We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OUR STAY AT HOLIDAY INN” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“OUR STAY AT HOLIDAY INN”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Our grandchildren live there we travel there at least 6 times per year it's the best Hotel for options locations and amenities, for the price. We would like to bring attention to Scott who is in charge of maintenance, and the pool and spa area on several occasions he has gone above the call and duty and has personally helped us out. We should have posted this review 5 or 6 trips ago ( we are not that smart with computers). Sorry it has taken so long to post this in short we highly recommend this Hotel; and personally thank Scott and the manger Mariah.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Mark Y,

Thank you very much for your many visits and for posting your nice review. It’s guests like you that make our jobs of maintaining the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. We are very proud of our people and appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. I'll make sure Scott & Mariah are aware that their efforts are being noticed. We look forward to welcoming you back and thanking you in person the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    71
    16
    11
    11
See reviews for
139
51
15
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Gentleman that checked me in wasn't overly friendly, gave me room key and pretty much that was it. I had a room with 2 queen beds, was nice, large TV, bathroom was pathetic as the drywall tape was peeling off and so was the wallpaper. I started to watch tv after grabbing some dinner, the tv kept freezing up on the network channels, i.e. ABC, FOX, CBS etc.....tried other channels, called front desk and was told by the same gentleman that checked me in to unplug the tv, wait 10 minutes and plug it back in. It should reset itself and I will reset it here at the front office also. I did that to NO avail.......of course he never called me back to see if it got better?/?/?/? The a/c was also very noisy when running I noticed during the night. When I checked out the next morning I explained the tv issue with the girl, all she said was I'm sorry......all I can give you is a $15 credit.......REALLY?

On the positive side, good breakfast choices, egg omelets, sausage, pancakes, fruit, etc.....they try their best to give you a variety. I got a good rate with my state ID.......

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BandSRoadHogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear BandRoadHOgs,

I am truly sorry to learn of your disappointment with us during your recent stay and apologize for the frustration and discomfort you experienced here. We want our guests to be met with a well-trained staff that puts guest comfort and satisfaction before everything else, and take it very seriously when we learn of any guest disappointment. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact me at kenjacobs@zmchotels.com so we can show you our dedication to guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Wonderful hotel !! Clean and very friendly from the front desk staff, maids and especially Scott ! We have stayed there several times for both business and pleasure and always have clean rooms, great breakfast and very accommodating staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJM0216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear MJM0216,

Thank you for returning to us and posting your nice review. I'm glad we are your hotel of choice and that you are happy with what and how we do things here. We really appreciate you recognition of jobs well done by our team, and look forward to welcoming you back during future visits.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsville, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was great, breakfast was great and Scott at the pool went above and beyond to make the kids swimming fun. He brought floaters out for the kids.The rooms was very clean and had a clean smell not a covered up smell.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pmilligan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Pmilligan4,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and posting your nice review and rating about your stay with us. We value all guest feedback and it is always gratifying when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a family reunion along with many of our other family members. On Friday morning, about 50 of us showed up for breakfast and Dale, the gentleman handling the breakfast did his best to keep up with the unusual number of breakfast eaters. Minutes before the breakfast service was to end, an adult male, possibly a coach, walked in with members of a youth baseball team. These were BIG teenaged kids and it was obvious they had been staying at the hotel for a few days. The adult/coach started yelling about the lack of food. Dale told him it was closing time and the service was winding down. The adult/coach was increasingly hostile, made degrading remarks to Dale, etc. At no point was Dale anything but polite. He handled it like a pro. When the adult/coach went to get the manager, Dale kept his cool. Later, I talked to the manager to tell her Dale had done nothing wrong. She spoke highly of Dale and the rest of her staff. I travel frequently & it was refreshing to hear of a happy, cohesive staff in a hotel! They went out of their way to help us handle the heat of the weekend, make recommendations for restaurants, etc. The professionalism of this crew made all the difference for our gathering. And in all seriousness, Dale deserves a raise---that man can handle a crowd!

Room Tip: No complaints on rooms from any of our group! Great pillows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RSMETC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear RSMETC,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and post your wonderful review. It was our pleasure to have you and your family stay with us during your recent reunion - we really enjoyed seeing so many people connecting and reconnecting and making fond memories together. It was very nice of you to share what happened at breakfast, and I'll be sure that Dale receives the positive recognition he deserves for being mentioned here by you. He is terrific and inspires all of us to do our best with every guest, every day. I hope we can welcome you back and serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We rented two rooms over the fourth of July holiday weekend and were very satisfied with the accommodations. The rooms were nice and the air conditioning worked well. The breakfast was good. The staff was friendly and helpful when especially when we ask about the local restaurants. I would reccomend the hotel to any traveler and would readily stay there again. We we very satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Bill S,

Thank you for taking the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. It is our goal to provide our guests with the utmost in service, comfort, cleanliness, value and facilities, and I am glad we were able to make you satisfied. We really appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

The weather was not very good so we decided to stop here before our week long stay in Kansas City. It's in a good location with plenty of restaurants nearby. The hotel room was clean and sanitary. We had a problem with the bathroom door but the staff was very accommodating and the maintenance man tended to it promptly.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustyglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Rustyglass,

Thanks for choosing our hotel to get out of the weather, and for sharing your comments. I'm sorry about the problems you encountered with your door, and happy to learn that you were satisfied with our response when you notified us about the issue. We want all our guests to be happy they decided to stay with us and appreciate your kind words. I hope we can serve you again and earn another star or two.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
#6 of 18 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Truman Inn
BEST WESTERN Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Independence
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence

Property: Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
Address: 19901 E Valley View Pkwy, Independence, MO 64057
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Independence-Kansas City, Missouri is conveniently located near the Arrowhead and Kauffman Stadiums, home of both the Kansas City Chiefs Football and the Royals Baseball teams. You will also be surrounded by a variety of dining establishments that are within walking distance. The hotel is located minutes away from the Independence Center shopping mall, which makes for an easy visit to the wide variety of stores lining the 39th Street Shopping District.The hotel is also located just a few blocks from the new Center Point Medical Center, as well as Bass Pro.The Holiday Inn Express is the best place to stay if you are visiting the Harry S. Truman Library and Museum which is now showing the Truman and Israel exhibit. Make sure to see the Truman Home, Truman Courthouse and Office, as well as the Truman Memorial. The hotel is also conveniently located to visitors of the National Frontier Trails Museum, launching point of the Oregon Trail, as well as the Santa Fe and California Trails.Be sure to visit the Bingham Waggoner Estate and the Historic Independence Square! The Mormon Visitors Center, Community of Christ Temple and Auditorium, Hidden Valley Sports Complex, and The Sports Lodge are also conveniently located. We are minutes from the Sprint Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Independence Hotel Independence
Holiday Inn Independence
Independence Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Independence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing