We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Higher Ground Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This is a really great place, right in the middle of all the Truman sites! No fancy or standard hotel facade, but inside it is truly unique. It has the personal atmosphere of a B&B, great, clean and very comfortable rooms, as well as "sitting/reading areas" to relax! Neat Victorian area to walk about, the neighborhood of the Trumans. Breakfast was much more than the continental listed. After 11 days on the road, this was the best place we stayed!! Highly recommend!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for Higher Ground Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel for three nights while in town for my niece's graduation. Extremely clean hotel in the middle of the quaint town of Independence, Mo. Staff was friendly and hardworking. Breakfast was ok, but when they ran out of the "hot" item, they would make more when requested. Hotel had a couple of common sitting rooms you could go and relax, read a book. They also had movies you could checkout and free popcorn for evenings in. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again next time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Interior rooms on the 3rd floor has huge skylights
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel is in a converted office building or dorm, but that just gives it some character. It is nice to stay somewhere that is not a chain. Breakfast is OK but nothing special. Located across the street from Harry Truman house and a few minutes drive from the Presidential library/museum. 10 minute walk from town square and many restaurants. Hotel has good security system because you have to know the code to get in or be buzzed in from the desk. Room was big but bath was tiny, no soap.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthCarolinaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The hotel is a hidden gem. A perfect place for a restful night! The location is perfect for a visit to Independence or Kansas City! The hotel is CLEAN, and the owner was very welcoming and informative about the area - lots of good tips - especially the one about The Little BBQ Joint. We spent our entire vacation frequenting small business "mom 'n pop" restaurants, shops and this lovely hotel. The bed was so comfortable and the Keurig coffee pot in the room with the different flavored coffees was a real treat! If you are looking for accommodations that will provide a good night's sleep, quiet and friendly, this is the place.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor overlooking the garden area and koi pond!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 800lms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I spent five nights here while working at the Truman Library Archives, a short ten minute walk away. I can't imagine why researchers would stay anywhere else. As a converted office building it doesn't look like a hotel, but inside it's well furnished, with excellent business center, very clean and fresh, and friendly and helpful too. Only ten minutes from downtown also if you fancy a restaurant, as I do. And they offer massage for your tight shoulders after a day hunched over a laptop. Just do it.

Room Tip: 309 overlooks Truman house across the street
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArchiveLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Located across the street from the Truman home and just a couple of blocks from historic Independence town square this hotel is the perfect place at a perfect price. Its looks rather utilitarian from the outside but the rooms inside are spacious, clean and comfortable. I loved staying within walking distance of all the attractions in town. I didn't give it 5 stars because the breakfast wasn't much...just store bought breads, cereal and a bit of yogurt and fruit...but I forgive that ,given the location and price of this little gem. Truth is, if I come back to the Kansas City area, I'm staying here!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We decided to book this hotel because of the positive reviews that we saw on various websites. We also chose the hotel because of it's location. The hotel was a little different than any of the chain hotels which is a good thing. The rooms were a good size and the bed we had was very comfortable. The hotel was immaculate and very well kept. The owners were very friendly and appreciative of our stay. We enjoyed the fact that it was very peaceful. It was also in a nice older neighborhood. We were pleasantly surprised with our stay and would recommend this hotel to others. It does not have a pool or exercise room, but that's okay, we took advantage of the great location took a nice walk and jog.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
4.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
3.2 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
496 reviews
5.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
#6 of 18 in Independence
633 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
3.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Higher Ground Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Ground Hotel

Address: 200 N Delaware St, Independence, MO 64050-2633
Region: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range: £88 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Higher Ground Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Higher Ground Hotel is a boutique hotel located in a wonderful Historic District across the street from Harry S. Truman's home and close to his library and other attractions. We are within 3 blocks of Independence Square surrounding the Historic Courthouse. There are many restaurants and shops on the Square, plus a movie theater and a bowling alley. There are several museums in our area and many fun things to do like take a covered wagon ride around the area. The hotel has a beautiful garden where you can relax. We have a large selection of Blue Ray Movies that you can watch free in one of our 2 lounges. You can also order High Tea in the Afternoon served in our library or your room. There is much to enjoy at Higher Ground Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Higher Ground Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing