We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel didn't want to give me my points”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The property was nice. However, the hotel being a independent franchise of Holiday Inn pulled a trick that I have never seen in all my years of travel.

I check in a day early for a 2 night trip. The next morning, I told the service staff that I did not need room service. I left and came back in 20 minutes to be met by the service staff who told me that I was not suppose to be checked in the room. I went to the front desk and was informed that somehow the system has me a "No Show" and that I was being billed for it. No big I stayed in the room anyway. The next morning, I got my bill and the total was correct for 2 nights but it stall said "No Show" on the bill.

A few days later I looked on the Holiday Inn web site to check the point balance. As a Platinum member of Holiday Inn, I always check for errors. Well, I was not credited for the one one the hotel said I was a no show. I called the service desk for Holiday inn and the service desk called the hotel to check this out. Staybridge told the service desk that I didn't check in and I was a no show. The hotel even LIED about signed check in record.

Holiday Inn was kind enough to credit me my points plus some extra for my aggravations. Bottom line, independent owners have to pay for the points given members and this hotel did not want to pay for points.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LChapman511, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Valued Platinum Guest,

I am very sorry to hear of the problems you had encountered. I feel that there may have been some miscommunication regarding your points and an error made on our part regarding your billing. Most importantly, I would like to apologize on behalf of the entire staff. I will certainly look into what had occurred at check in, and address or train the team member(s) responsible. Regarding your PC Points, we not only know how important points are to our guests, but feel that our loyalty program would not be as successful as it is without guests like you. In efforts to make this up to you, please contact me at the hotel directly and I will be happy to review your account. Again, we value your feedback and hope to see you again in the future! I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,
Lindsay Chapman
General Manager
816.994.2700
LChapman@noblehospitality.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed one night while going to a KC Royals game. Very nice and clean property. Sink outside bath/toilet room is good design. Breakfast was pretty good - my wife liked that they had bacon (where many other places have only sausage). It sits down below the main road and has small signage on the side of the building so we almost drove by. (I must have put something wrong in the GPS because it didn't help.)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LChapman511, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you for your review! We are sometimes hard to find with specific GPS apps, but once you do arrive we make it our focus for you to enjoy your stay! For future travelers, we are located right across from Centerpoint Hospital and Independence Center Mall, between Sonic and Logan's Roadhouse on Jackson Drive. We're so happy that you chose to stay with us while seeing our favorite team play! We hope the convenience of being only 10 minutes away from Kauffman Stadium and by tens of restaurants helped you enjoy your stay even more. We hope to see you again soon! Go Royals!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

A Staybridge guest lets their dog hangout in the guest's dining room most evenings and weekends. When the dog is not eating from its water and food dishes in the dining room, it feasts on people food from the guest's tables. This dog roams freely around the pool courtyard without the owner. Staybridge staff is aware of dog situation. Too bad since the Staybridge is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LChapman511, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at our facility, as well as taking the time to write a review. We wish for all of our guests to experience a wonderful stay! Our pet policy that is signed at check in specifically states for guests with pets to not bring them in the common areas, this includes the great room and pool area. I am terribly sorry that a member of our team did not address this while it was happening. If this is to ever happen again, please know that we do have a very responsive staff that truly cares about your comfort and safety & will address immediately if brought to our attention. Staybridge Suites is a fantastic brand and we truly hope to make it your home away from home when in the Kansas City area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My son moved into this hotel a week ago and has found it to be a wonderful place. I reserved a room last Saturday night (5/18/13) for my Grandson's graduation that evening and totally agree with his assessment of it. The staff are all wonderful, the rooms and amenities exceptional, including the food! I traveled a great deal in my work before I retired and never stayed in any place that even came close to how great this hotel is! A GREAT place to stay!

Room Tip: Don't think it matters where your room is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This was the first time that I had the chance to stay at a Staybridge Suites Hotel. Very friendly people and excellent service. Room was perfect and the breakfast was great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 751robertg751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed in a spacious one bedroom suite that was clean, well equipped in the kitchen, and close to amenities. The breakfast included a variety of selections, fitness area contained basic equipment (could use a fan in this room) but met my needs. I would stay at this place again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kilichick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Stayed for only 1 night in order to be close to the mall for a family meeting the next day. It is less than a mile away from many ammenities. The hotel is in a newer, safe area. The room was super clean. I always do a hard check of cleanliness in hotel rooms as I have young children who touch everything. I didn't see 1 hair - not one in the entire room. That is rare! The breakfast was excellent. Many choices. Only downside was a soda machine was out of order. BTW, the room looked very similiar to the Hampton Inns we have stayed at.

Room Tip: 116 was a nice clean room facing the court yard and view of the huge hot tub and swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenhorn33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Independence hotels
1.0 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
#6 of 18 in Independence
651 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
503 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence

Address: 19400 E 39th Pl, Independence, MO 64057-2355
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range: £84 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites hotel. 102 suites: studios; one-bedroom; two-bedroom; conference suites. All suites have a full kitchen. Pet friendly hotel offering complimentary full breakfast buffet daily. Sundowner receptions Tues, Wed & Thurs evenings, offering a light meal, beer & wine complimentary. Business Center, complimentary guest laundry, outdoor salt water pool & spa, all suites feature DVD players, DVD's available on loan at Front Desk, Fitness Center, and many additional features. All of the comforts of home while on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence Hotel Independence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing