We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VAILE MANSION WELL WORTH THE TIME”
Review of Vaile Mansion

Vaile Mansion
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“VAILE MANSION WELL WORTH THE TIME”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

When you first see the structure from the outside it will blow you away. Inside they have made it so very close to back when it first opened. There are only two artifacts from the original residence when the Vaile family passed on the items were sold at public auction. There are five marble fireplaces, the ceilings were re done to bring up what was original, we saw the faces on the wood in the smoking room. The grounds were beautiful, it was originally 20 acres, our tour guide was very helpful, this house was constructed before the civil war so of course no elevator, one flight was not really bad, we were so impressed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank STRETCH007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    19
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful home”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I was really awe stuck the entire time I was in this home. It is beautifully decorated with pieces from the time period. Our tour guide was really knowledgeable about the home and the different pieces displayed. She spent a lot of time with us in the smoking room pointing out all the different faces in the wood grain.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liljopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very interesting, beautiful victorian home.”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a beautiful home but is not conducive for those who can't manage steps.

I wish the guided could have geven more history on how the estate was set us, water tower, vineyard, gardens etc. We had to do our own research afterwards.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jtcsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The most wonderful place!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I've been to the Strawberry Festival - it's a must go experience. Find out when it is and go! Other tours are available, take them. You are magically transported to another time. The volunteers from the historic society that man this incredibly beautiful place will take you there - be sure and check your petticoat in the petticoat mirror in the hall as you leave. Oh and, if the heat really, really bothers you - I would suggest that you choose a day that isn't blazing hot.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sulleysgirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCMO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Great old house”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Good tour. Love the Christmas decorations. Great place to take out-of-towners who are here for the holiday.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vaile Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Vaile Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing