We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northside of Bali”
Review of Black Sand Beach

Ranked #13 of 18 things to do in Manggis
Attraction details
Everett, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Northside of Bali”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Not as friendly as the South side of Bali. The beach was fairly clean but still with a lot of trash. Interesting to watch the local fisherman pulling in their nets on shore. Stores,hotels and dinning close to the beach. We were told that the currents are very strong so not very safe to swim. For us it was not as comfortable easy feeling as compared to the middle of the island - Ubud or Kuta.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kcope77355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beach was deserted!”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Not sure if we accessed this beach from the "correct" entrance, but it sure didn't seem public or visitor-friendly. We drove our scooters down a very rustic "road" that seemed maybe like a private driveway and came upon some workers building a huge boat. We asked them the way to Black Beach and they pointed just past where they were. So we walked through and there was the beach.
Aside from a couple of local men fishing, the beach was completely deserted. Where we entered the beach there was some garbage and it didn't smell very nice, but further down (we turned right after getting to the sand) it was nicer. We didn't see any garbage, the sand was soft and not rocky and the waves looked nice - not too big.
Since there was nobody around we decided not to swim, as we wouldn't have been able to get help if we ran into trouble with currents or any other ocean hazards.
The beach is worth seeing if you're in Padangbai for any length of time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not for swimming”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The currents are very strong at the Black Beach so I would not go for a swim there, but it a nice walk to get there from the village.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Beritspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quite a trek but worth it”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We were pointed in the direction of the beach by a well meaning and helpful man but after 20 minutes of walking up sheer hills in the hot sun thought we were totally lost. Eventually came to a tiny little temple and the downward fork took us to the beach. We had to clamber through workmen but when we were there is was amazing. Not a soul about and sadly not a patch of shade. We weren't able to stay too long because we had envisaged cafes and corner shops for refrshments. If you go, go early, take a blanket and lots of liquid, also an umbrella or a hat - it can get very hot there. However, don't miss it - one of the most peaceful places we found and just beautiful views.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lucycoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Covered in trash (rubbish) like rest of Bali sadly.”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

If you have extra time worth the walk but the beach just isn't as pristine as it once was. Rubbish along the sides and fish nets washed ashore along the beach.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank znismo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Sand Beach also viewed

 

Been to Black Sand Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing