We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent German food & friendly service”

Rheinland Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 249 Restaurants in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent German food & friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Just down the street from the ticket & information center for the Harry Truman Home, this restaurant serves excellent German fare, with a wide range of familiar dishes. With friendly service, it was obvious that this restaurant is a favorite with local residents. As tourists, we felt lucky to have chosen it for lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gvwhct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    46
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
325 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good German Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

The food here was good German fare. We lived in Germany for two years so we recognize good German food. We had the schnitzel and it was excellent. I recommend this restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike_B52033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Authentically good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

I don't know if it is authentic German food but it is always authentically good food. I think their prices are a little high ($3.25 for a glass of tea) but the food, service and atmosphere make up for it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cdav2TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Genuine German”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

There are not too many German restuarants in the area so having one that is genuine and very good at the same time is a plus. I have tried just about everything on the lunch menu and have never been disapointed. The dinner menu is very complete and I am working my way through it!
They are experts at pulling a good draft of beer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JFC585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, Missouri
Level Contributor
226 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Always five stars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

I felt bad after realizing when I last reviewed the Rhineland I accidentally rated it four stars, not five. That needs to be fixed. It really is a great place to eat German and one of the few spots for that in the KC area.
I love the sauerbraten and spaetzle but my husband is crazy for the variety of weiners and sauerkraut. Whatever, you can't go wrong.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GGMaSue19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rheinland Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rheinland Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing