We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great stay at the HGI in Independence, visiting family. The area is loaded with dining and shopping options. Traffic congestion can be one annoyance because of the location. There seemed to be a slight parking shortage as well so you may need to walk a bit. There was a Antique Car Cruise-In at the parking lot across the street when we stayed generating even more traffic than usual. The hotel is nice. Only minor complaints here - the pool is miniscule and if more than two families try to use it at the same time there is no where to go. Also as others mentioned there is no complimentary breakfast, although I found that the kids breakfast was 1/2 price so it ended up being a good value for what is offered.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us at the Hilton Garden Inn. We appreciate your kind comments. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend and had an enjoyable stay. The staff was excellent! Rooms were clean. Air conditioner was noisy but we like that. Can't sleep in a quiet room! We are used to box fans sunning at home so need the noise to sleep. It was not too bad but when it shut off it sounded like it fell out of the window and crashed. I will say the beds desperately need updating. The small 1 inch mattress pillow pad is not much help. Lots of pillows though, that is good. We did not have the breakfast vouchers with our room purchase but still ate breakfast one time and it was really good. Made to order eggs plus a buffet bar. Slightly on the pricey side especially if feeding a family. Service was great.
The location was great for what we had planned during our stay. Close to major highways. Many of the close shopping stores have been close but still many close to chose from. Plenty of eating places around.
We would stay here again as long as the rooms are discounted.

Room Tip: If the hotel is busy it would be best to stay on a lower floor. Elevators were not slow but just bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItMattersToMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hilton Garden Inn. We appreciate your review and use them to improve on items at the hotel. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice Hilton Garden Inn with a great location. Centrally located within walking distance of several restaurants and retail stores. There is also a AMC Theaters within 2 miles. The only down side it is very close to the Interstate which may cause issues if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thadhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your expierence with us at the Hilton Garden Inn. We appreciate your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I booked two rooms over the phone in excess of 6 weeks before our scheduled stay. I asked at that time if I could reserve adjoining rooms and was told that I could not and that would be handled at time of check in even though I had prepaid for the rooms. I arrived at the hotel at approximately noon on the day of check in. I know that this was early as normal check in time is 3:00 pm. The person at the desk at this time was very helpful and did have one room that we could check in to on the second floor. We inquired about reserving the room next to this one as it was adjoining but once again we were told that we could not reserve a room in advance and that we would have to come back to the hotel after 3:00 to see what rooms were available. We explained that this was not possible due to family commitments and that the rooms were prepaid. We were told that it was policy to not pre assign rooms. When we returned to the hotel at approximately 9:00 that night we were informed that our room was on the opposite end of the hotel and on the 5th floor virtually as far away from our daughters room as possible. When I asked about any room that may be closer, the attendant very curtly stated that this was the only room left in the hotel and there was nothing that could be done. When we went to the first room that we were booked in we noticed that the front of the heating / cooling unit was separated from the unit and basically falling off. When operating the unit was very loud and seemed to be laboring. Upon returning to the hotel and going to our second booked room, we were a little surprised by a maintenance person who was in our room with the lights off. He said that he was checking the room and was just leaving. This was a little after 9:00 pm and seemed a little strange, no one at the front desk could offer a good reason as to why any maintenance person would be in our room that late especially if they were not sent to the room for a specific reason. The cooling unit in this room also had damage to the front cover and seemed to be in bad repair. The mattress on the bed was without doubt the most uncomfortable I have ever seen in a hotel. The rooms were loud both from normal noises inside the hotel, such as teenagers in the halls at all hours of the night and other expected noises. The fact that my daughters could not sleep due to the sounds coming from the rooms on either side of them is unacceptable. They both stated that it seemed like there were no walls and that the people next to them were in the same room with them. As far as value for the amount of money spent. Your competitors are out pacing you drastically. Many of the hotel choices in your area offer free happy hour with appetizers as well as free continental and in some cases cooked to order breakfast for all guest, at prices per night in some cases lower than the Hilton Garden. Needless to say when comparing oranges to oranges, on my future trips I will be choosing one of your competitors.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

I regret to hear you didn’t have a good experience at our hotel. I apologize for the inconvenience regarding your reservation and the miscommunication about multiple room check-ins.This is a topic we will address in further training some of our new staff members. Please consider staying with us again the next time you are in Independence. We’d love to make your stay with us the best hotel experience ever.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I enjoyed my stay, but I checked out early to move to Ophelia's in downtown Lee's Summit. The Hilton is much closer to the shopping mall, various places to eat and plenty of scenery. Rooms are reasonably priced.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank 2BmoreGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We sure apologize that your time with us was short and hope that you will return again. We appreciate the positive comments you shared in regards to your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

If you are a family, and your kids love the pool, I might find some other place to go, more for the business passer througher...beds are really firm as well. It is about 20-25 minutes from Worlds of Fun...so not very close there. If you are a business person, it is perfect, has everything you might need or want.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We use your review to improve our guest services and facilities. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly share your positive comments with our team. We do look forward to welcoming you back personally to the Hilton Garden Inn Independence when you travel plans call for you to be in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Great Hotel - Stay here whenever I am in Kansas City on business. There are plenty of local restaurants and not too far from downtown. The Independence Mall and Walmart are both only a few mins from the hotel so if you forget anything when traveling there are lots of options.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hilton Garden Inn. We appreciate our business travelers and do our best to accomodate all of their needs. We sure hope to see you again when you are in the Independence area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Independence hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
1 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence
5.4 mi away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#3 of 18 in Independence
257 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#6 of 18 in Independence
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Independence

Address: 19677 E Jackson Dr, Independence, MO 64057-1566
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range: £84 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Independence 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Independence hotel in Missouri is the perfect hotel for those visiting for business, a special event, Chiefs game, Royals game, or Midwest vacation. Relax in a spacious guest room or suite equipped with an adjustable bed, a flat-screen television, free WiFi, a microwave and refrigerator. Start your day right with our delicious, cooked-to-order breakfast available at the on-site Great American Grill®. Splash around in our heated indoor pool and whirlpool or unwind in our 24-hour fitness center. Enjoy 11,000 square feet of meeting and event space for up to 1400 guests. For dinner, enjoy a Kansas City dinner classic at Hereford House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Independence Hotel Independence
Hilton Independence
Independence Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing