We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for a baseball tournament ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Nice clean hotel. Front desk workers were helpful and nice. The room was clean, bed was comfy. We had a breakfast deal with our team staying there. It was different food from what regular guests received in the lobby area. That was a bummer. We will be back next year!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank lorinjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We use your review to improve our guest services and facilities. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly share your positive comments with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed for three nights on a business trip. I usually enjoy Garden Inns, but this one was without airconditioning in common areas and it was very hot. Staff were miserable with poor conditions, despite many fans around the lobby. It was to hot to try the restaurant. Fortunately the individual units in the rooms worked. This is certainly not a "green" property, no recycling containers, towels replaced every day, even when hung up and new bars of soap in shower, despite the fact that they were nice sized and could have lasted my entire stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oompahdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it assists us on improving our service and quality.

I am hoping to get an opportunity to speak with you regarding your stay and do hope to hear from you soon. I am sorry for the experience you had and ask that you please either email or call me at my contact information below. Your opinions are important to us.

Marcy Camburako 816-350-3000 or marcy.camburako@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed for several nights while we were in town. The room was VERY clean and cozy. The beds were not very comfortable however, but we were able to over look that. We loved that there was a Keurig coffee pot in our room and that they gave us coffee and tea to make in it each day. There were great soaps, shampoo, lotions, etc. in the bathroom also. There was a buffet to eat at in the morning. It was pretty expensive at $8.95 considering the food left a lot to be desired. The lobby was not air conditioned and very hot, but I think they were just having some mechanical problems
Our room however had GREAT air conditioning. We were a little disappointed with the pool. It was small. The location is great. It is surrounded by tons of restaurants including the Hereford House which is an excellent steakhouse! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDLover35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your positive comments with us at the Hilton Garden Inn. We are very sorry about the inconvienence of the air conditioning being out, but it is getting fixed and will be cool in the lobby for your next stay. We will share your positive comments with our staff. Thank you and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located, has nice staff, and offers great amenities, unfortunately this was offset by some of the maintenance issues we experienced throughout our five night stay. The front desk staff offered alternatives to offset the inconveniences so to me the maintenance issues appear to be a management problem. Management needs to spend the extra money to fix the problems and when done this would be a great hotel:

1. The A/C was out in the lobby and breakfast area the entire five days.
2. The phone in our room did not work, despite maintenance trying to repair it.
3. There was very little water pressure for showers. And in the late evening there was only lukewarm water.
4. Because we were staying for five nights we wanted to do some laundry. The washing machine worked fine but the dryer was out of order and there was no indication from the staff that it would be repaired anytime soon.
5. The breakfast was not worth the ~$9.00 price. Many options were gone by 8:30 and not going to be refilled. Chocolate milk was expired. That with the warm temp due to ac outage made it not worth the trouble.

Again, the staff was great at working with what they had to work with. Management, make these repairs a priority and you will have a great hotel. Right now you are not honoring the Hilton name.



Stayed: June 2014
Thank haydensmom37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it assists us on improving our service and quality.

I am hoping to get an opportunity to speak with you regarding your stay and do hope to hear from you soon. I am sorry for the experience you had and ask that you please either email or call me at my contact information below. Your opinions are important to us.

Marcy Camburako 816-350-3000 or marcy.camburako@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hotel room was ready when we arrived early; even gave us an opportunity to choose our floor. Hotel is just off I70 and very close to downtown Kansas City. Breakfast bar was awesome: made to order omelets, pancakes, cereal, eggs and sausage with delicious hash brown.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your positve comments with us at the Hilton Garden Inn. We are glad you had an excellent stay. We will be sure to share these comments with our staff. Thank you and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I was upgrade to a mini suite only to find a room that had been used to supply the rest of the hotel. There was no TV, microwave, broken lamps, no water pressure, old AC units that made more noise than a jet taking off and a bed that was broken. If you can get by all of that, the people were nice!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it assists us on improving our service and quality.

I am hoping to get an opportunity to speak with you regarding your stay and do hope to hear from you soon. I am sorry for the experience you had and ask that you please either email or call me at my contact information below. Your opinions are important to us.

Marcy Camburako 816-350-3000 or marcy.camburako@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

microwave and refrigerator in room. Clean. A/C in room worked well. A/C in lobby not working. Housekeeping did a good job. Polite housekeeping and kitchen staff. Good location and parking. Young desk clerk who checked us in was civil, but not friendly. The front desk person twice misdirected me to a voicemail for another room. Buffet breakfast a good value for the cost. But, since the a/c was not working, the temperature did not allow for a pleasant dining experience,

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us at the Hilton Garden Inn. We are sorry about the inconvienence, but hope too see you again and have a even better experience. We willl share your comments with our staff. Thank you and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
1.0 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
503 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Independence
5.4 mi away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#3 of 18 in Independence
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Independence

Address: 19677 E Jackson Dr, Independence, MO 64057-1566
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range: £87 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Independence 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Independence Hotel Independence
Hilton Independence
Independence Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing