We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful respite on a cold night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Staunton
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Wonderful respite on a cold night”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We arrived as Independence and the Kansas City area was breaking its record for COLD that day (May 3rd). Having driven ALL day, my daughter and I very much enjoyed this property. Nothing wrong with it and everything right. Being tired and chilly from the cold/rain, we were very happy that the Hereford House restaurant was attached to the hotel. We sat at the bar there and ordered appetizers and a beer. The food was pricey but from the looks of the place and the nice atmosphere, I would definitely eat more than just appetizers there for a special occasion.

MOST importantly, we noticed that the staff at this hotel, as well as the restaurant AND every person we came into contact with the following day in Independence was SO friendly. Nice place!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foamergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
We sure appreciate you taking the time to share your positive comments about your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Independence. That was a very unusual weather weekend In May! Please come stay with us again if in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    168
    106
    66
    42
See reviews for
178
119
36
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I recently chose this hotel when traveling to Independence for a family gathering. I chose the hotel due to location. When I entered the room guest services had cranked up the air conditioner to an absolutely uncomfortable ice cold. All weekend there were souped up cars parked in the lot and I was awoken by loud screaming engines and racing up and down the road located in front of the hotel at all hours of the night. My key cards repeatedly had to be re-programmed to gain access to my room and to pool facilities. The elevators are extremely slow, dark, and damp. The room was clean, room service was prompt. Pool is tiny, whirlpool jets aren't maintained.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArmyMomPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you so much for your review of the hotel. We apologize for the noise this weekend, there was a car Show accross the street and the parking overflowed to our lot. We have addressed the issues you mentioned in your room and hoe the next time you're in the area you would consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My family and I had an absolutely spectacular experience during our recent stay at Hilton Garden Inn. The staff was very friendly, the breakfast was extremely delicious (I mean extremely), and our room very spacious with a comfortable bed. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Kansas City area. Strong work!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jarron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Independence. I will share your comments with the team as we truly appreciate them. If your travels bring you to Independence again, please check-in with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attica, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is a beautiful place to stay. The rooms are great. The beds and pillows are so very comfortable! They have the best French fries anywhere. The desk staff was very understanding and friendly. This is close to shopping as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. The Hilton Garden Inn in Independence truly values your business and we make it our mission to provide a great experience. If your travels bring you make to Independence, please come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapeview, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
557 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We enjoy staying at Hilton Garden Inns since they are very reliable, comfortable, and clean. This one fits that description. Staff at the front desk was very helpful in suggesting places to eat and at the restaurant very friendly at breakfast. Convenient access off the freeway, in a shopping and business park setting. Many restaurants within walking distance, including Hereford's Steakhouse which is attached to the hotel and gives a 10% discount with your stay here. Really appreciated the walking / bike trail right behind the hotel, which goes both ways along the Blue Trace for about 14 miles. Very convenient to Independence if you are wanting to see all of the Harry Truman attractions. Also only about 15 to 20 minutes to downtown Kansas City.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Independence. I'm very glad to hear that the staff was accomodating with suggestions. We have many restaurants and arttractions around us and we are very glad you had the chance the enjoy them. I will share your comments with the hotel staff and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Nice place and good value for the money. Breakfast restaurant is convenient. Great location near the freeway (but not too close to hear it), restaurants, shopping and local gym. I've stayed here many times for local business and would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you for choosing the Independence Hilton Garden Inn for your business travels. I will share your very positive comments with my staff. We appreciate your business and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knob Noster
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My husband and I stay here frequently for a 1-2 night getaway. The hotel is only about an hour from home but we like to visit to get away for shopping, restaurants, and we enjoy the hotel. It's always very clean, comfortable, and you can't beat the customer service. Most of the desk clerks know us by name, see us when we drive up, and are ready to check us in when we get inside the hotel. That's why I call it "OUR" hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you very much for the kind words. We pride ourselves in creating great experiences and we sure do appreciate you sharing yours. Thanks from "your hotel: , see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Independence hotels
1.0 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#2 of 18 in Independence
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
My Place Hotel - Kansas City / Independence, MO
3.6 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Independence

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Address: 19677 E Jackson Dr, Independence, MO 64057-1566
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Independence 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Independence Hotel Independence
Hilton Independence
Independence Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing