We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites Independence(Independence)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
My Place Hotel - Kansas City / Independence, MO(Independence)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Truman Inn(Independence)(Great Value!)
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Higher Ground Hotel(Independence)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
303
76
17
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
303
76
17
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi expressfront deskpriority mailthe maintenance mankansas citythe breakfast areawithin walking distancethe entire staffa great staypancake machinethe young ladynext morningthe rooms were nicewe've stayedgreat customer servicestaff was friendlywould highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express on the first night of a 2 week road trip. It was great! We stayed in a King room and the bed and bedding was very comfortable. Very clean! Nicely decorated room. Breakfast included hot items- eggs, biscuits, sausage and also had yogurt. The breakfast area was really big, which was good because we were there on a Saturday morning and a couple of larger groups were there. In spite of having a lot of people, it never felt crowded and they replenished the food often. I used the exercise room and really enjoyed it. My husband used the hot tub and it was actually hot, which they aren't always. We didn't use the salt water pool, but it looked nice and clean. Staff was very friendly. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear HGH,

Thank you very much for your great review regarding our hotel and the amenities you enjoyed while staying here. It is always our pleasure to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you the next time you are in our area.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed 1 nights with our 2 teenagers in a room with 2 queen beds on our way home from Colorado for skiing. The room was clean and comfortable, right on the highway. We had a handicapped accessible room that offered a large bathroom. These were the most comfortable and softest beds on our entire trips (4 Holiday Inn Express locations).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melhert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear melhert,

Thank you taking the time to write and submit your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging in our area, and we sincerely appreciate your business and your loyalty to the Holiday Inn family of hotels. I'm glad you and your family were comfortable here and hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This was the final hotel I stayed at on a four-night tour of the Midwest. And this was bar none the best of the properties that I stayed at. First, it's in a great location. Right off the interstate with lots of restaurants and shopping nearby and clean. The lobby of this place is great with lots of light and very clean. The rooms are also impeccable with nice TVs that have HD channels. We were also informed that the pool and whirlpool are salt water--a nice touch although I couldn't really sense an elevated salinity level. And as is per the usual with the HI Express properties, an excellent breakfast offering. Overall, this is an excellent hotel and will be my default choice for future trips to the great city of KC!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tedsmith68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear tedsmith68,

Thank you for making the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. It is guests like you who make our jobs of providing the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. I'm glad we exceeded your expectations and look forward to serving you again on your future visits.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The first impression is good from the exterior landscaping and lot, to the check in with helpful and friendly staff. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good. It is a good convenient place when travelling through the Kansas City area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear James G,

Thanks for writing and posting your review and rating about us. I'm glad you like what and how we do things here and appreciate your kind words and compliments. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

In the midst of our stay, we experienced a sudden death in the family, necessitating our rather hasty departure. After we got home we discovered my wife had left her cape in the room. Not only did the staff save & protect it, the manager tracked us down & saw to it that it was returned in the quickest & nicest way imaginable!! Despite a rather difficult time on the personal level, the warm & sensitive response from the manager was truly exceptional! Our institution always uses this hotel for Board meetings & in the future, as long as I'm involved, we will see we continue to stay there. Thank you so much!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Lee B,

Please accept our sincere condolences for your recent loss. May your fond memories bring you comfort. It's very nice of you to share your experience here, and we really appreciate your kind words and 5 star rating. Everyone here takes a great deal of pride in exceeding our guests expectations and really thank you for your public recognition of jobs well done by our team. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews