We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
42
57
27
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
57
27
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basketball court bathroom suite absolutely loved this hotel would stay here again some tlc baseball stadium stayed for two nights quiet location the breakfast area the hotel staff very nice hotel breakfast staff easy access road trip lots of restaurants short drive royals game
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Multiple complaints about crawling bugs in The bathroom and the kitchen counter. 30 days was very challenging. Bathroom floor and carpet were never vacuumed or mopped during the entire stay. Carpet was filthy in the room and hallways. Coffee frequently weak....like drinking hot water. Evening social was more about alcohol than quality snacks. GM and AGM were ineffective in response to concerns. Price of room was better than average. Returning to this town for another 30 day stay and choosing a different brand hotel. Very disappointed with this Marriott; other locations have always provided excellent accommodations in the past. Usually my preferred brand but no longer. Signed disappointed Road Warrior.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank ritamI2364VM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew D, Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Thank you for letting us know about your experience during your stay at our hotel. I apologize for your experience during your stay at our hotel. We are disappointed to hear about the level of service you received. Our staff will work to isolate the issues you presented and reinforce preventative and treatment measures to improve the quality of care provided to our guests. While we do serve alcohol at our evening mix, we try to make sure there are food and drink items appealing to as many of our guests as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

We had a two bedroom suite and I thought it was quite expensive. I guess with a good location and busy time of the year, you can get what you wish. Breakfast was good. The outside patio was cool--we didn't use but would be great if staying more than two days

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela W, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with other travelers! Hopefully you can return for a longer stay and take advantage of the new patio! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

This is clearly an older Residence Inn. Convenient location, reasonable rates. Room was clean. Common area carpet needs to be replaced. One elevator was out of service for a whole day. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Pool area was clean.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathykoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela W, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Thanks for your review! Happy to hear our team trated you well and the hotel was clean given the age of our property. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Its an OK Hotel We were limited because we travel with our Dog, and this hotel excepts animals, so that is a plus. Otherwise...this is a low end Marriott. Hard concrete floors covered with indoor/outdoor carpeting. We also got the handicap room, which we were not pleased with, but the hotel was sold out...so nothing we could do. Room was on the small size. We probably wont stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela W, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

I'm sorry to hear you didn't quite enjoy your stay with us, but would love the opportunity to welcome you back should you allow us the opportunity. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

We had a 3-room suite for a quick trip to watch the KC Royals play. The hotel isn't far from Kaufman Stadium (about 7-8 miles) and near restaurants and shopping. We picked this hotel for proximity, three rooms, and inclusion of breakfast. Overall, we were satisfied with our stay. Kudos to the breakfast staff (Stephanie, Laura, et. al.) for their work each morning in pleasantly serving the guests.

I would agree with most of the comments on here -- the hotel definitely could use some polish and a renovation/updating. The furniture in our room felt a bit dated and dirty. The flooring in the kitchen had several large gaps, along with carpeting that was fraying near the door. The carpeting in the public areas certainly need replaced (or cleaned).

My son slept on the living room pull out, which he complained was most uncomfortable, so we ended up having him sleep on an air mattress we bought. I think at all hotels, management should have to stay in rooms as well as sleep on the beds and pull outs to get a feel for what their guests experience...

Breakfast was good and offered a nice variety each day. The breakfast area felt clean and we enjoyed some family time visiting. The breakfast area stops serving at 9:30 a.m. on the weekends. I certainly would have appreciated a longer serving time -- maybe until 10 or 10:30 a.m. -- but we made it work.

All in all, a nice visit and would consider returning. I do hope they will update their facilities as I, and others who have posted here, know there are newer and potentially nicer places to choose from within the area.

Room Tip: Room 206 is a 3-room suite (2 bedrooms and a family/living area)
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela W, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Thanks for taking time to provide feedback. While we are not the newest hotel in town, I'm happy to hear our staff took good care of you, and we would welcome you back in the future. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews