We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Higher Ground Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This is a good spot for Truman fans as it's an easy walk to the museum and across the street from his house. It's also close to KC.
The hotel is clean and accommodating. The breakfast is standard continental, does the job.
I agree with the other post though, turn off the Fox News. It's annoying even in the background. The coffee is great and we had 2 bars of soap in the bathroom :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KMcK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    57
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
54
91
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roselle Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here for four nights and were ver pleased. The hotel was very clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the decor fun. Parking and wi-if were free, and there was a free breakfast. Great value for money. Addressing some points made by other reviewers, yes, the amenities are minimal, and there could have been soap for both the tub and sink, but we found that acceptable considering the price. When breakfast is served between given hours, you really can't go down at (or after!) closing time and expect to eat. And to say that highway chain hotels can be found at half the price is ludicrous! The only reason I'm not giving the hotel five stars is the annoying Fox News every morning at breakfast. Suggestions: turn off the TV unless asked (I noticed that almost no one watched it -- most people were actually talking to each other!) or, ideally, put on a local morning show (or weather channel) without a political agenda that includes local weather and traffic reports, which would be of value to many guests. Or even put on different stations each morning.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CMKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
240 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This is a really great place, right in the middle of all the Truman sites! No fancy or standard hotel facade, but inside it is truly unique. It has the personal atmosphere of a B&B, great, clean and very comfortable rooms, as well as "sitting/reading areas" to relax! Neat Victorian area to walk about, the neighborhood of the Trumans. Breakfast was much more than the continental listed. After 11 days on the road, this was the best place we stayed!! Highly recommend!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel for three nights while in town for my niece's graduation. Extremely clean hotel in the middle of the quaint town of Independence, Mo. Staff was friendly and hardworking. Breakfast was ok, but when they ran out of the "hot" item, they would make more when requested. Hotel had a couple of common sitting rooms you could go and relax, read a book. They also had movies you could checkout and free popcorn for evenings in. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again next time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Interior rooms on the 3rd floor has huge skylights
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel is in a converted office building or dorm, but that just gives it some character. It is nice to stay somewhere that is not a chain. Breakfast is OK but nothing special. Located across the street from Harry Truman house and a few minutes drive from the Presidential library/museum. 10 minute walk from town square and many restaurants. Hotel has good security system because you have to know the code to get in or be buzzed in from the desk. Room was big but bath was tiny, no soap.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthCarolinaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

The hotel is a hidden gem. A perfect place for a restful night! The location is perfect for a visit to Independence or Kansas City! The hotel is CLEAN, and the owner was very welcoming and informative about the area - lots of good tips - especially the one about The Little BBQ Joint. We spent our entire vacation frequenting small business "mom 'n pop" restaurants, shops and this lovely hotel. The bed was so comfortable and the Keurig coffee pot in the room with the different flavored coffees was a real treat! If you are looking for accommodations that will provide a good night's sleep, quiet and friendly, this is the place.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor overlooking the garden area and koi pond!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 800lms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I spent five nights here while working at the Truman Library Archives, a short ten minute walk away. I can't imagine why researchers would stay anywhere else. As a converted office building it doesn't look like a hotel, but inside it's well furnished, with excellent business center, very clean and fresh, and friendly and helpful too. Only ten minutes from downtown also if you fancy a restaurant, as I do. And they offer massage for your tight shoulders after a day hunched over a laptop. Just do it.

Room Tip: 309 overlooks Truman house across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArchiveLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
4.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Truman Inn
BEST WESTERN Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
3.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Stadium
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
#6 of 18 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Higher Ground Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Ground Hotel

Property: Higher Ground Hotel
Address: 200 N Delaware St, Independence, MO 64050-2633
Region: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Higher Ground Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Higher Ground Hotel is a boutique hotel located in a wonderful Historic District across the street from Harry S. Truman's home and close to his library and other attractions. We are within 3 blocks of Independence Square surrounding the Historic Courthouse. There are many restaurants and shops on the Square, plus a movie theater and a bowling alley. There are several museums in our area and many fun things to do like take a covered wagon ride around the area. The hotel has a beautiful garden where you can relax. We have a large selection of Blue Ray Movies that you can watch free in one of our 2 lounges. You can also order High Tea in the Afternoon served in our library or your room. There is much to enjoy at Higher Ground Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Higher Ground Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing