We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What I Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Kansas City Independence
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 days on the advice of family members. We were traveling with seniors, so I called ahead to ensure we could have 2 rooms together and close to the elevator. I was assured this would happen and that rooms were saved for us. When we arrived I was again assured that the rooms would be close to the elevators. They ended up being around 125 feet from the elevator and they could not give us another room. Our room smelled like it had been smoked in and the carpet was torn. We had to ask for towels each day as the rooms were only made up once during our stay. When I asked about it, they told me that housekeeping had not been notified that one of our rooms was even occupied due to a front desk error. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean and quiet. We paid a premium price for the rooms and I felt they were a poor value considering the condition of the room and the poor service. The folks on the front desk were friendly but ineffective.

I do give them high marks for the breakfast- lots of variety and everything was fresh. They had tasty Eggs Florentine one morning...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Road_Bear57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSwanMCIAR, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review! I wanted to apologize on bahalf of our staff for the trouble you experienced during your stay. We certainly do try to accommodate all our guests and their special requests. We dropped the ball with your requests, especially if we verified that they had been met prior to your arrival.
You are correct, our Breakfast does deserve high marks! With numerous options and many fresh items, our guests love their mornings at the Residence Inn!
We hope that you are able to give us a second chance to make your next stay perfect, should you return to the area. Feel free to reach out to me should you have any other questions or concerns. Thank you again for your comments and Enjoy the rest of the week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our car along with four other cars were broken into. Items were stolen from my car and I spent several hours filing a police report. My car was parked directly in front of the lobby and under a bright light.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank NCFLTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSwanMCIAR, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Good Afternoon & "Thank You" for your recent review! It is extremely important to us that we make sure your stay is as Enjoyable as possible. The hassle that the car break-ins caused you truly isn't something that we ever want to see. After speaking with the local authorities, the break-ins were part of a string of vandalism that spanned the entire Kansas CIty metro area. Since your last stay, I am happy to say that we have not had any other reports of vandalism as the Independence police department is keeping a close eye on all the area hotels! Again, we do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced but we do appreciate you taking the time to fill out a report so that the authorities are able to get a good handle on this issue. Have a Great Day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a softball tournament. I was a little surprised at the size of the room as it was a lot smaller than what we imagined. The rooms were clean, but were a little outdated and there were not enough towels for us all. Breakfast is VERY good at this hotel. We all got our fill in the mornings. Location was great as it was near the highway, shopping and restaurants. The staff was helpful as they filled our coolers with ice in the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSwanMCIAR, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

We hope you are Enjoying your summer! Thank you for your recent review! We are glad that the staff "Met your Needs" while you were visiting Independence. Our staff takes pride in the fact that their customer service skills exceed others. I will be sure to share your comments with them as their faces light up when they hear about satisfied guests! Thank you again and Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Very friendly staff, clean room, stayed for two weeks. Only improvement they need is the breakfast served. A simple omelet station with fresh veggies would work well along with fresh fruit. Waffle,cereal,and breads same as anywhere else.

Room Tip: All rooms appear good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnDMD, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your thoughts on your recent stay at the Residence Inn Independence. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay! We specifically appreciate your comments on our complimentary breakfast- our rotating menu for breakfast items allows guests to enjoy a new menu item each day. In addition, we offer complimentary light meals Tuesday through Thursday to help you stay energized during your stay!

Thank you again for your comments, and please feel free to reach out to us the next yo you need a hotel in the Kansas City area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel had a very good rate and is located near I70. It is only 30-40 minutes to downtown and even closer to the Stadiums. The hotel is nice but needs some cleaning and refurbishing. The rooms was Ok but seemed a little stale. The exercise room did not have towels and the wastebasket had not been emptied in several days. There were plenty of restaurants nearby. Not a bad place to stay but could have been better

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank califken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnDMD, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel! Our staff appreciates you sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor. While our hotel is excited for our renovation next year, we are proud to offer one of the best customer service experiences in Kansas City. Being one of the hotels with the best locations in Independence is also helpful to allow our guests the opportunity to enjoy the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

The service here was good--everyone was friendly and seemed to enjoy visiting with the guests.

The rooms are very large and quiet,and include a full-size refrigerator, a dishwasher, microwave, and a 2-burner stove (no oven). The set-up is sensible and roomy. We enjoyed the fireplace. The kitchen area is updated with a modern countertop and wood flooring. The bathroom countertop is also modern. Some of the decor is modern but some is not. The bed is very comfortable and we slept well all 5 nights we were there. The rooms are in need of some maintenance and updating. They weren't deal-breakers for us but there are some issues that need to be addressed--several small holes in the curtains, a buzzing bathroom light, and a squealing shower. The carpet needs replacing or a good shampoo, too.

We will most likely choose to stay here again if the price is right. The rate we received was good for us, as was the size of the room. However, I would not want to pay full price for this Residence Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Bubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnDMD, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

We sincerely appreciate your review of your stay with us. We strive to please every person who visits our hotel, and we sincerely appreciate your time. While our hotel is in the process of updating our facility, we believe we offer an mazing value and fantastic service to the guests who choose to stay with us while traveling in the Kansas City area. Our sport court, indoor pool, fitness center, business area and free manager's receptions offer our guests the opportunity to stretch out for longer stays. Please feel free to contact us the next time you come through the Independence area and we will be happy to assist you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My daughter and I stayed in a king room on the third floor. The room was quiet and very clean. Breakfast was good and the staff for the food was very polite and ambitious. We would stay there again if we were in the area. No problems with parking. Pool and exercise room looked nice but we did not use them.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDW1634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnDMD, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

We are so glad that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay. While you were unable to use the pool, the weather is warming up and our pool opens directly to our outdoor basketball court. When you come through Kansas City or Independence next time, feel free to take advantage of our amenties. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Independence hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
#6 of 18 in Independence
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Kansas City Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Kansas City Independence

Address: 3700 Arrowhead Ave, Independence, MO 64057-2600
Region: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range: £89 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Kansas City Independence 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Inn Kansas City Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Kansas City Independence Hotel Independence
Residence Inn Independence
Independence Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing