We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, secure - a perfect weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Higher Ground Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We had a group get-together at the Higher Ground Hotel. The rooms that we had reserved were clean and restful, and the meeting room gave us all the amenities we needed to have our meeting. The continental breakfast was a wonderful plus - a very complete breakfast bar. Should we have another meeting in the future, the Higher Ground would be at the top of my list as a site.

Room Tip: The single king is a great choice - very good value for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Den44535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

This was two nights of comfort in extremely clean conditions. The owners have gotten all the details that matter right. The breakfast offering was quite good and well varied, and the coffee was very fresh, good tasting, and hot. That's a very big deal for us. The Hotel's garden is very well designed and is now beautifully developed. We highly recommend this private hotel to individuals, families, and groups with any reason to stay in Independence. It is very convenient and a great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dr2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Wonderful and charming hotel right in the beautiful heart of Independence, MO. Meticulously clean, quiet, and accommodations that are very well cared for...let's you know the owners care about not only their guest...but show pride of ownership. Want to know something special about the area? 'K' and Rita can help more than a guide book...like having a tour guide at the front desk! Stay here if you're tired of the off the shelf/along the highway motel...you'll be glad you did. You will not regret your stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Wonderful stay. So clean and quiet. We were treated as royalty! Good continental breakfast assortment. Highly recommend. It is a beautiful place. We are already scheduled for another stay! There is a cute garden area guests have access to. Seems like a B&B more so than a hotel. Loved it!

Room Tip: Queen bedroom is on the lower level. It is a small very clean room with a bathroom. Same level as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The room had an excellent bed & pillows. Room size was rather small & cramped. The location is very good; peaceful, safe, comfortable to walk the historic neighborhood. Hospitality by staff was also good; also very helpful indeed .... I needed a problem fixed with my camera which the owner solved. Would definitely return here if I have a need to revisit the Kansas City area.

Room Tip: Just make sure you select the 'correct' room size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherlockvulcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This hotel is located in the heart of old town Independence. It is clean, family friendly, and smoking is not allowed. The rooms are very large, clean, and nice. We were on a two week trip and this was our favorite hotel that we stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToughyDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Comfortable elegance! More like a B & B. Beautiful room and relaxing gardens with pond. Across the street from the Truman home. Helpful owners directed us to places to eat & things to see in this quaint town. Would not have thought to get Truman tickets at the Visitors Center before visiting his home. Delighted to learn from the owner about daily organ recitals just a block away along with the Mormon history in this town. Next time we're in Independence, we'll definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Independence hotels
4.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
3.2 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
521 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
#6 of 18 in Independence
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
5.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
284 reviews
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Independence Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Higher Ground Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Ground Hotel

Address: 200 N Delaware St, Independence, MO 64050-2633
Region: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range: £89 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Higher Ground Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Higher Ground Hotel is a boutique hotel located in a wonderful Historic District across the street from Harry S. Truman's home and close to his library and other attractions. We are within 3 blocks of Independence Square surrounding the Historic Courthouse. There are many restaurants and shops on the Square, plus a movie theater and a bowling alley. There are several museums in our area and many fun things to do like take a covered wagon ride around the area. The hotel has a beautiful garden where you can relax. We have a large selection of Blue Ray Movies that you can watch free in one of our 2 lounges. You can also order High Tea in the Afternoon served in our library or your room. There is much to enjoy at Higher Ground Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Higher Ground Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing