We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent local resource for genealogists”

Midwest Genealogy Center
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Midwest Genealogy Center, the largest free-standing genealogy library in the United States, is one of the nation's preeminent destinations for researching family history, providing access to almost three-quarter of a million on-site materials, as well as free online resources. Midwest Genealogy Center features 52,000 square feet of space to house all of the free resources and technology needed to research family history whether one's relatives originated in the Midwest or across an ocean. Part of Mid-Continent Public Library, The Center offers free access to microfilm sources, microfiche records, books, directories, and online resources seven days a week and offers free classes and programs throughout the year.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift
Liberty, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent local resource for genealogists”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We are regular visitors of the Midwest Genealogy Center. The staff is courteous and very helpful and there are people who can help you with your research if you hit a snag. Vast amounts of resources can be found here, from obscure genealogical books, to microfilm, to free online access to ancestry.com. If you are a genealogist visiting the Kansas City area, this is a place that you cannot miss.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hezzy_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Escalon, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Great genealogy library. Just happened to find it and was pleasantly surprised at what I found. All of the staff were very helpful and attentive to my needs. They have a lot of information specifically about the mid-west people. I was able to spend 4 days there & found may new things.

Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A fantastic jewel of genealogy research!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We live about 200 miles from Independence, Missouri but made this trip on recommendations of fellow genealogists that this library was excellent! I was not disappointed! The library is beautiful on the outside and inside, well-kept and very organized. The staff are so knowledgeable and so very helpful in every regard of genealogy research. For a nominal fee of $20 I joined the library for six months and can use all their subscriptions from my home computer during that time. I am looking forward to returning many times to use their great facilities. My husband was very happy with the location of the library as there is a great golf course right across the street where he played golf while I did genealogy research. By the way the name of the course is Drumm Farms golf course.

Helpful?
1 Thank WYPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must for geneologist and research....”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Independence is THE place for such research with this resource and the Mormon archives also available close.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great source for genealogy study”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We have found a lot of great background information on ancestors here. They have many obscure and local books and references to even the smallest towns, with stories about the history and perhaps the role of your ancestors in development of the area. The library staff is also extremely helpful in locating the exact information you are looking for.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Midwest Genealogy Center also viewed

 

Been to Midwest Genealogy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing