We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At the top of my list” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“At the top of my list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

This was the final hotel I stayed at on a four-night tour of the Midwest. And this was bar none the best of the properties that I stayed at. First, it's in a great location. Right off the interstate with lots of restaurants and shopping nearby and clean. The lobby of this place is great with lots of light and very clean. The rooms are also impeccable with nice TVs that have HD channels. We were also informed that the pool and whirlpool are salt water--a nice touch although I couldn't really sense an elevated salinity level. And as is per the usual with the HI Express properties, an excellent breakfast offering. Overall, this is an excellent hotel and will be my default choice for future trips to the great city of KC!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedsmith68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear tedsmith68,

Thank you for making the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. It is guests like you who make our jobs of providing the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. I'm glad we exceeded your expectations and look forward to serving you again on your future visits.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    71
    16
    11
    11
See reviews for
139
51
15
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grove, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
110 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

The first impression is good from the exterior landscaping and lot, to the check in with helpful and friendly staff. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good. It is a good convenient place when travelling through the Kansas City area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear James G,

Thanks for writing and posting your review and rating about us. I'm glad you like what and how we do things here and appreciate your kind words and compliments. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianola, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

In the midst of our stay, we experienced a sudden death in the family, necessitating our rather hasty departure. After we got home we discovered my wife had left her cape in the room. Not only did the staff save & protect it, the manager tracked us down & saw to it that it was returned in the quickest & nicest way imaginable!! Despite a rather difficult time on the personal level, the warm & sensitive response from the manager was truly exceptional! Our institution always uses this hotel for Board meetings & in the future, as long as I'm involved, we will see we continue to stay there. Thank you so much!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Lee B,

Please accept our sincere condolences for your recent loss. May your fond memories bring you comfort. It's very nice of you to share your experience here, and we really appreciate your kind words and 5 star rating. Everyone here takes a great deal of pride in exceeding our guests expectations and really thank you for your public recognition of jobs well done by our team. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Recently I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and also used their meeting room. I found the rooms to be very comfortable and the staff to be very friendly. They went out of their way to help me. They allowed me to check in early and Scott in maintenance would check in with me while I was using the meeting room to see If I needed anything. I have already planned to return in 2 weeks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Brian B,

Thanks for taking time to write about your recent stay with us. We really enjoyed serving you and your group, and look forward to welcoming you back in a few weeks. Please continue to let us know how we can serve you best while you are with us.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I actually pulled up my previous review on Tripadvisor before staying here again, & was glad I did - we asked for a 'quiet' room on check-in and it was no problem. Didn't get to see the pool area - it was a late check-in, early check-out, but the room we got was updated and comfortable, with a fridge and microwave, and clean comfortable bedding. We left before the breakfast area was supposed to be opened, but the staff was nice enough to let us grab some food and fresh coffee for the road. Would recommend.

Room Tip: We just asked for a quiet room and the employee did her best - we slept fine with no noise complaint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogueit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear rogueit,

Thanks for coming back to stay with us and for posting your updated comments about our hotel. We value your business and your feedback, and are happy we were able to meet your needs. We appreciate your recommendation and will thank you in person the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redfield, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Our stay with the Holiday Inn Express in Independence, Missouri was an exceptional experience!!! Thank you to Scott Johnson for such a clean and inviting pool and spa! He has done a FANTASTIC job with the cleanliness and upkeep!!! ALL the staff and management has made our stay VERY enjoyable! Thank you to all and we are looking forward to next year!!!! Elite Boxing...Lisa Braun, Jordan, Lou and Robin Ogle...National Silver Gloves Tournament Contender (Jordan Ogle)

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want...or ask Scott!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Akalie,

Thanks so much for posting your awesome review about your recent stay with us. We want to provide all our guests with the best in service and accommodations and I'm glad we exceeded your expectations. It was great fun for us to get to know you and learn more about Silver Gloves Boxing. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you again next year.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Everyone was very willing to help us, and staff was super friendly. Everything was very clean. Only thing was the workout equipment was a little outdated, but it got the job done. We were swimming and wanted to use the hot tub, and Scott the Maintenence guy was very friendly and explained to us how they have updated to all salt water, and was very knowledgeable. Super nice staff, and highly recommend this place. Cookies at the desk were awesome too:)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEFFICA1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear JEFFICA123,

Thank you taking the time to write and submit your excellent comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business and recommendation. I hope we can welcome you back and thank you in person soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
#6 of 18 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Truman Inn
BEST WESTERN Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Independence
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence

Property: Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
Address: 19901 E Valley View Pkwy, Independence, MO 64057
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Independence-Kansas City, Missouri is conveniently located near the Arrowhead and Kauffman Stadiums, home of both the Kansas City Chiefs Football and the Royals Baseball teams. You will also be surrounded by a variety of dining establishments that are within walking distance. The hotel is located minutes away from the Independence Center shopping mall, which makes for an easy visit to the wide variety of stores lining the 39th Street Shopping District.The hotel is also located just a few blocks from the new Center Point Medical Center, as well as Bass Pro.The Holiday Inn Express is the best place to stay if you are visiting the Harry S. Truman Library and Museum which is now showing the Truman and Israel exhibit. Make sure to see the Truman Home, Truman Courthouse and Office, as well as the Truman Memorial. The hotel is also conveniently located to visitors of the National Frontier Trails Museum, launching point of the Oregon Trail, as well as the Santa Fe and California Trails.Be sure to visit the Bingham Waggoner Estate and the Historic Independence Square! The Mormon Visitors Center, Community of Christ Temple and Auditorium, Hidden Valley Sports Complex, and The Sports Lodge are also conveniently located. We are minutes from the Sprint Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Independence Hotel Independence
Holiday Inn Independence
Independence Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Independence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing