their staff also give you surprise when you take a relax in your cabana. In my case, they call me by my name and give me a cold fresh ice. Nice Treats. The second pool are located near the beach club. You can reach the pool by walk 10 minutes or take a buggy. The pool is very quiet, much quieter than the first pool. The beach was less interesting, as the sand here is dark and oily. All staff here are very friendly, kind, and informative. 8/10

6.Hospitality
All staff here have a great attitude, I think they love their job, so they can satisfy us as a guest. In fact, they do not regard us as guests, but as an old friend. They all also already know our favorite magazine, drinks, etc, even though we only spoke to one person, they also call you by your name. 10/10

7.Location/View
Amankila is located in east coast of Bali, in Karangasem regency, facing Lombok island. In my opinion the area close to Amankila have a unique atmosphere, very different, more rural and serene than area which close from DPS Airport. Amankila itself is in a back out the small mountain, called “Indra” and “Kila”, so the view from the top of the resort area is abolutely breathtaking (see my picture). 9/10

7.Others
This is the explanation of main advantage of Amankila compare to others Uber Luxury Resort in Bali which I tried before, like Alila Villas Uluwatu and St.Regis Bali. Amankila have a free half day activities if you stay in Amankila, the others don’t. Amankila don’t have a exact check out time, they never ask me when we want check out, they just ask my flight time when check in. In my case, my flight back to Singapore was at 9.45 pm. One day before my departure, in a unformal chit chat, the butler tell me that tomorrow you can relax and have a dinner before we drive you to the airport. It means we can check out very late, even I never ask about a late check out – It simply like going from our home not from hotel – they regards us as a family not guest. Alila Villas Uluwatu and St.Regis Bali even don’t do this. 10/10

This is my first Aman experience. It not that perfect, but Yes, I’m very satisfied about this property. Like Amanjunkies, I don’t want to wait too long to experience other Aman property, don’t wait until my special time, because stay in one of Amanresorts is like back to your home…

Recommended: Yes, one of my favourite resort in Bali (the others is Alila Villa Uluwatu, same owner with Amankila, but different management).
Return To Sleep: Yes, but I want to try Amano’i / Amanfayun first.

As usual, I always include photos in each of my reviews on Tripadvisor. - It's Real Review.

Room Tip: Lower villas near the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank FSB_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    48
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
87
262
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Spent 3 nights in July 2013. Then subsequently 3 nights in August 2013, and 2 nights in October 2013

In my opinion, of the 3 Amans in Bali, Amanusa is the most convenient (and less luxury - probably just a notch better than Four Seasons or St. Regis), Amandari has the feeling of making you feel right at home, (Staff are sincere and genuine, and you feel extremely warm and welcome) while Amankila gives you the sense of "lost in paradise" - it's discreet, private, secluded, and enable you to completely relax and forget about yourself.

Amandari has more of a "sun" energy - warm, lush greens, village feel
Amankila has more of a "moon" energy - calm, serene, peaceful

Claudia is an one of the most amazing and professional GM I have come across. You can see and feel that she puts a lot of attention and care to the property. Her presence in the hotel is high - she's always around to ensure guests are happy, things are done right. I even saw her walking from one end of Amankila's private beach to another just to ensure the entire beach is in pristine condition.

Everything is perfect in Amankila - nothing is overlooked. The sense of absolute privacy when you need it is priceless, but when you want and need to be pampered there's an army of staff who can catered to almost everything you wish for.

Want to sleep outside under the tent - no problem!
Want breakfast in the private bale on Amankila's private beach - no problem!
Want to bike in the rice field - no problem - they sent you a driver and drive you to the most amazing place and then leave you alone to enjoy and explore
Want to go to a local Balinese shop for real sarongs and crafts anytime you want - no problem.

The hotel is amazing as it integrates local village life to the property. Local villagers perform amazing Balinese dance by the amazing Amankila 3-tier pool; shadow play and fire dance by the hotel bar.

One thing of note, the local staff in Amankila may not be as warm and welcoming as Amandari, but that's probably because you never have to walk to the main lobby and need to interact with them. Amankila is so spread out and so large that if you don't want to be seen, you don't have to be seen. On the other hand, the beach crew can't do more than enough. They leave you alone when you want privacy, but just about when you want something, they will magically appear.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at Amankila in June of 2012 as part of our honeymoon. We spent 2 weeks in Bali spread across 3 different hotels in different part of the island. Amankila was outstanding, but very remote. Thus, my only "caution" is that it probably isn't the best fit for very active people that value activities over simple relaxation. I generally fall into that category, but never felt any restlessness during our 5 day stay. From an architectural perspective, Amankilla is perhaps the most unique and beautiful resorts I have ever visited. The view from the pool is spectacular, as it was from our villa - and I would be shocked if there was a single villa without a similarly beatiful view.

We mostly spent our time at the beach and pool, but did venture out on several occassions. My wife absolutely loved the tour of the local market, and we also had a blast on our bike ride one day - which really enabled us to get a feel for the surrounding area.

The food was excellent. The fruit was without doubt the best I have ever had - to the point where I overindulged the first few days. Given the remoteness, we ate every single meal at the hotel - but that wasn't an issue on account of its quality.

Overall I would highly recommend Amankilla. It was as outstanding as its prices would suggest.

Room Tip: We stayed in an ocean suite, which was beautiful. Some rooms are located pretty far from the common...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here over Christmas for three days of true bliss! The ONLY downside is that it's a 1.5 hr drive from the airport - and they do everything to make that trip as painless as possible (especially the pillows in the car, a very nice touch!).
The staff was superb, the rooms were luxurious, the massage was decadent, the meals were individually designed, and we thoroughly enjoyed our conversations with Claudia and Guillarme and the rest of the staff. They definitely convey the feeling of "visiting friends", you never feel as though you're just another guest.
Lastly, the views about you and the peace of the resort starts from the minute you arrive.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ea0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Spent 6 days here over New Year and, like most other reviewers, felt that this is an outstanding hotel that met or exceeded our high expectations. We gather that the staff to guest ratio is around 3 to 1 and it showed. It seemed like every time we left our ocean view villa, staff would scurry in and remake the room. This was our first visit to Bali and we were bowled over by the grace and smiling good nature of everyone we met at Amankila. This is a great place to decompress in breath-taking surroundings and we both felt truly 'renewed' at the end of our stay. This may NOT be the best place to stay if you want to get to grips with authentic Balinese culture because it is an hour or so from Ubud and further still from Denpasar and the much more developed southern area. Travel by hotel limo is safe but can be slow because of the heavy traffic. Despite being very busy over the holiday period, we were (magically) unaware of other guests except at mealtimes. Our favourite spot was the pool at the Beach Club. Again, we seemed to be the only guests there most of the time. The tasting menu arranged for New Year's eve was nicely executed and followed one of several poolside displays of Balinese dancing that took place during our stay. We saw the New Year in with a great firework display and dancing beside the pool. We saw a bit of Ubud during an afternoon/evening trip with one of the hotel cars. We also took a morning boat ride up the coast and then across to a snorkelling area - weather conditions made for less than perfect visibility. Breakfast was 80 steps up from our villa but of course our villa was only 80 steps down after the nightcap! It is worth paying for the ocean view instead of the garden view but either way, if your party has any mobility issues, I would advise checking with the hotel before you book because the only buggy service
is up and down to the beach. Claudia is an excellent GM, effortlessly mixing and mingling, approachable and helpful and with a wealth of information about Bali.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBizler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

2013-09 Amankila

Bali means Amankila to us. It was our third stay in this hotel and we totally enjoyed it again. I do not want to repeat earlier reports but the magic this place has is just unique. Claudia the new GM was kind, perhaps somewhat indifferent. In the bar there was a bit of action almost every night, such as puppet theater ect., which was new and a nice idea.

The service is friendly but varies from very good to sometimes forgetful and inattentive. Housekeeping used to clean our room during our absence for breakfast, but this year, unfortunately, we had to ask for an early cleaning every day again.
Massages from Sri were perfect as usual. The gym is small, the treadmill old and the touch screen reacts as its own will.
And yet - we love it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank voyager-liese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed at Amankila as our last stop on our Beyond Bali package . It was incredible! The hotel is stunning , it's show piece being the 3 tiered pool! Absolutely beautiful! We had a beautiful ocean view villa which was located at the end of a walkway so it was very private! The villa itself is very spacious and has everything you would need. The terrace is lovely for breakfast/ dinner. The staff are wonderful and very helpful. The food is delicious and a wide variety of choice. It was our 25th anniversary, so they offered to do us a blessing which we accepted kindly. On the day, they sent a man to "dress" my husband, and a lady to dress me , in Balinese outfits. We were taken to the hotels little temple and the blessing, with a few staff present took 15 mins. All very sweet! We then had our private dinner on the beach which was magical! We also booked the satay evening, where they collect you at about 5:30 and drive you into the hills, to a Bale, where you watch the sun set and have your private chef and butler wait on you! It was definately a wonderful experience .
In fact , the whole time we spent there was magical! The GM , Claudia, made herself available every night through dinner to check how you were doing and to give tips for doing things . She was lovely .
The only trouble with staying at an Aman resort is that it's hard for other hotels to live up to their high standards!!
A perfect trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a private room so you are not overlooked
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseekerli123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manggis
1.7 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
802 reviews
17.1 mi away
No photo provided
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 196 in Ubud
1,056 reviews
18.6 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#16 of 196 in Ubud
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.7 mi away
Alila Manggis
Alila Manggis
#1 of 8 in Manggis
1,167 reviews
19.4 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amankila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amankila

Property: Amankila
Address: Manggis | PO Box 33, Manggis 80871, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Manggis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amankila 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Agung provides a dramatic backdrop for Amankila (peaceful hill), a secluded seaside resort overlooking the Lombok Strait. Spacious stilted villas offer exceptional views from their hillside locations amongst frangipani and bougainvillea, and are connected to the resort's facilities by raised walkways. Guests can relax around the signature three-tiered pool or at the Beach Club on Amankila's beach. Amankila also offers easy access to untouched rural countryside, local crafts and the region's royal past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, MrandMrsSmith, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amankila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amankila Hotel Manggis
Amankila Hotel Karangasem
Amankila Manggis, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing