We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, but you need to like steps!”
Review of Amankila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amankila
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Excellent, but you need to like steps!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great hotel. Superb views from a great setting looking over the sea. Rooms were, as always at Aman, superb. Food and service first class and hotel is well designed and presented. Downside is that it is on a steep hillside, do expect to walk up a lot of steps, wherever your room is. There is a lot of focus on chilling out and yoga features prominently, but the gym is truly useless and so small, you have to book it! Claudia, the manager, did tell us that they are building a new one - about time. Also, be aware that the beach is not great. Narrow and in shade most of the day. Sand is black organic and the sea had lots of trash in it. Final negative is that the local of the hotel is by an oil terminal so the view is spoiled by lots of oil tankers in the bay - which may explain the rubbish in the sea.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmallWallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    47
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
84
254
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at Amankila for two nights on our honeymoon trip to Bali in May 2012 and it was a standout, even compared to the other Aman resorts in Bali. (We also stayed at Amandari and Amanwana as part of the Bali & Beyond package). We especially loved: the tiered infinity pool, daily afternoon tea and sweets, covered poolside lounging areas, delicious breakfasts, the special surprises left on our bed every night (treats and souvenirs), scenic forested walkway down to the beach, massages on the ocean-view terrace at our suite, and the special private Rijsttafel dinner, which allowed us to sample many more dishes than we otherwise could've. The architecture, service, and location combine to create an absolutely idyllic, tranquil, luxurious experience. We loved East Bali; it was quiet, relatively undeveloped, and the car ride to and from the airport afforded us several opportunities to stop in small craft-making towns and pick up unique locally produced ikat, wood carvings, batik, and jewelry. In fact, our Amankila-based driver was an absolute highlight of our trip. In addition to recommending and facilitating the aforementioned stops en route, he even invited us to his home in East Bali to play gamelan with him, after we mentioned that we were interested in learning how. (My husband and I both have some musical training.) Amankila arranged transportation to his home and back and helped us get a six-pack of Bintang beers to bring with. Most of the other excursions we did in East Bali we arranged ourselves, which I think was wise, both because it was considerably less expensive than booking through Amankila and because I think we got a bit more of an unadorned local experience. But I'll never forget the look on the concierge's face when our mountain biking guide pulled up to the front of the spotless, white hotel in his beat-up VW bus! Another day, we arranged a cooking class and tour to Tirtagangga. Point being: there are lots of amazing things to do and sights to see within reach of Amankila, even though it's not near a major town or resort area. It's not a bad idea to combine a trip here with time in Ubud, but do not underestimate how much there is to do in the area! (Besides just blissing out.)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EpicuriousTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

If heaven came in the form of Amankila I would find religion. . . And like religion it is expensive {for Bali} But you would be doing yourself a favor to find your way to Amankila. This was our last sop completing our two weeks in Bali. This was where I chose to propose to my now bride to be, I'd never been there. I had to trust recommendations, their website and instinct. It worked!!!
Our first lodging in Abud impressed and delighted us. We are well traveled and have stayed in wonderful places.However, this is world class hotel that creates a world class experience at it's casually, elegant best. Design that has humility in it's understated opulence. Beauty in its respectful blend with land and ocean.Comfort on all levels. It started immediately as we were greeted at arrival by the gracious and lovely general Manager Claudia Schwarze. We were led to "our hideaway in the jungle with a view of the ocean," Our very private dwelling was spacious (probabaly about 1200 sq.ft.) with a large stone lanai beautifully and comfortably appointed with a built in sofa/lounge, a dining table and chairs, flowers, Balinese art and lights outside that are all on dimmers.
You enter to a bed that you could swear was calling your name. White linens,billowy pillows and soft lighting. The bathroom has a wonderful tub, spacious shower, private commode and dual sinks and counters.(Cohabitating the bathroom when traveling can be an art . . . ) It was easy and a pleasure.
The Balinese staff accommodated every request with an ever present smile.The infinity pools that face the ocean are flanked by queen size(?) daybeds in each corner to relax poolside.
The restaurant served sumptuous meals with a good wine list.
OK . . . now the clincher . . . Proposal night. I had booked a private dinner table on the beach with a private chef and waiter. . . Amankila went above and beyond! Driven down to the beach in the hotels safari style vehicle we were greeted by about 75 feet of luminarias lighting our path to the beach and our table. As we step on to the sand we are greet by enormous Palm fronds bound together to make a torch/bonfire illuminating the beach. We continue to follow the luminaries that surround our table in combination with a couple of hanging lanterns. Amazing.Beautiful. Extraordinary. Everything that I could have desired to revel in on this evening of romance and joy that I had planned and yet was still brilliantly surprised!
The food cooked on the beach (lobster, prawns, steak, veggies) Delicious and perfectly cooked. The service by our waiter, with that ever present smile was prompt, respectful of the moment and wonderful. My fiancé was so thrilled, charmed, romanced that she cautiously asked "there is no camera going to jump out of the bushes . . .right?!" It indeed was a moment worthy that any reality showed wished for. . . but this one was real. It was magical. It was ours . . . It was Bali Amankila style.

Room Tip: I don' think there is a bad room. Request the best ocean view possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This resort was the best place we have ever stayed. It is a splurge to stay there as the price is not inexpensive, however the experience was worth the cost. The "room" was more like a small house with every amenity imaginable. The staff was superlative and was attentive to all details. I would recommend the private beach dinner and the dinner in the rice field. Both were wonderful experiences.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

It is a resort far from the city of Bali. But you come here to relax unwind and enjoy life. I didn't like the beach as it was black sand but it was beautiful waters and the room was not to Shaby as well. Great food and service. As well 2 Bali girls greet you with flowers. The service at all the Aman hotels are hard to beat. But wouldn't recommended this hotel if you want night life and be in the center of everything.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brittany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

one of the very best, if not the best, leisure hotel I have ever stayed. the hardware is good but the real differentiating factor is an incredible staff, most of which has been there since the opening. They fundamentally care and are nice. you cannot go wrong here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicg38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Amankila remains one of the best resorts in Asia, if not the world. The Ed Tuttle design is masterful and although over 20 years old it’s in great shape. Jaws always drop on arrival as you look across that incredible 3-tiered pool to the Lombok Straight. There are only 34 beautiful villas in this resort so you rarely see anyone else, making it perfect for a quiet getaway. Our last visit here was 9 years ago and the same impeccable service and F&B prevail. Every meal was a triumph, most notably the specially ordered rijsttafel dinner for our party of five – spectacular. The special thing about staying here is the little extras, like the captivating local entertainers before dinner; the afternoon teas served poolside with Balinese sweet treats; the truly covetable turndown gifts; the sorbets that come around while lolling in the poolside bales; Claudia, the ever-present GM constantly attending to her guests. There are so many things that delight and surprise.
The truly great thing about this property though is its location, surrounded by hills on its own private beach, not shared with anyone else. Isolation and beauty not matched by any other resort in Bali. The 40m beach club pool is a great swimming alternative to the warm sea, which for Indonesia is surprisingly clean.
There was one uncharacteristic glitch though. On our last day a crew had taken over part of the iconic 3-tiered pool to shoot an advertising campaign for a new jewellery line. This was fine except they brought with them a portable music system that shattered the tranquillity of our breakfast. Queen’s “We are the champions” blaring out of the speakers was so disturbing we had to move mid-porridge to escape the aural assault. Our discomfort was noted and a beautiful gift with a note of apology was found in our room later.
After four days here we couldn’t wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manggis
1.7 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
770 reviews
17.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 198 in Ubud
1,021 reviews
18.6 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 198 in Ubud
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alila Manggis
Alila Manggis
#1 of 8 in Manggis
1,122 reviews
19.4 mi away
Amandari
Amandari
#4 of 5 in Kedewatan
277 reviews
19.4 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amankila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amankila

Property: Amankila
Address: Manggis | PO Box 33, Manggis 80871, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Manggis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amankila 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Agung provides a dramatic backdrop for Amankila (peaceful hill), a secluded seaside resort overlooking the Lombok Strait. Spacious stilted villas offer exceptional views from their hillside locations amongst frangipani and bougainvillea, and are connected to the resort's facilities by raised walkways. Guests can relax around the signature three-tiered pool or at the Beach Club on Amankila's beach. Amankila also offers easy access to untouched rural countryside, local crafts and the region's royal past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, MrandMrsSmith, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amankila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amankila Hotel Manggis
Amankila Hotel Karangasem
Amankila Manggis, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing