We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We took our grandchildren for a couple of nights and was able to get a room with a pullout couch to accommodate all of us rather than having to get two adjoining rooms as we have to do with other chains. The kids are all under 10 and sleeping in separate rooms is always a problem. The breakfast was very sufficient with scrambled eggs, sausage, gravy, biscuits, cereals, pastries, and fruit. Something for everyone. The pool was clean and available for the evenings after coming back from the day's events. My only disappointment was the lack of tv channels for children. Before going to bed it is always nice to have a movie or some kids' show to settle them down. Any children's program I found had a price on it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Daina R,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your nice review. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business and your feedback. I understand your disappointment about lack of free programming for children and will keep this in mind when considering any changes in this area. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

The staff was friendly, accommodating and overall the experience was a great one. It was a great place to stay with a team. Hotel was clean, pool area was clean and location was perfect. Would highly recommend. Scott and staff were particularly helpful when we left out daughters iPad. It was found and returned safely and quickly. Overall great stay and I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jkan70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Jkan770,

Thanks for posting your great review and rating about our hotel. We enjoy hosting all kinds of athletes and teams, because we find their spirit and camaraderie very inspiring. I know how frustrating it can be to forget something when away from home and I'm glad you were happy with the service we provided. We appreciate you recognition of jobs well done by our team and hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great people. Stay there every time I work in kc. They have a great staff an everyone is very helpful. The rooms are very clean and it is located in a perfect location to get in an out of kc. I have stayed there a lot over the past two years Always have great rates aswell

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zack003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Zack003,

Thank you for your many visits and great review. I'm glad you know you can count on us for a comfortable stay and great service. We really appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed in Kansas City for 2 nights. The hotel was ok. Had the usual breakfast and the pool was small. (Given that we also stayed the same weekend as the softball team, I am surprised there was room in the pool)
The staff was very pleasant and answered all of our questions about the area. There are a bunch of chain restaurants around the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear NicoleH1,

Thanks for taking the time to post your wonderful comments. We are very proud of our people and appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. I hope we can welcome you back and serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My family and I were moving from Arizona to Missouri and after 3 full days of traveling we stayed in the Holiday Inn Express. Everyone was so friendly especially Scott, the pool guy. He kept the pool immaculate! Thank you Scott for making us feel like we were home:)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidStacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear DavidStacey S,

Welcome to Missouri! Thank you for staying with us and posting your comments. It is always gratifying to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. I hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed here last weekend for a night as I was driving from Colorado to New Jersey, room was very clean and beds very comfortable. The reason I'm writing the review though is because Bristle who was working the breakfast that morning really made my day. I drove late into the night so was very tired and slept in a little too late the next morning and missed breakfast by a few minutes. Bristle saw me in the dining room trying to find some scraps and offered to fix me a plate anyway. She was incredibly friendly and her simple offer really made me thankful I'd chosen that hotel! Thanks again Bristle, I hope the note I slipped into the kitchen found you well!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Kyle M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and post your great comments about your recent stay with us. We are always very happy when a guest contacts us about the wonderful service they have received. Bristle is terrific and inspires all of us to do our best, with every guest, every day. I'll ensure she is properly recognized for exceeding your expectations. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

used this holiday inn express as our launching pad to visit kansas city royals,museums and gardens. the staff in this place went above and beyond with everything we asked of them...........conviently located to all the corporate chains for food........also if your here on a tuesday the all you can eat ribs at rib crib next door were moist and tasty...........plus easy freeway access but not a bit noise from I-70............stayed 5 nights to see kansas city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 77mockmotorspitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear 77mockmotorspitcher,

Thanks so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We endeavor to give all our guests the best in service and accommodations and we appreciate your compliments. Kansas City and our area have so many wonderful attractions, I'm glad you were here long enough to enjoy many of them. I hope you will let us serve you here again when you come back to explore ever more.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
#6 of 18 in Independence
668 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Independence
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence
3.8 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence

Address: 19901 E Valley View Pkwy, Independence, MO 64057-1597
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range: £86 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Independence-Kansas City, Missouri is conveniently located near the Arrowhead and Kauffman Stadiums, home of both the Kansas City Chiefs Football and the Royals Baseball teams. You will also be surrounded by a variety of dining establishments that are within walking distance. The hotel is located minutes away from the Independence Center shopping mall, which makes for an easy visit to the wide variety of stores lining the 39th Street Shopping District.The hotel is also located just a few blocks from the new Center Point Medical Center, as well as Bass Pro.The Holiday Inn Express is the best place to stay if you are visiting the Harry S. Truman Library and Museum which is now showing the Truman and Israel exhibit. Make sure to see the Truman Home, Truman Courthouse and Office, as well as the Truman Memorial. The hotel is also conveniently located to visitors of the National Frontier Trails Museum, launching point of the Oregon Trail, as well as the Santa Fe and California Trails.Be sure to visit the Bingham Waggoner Estate and the Historic Independence Square! The Mormon Visitors Center, Community of Christ Temple and Auditorium, Hidden Valley Sports Complex, and The Sports Lodge are also conveniently located. We are minutes from the Sprint Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Independence Hotel Independence
Holiday Inn Independence
Independence Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Independence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing