We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place if you need a place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Suites Independence
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were in town for the Ringside World Boxing tournament. I had called three other hotels that were already full so this was not based on anything other than it was the first one we could find. It is located close to the Independence event center and there are multiple places to eat that are nice and very close. Although this hotel was filled with boxing and softball teams, the noise wasn't a problem and they managed to keep the breakfast area stocked during the busiest of times.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBQ_Bob2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear BBQ_Bob2011,

Thanks for calling us and posting your nice review about your stay here. I'm glad we could accommodate you and that you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide. I hope you will be our guest again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites Independence
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stay in Independence once a month while up for a game or grandkids. Usually stay at a different hotel but they were full. We used to stay at Comfort until the other opened. In comparison I'd say, except in a pinch, I'd choose the competition. Why? It's the little things.
The room was nice and spacious and clean. No problem there. The breakfast muffins were tasty and I like the upgraded tables since I was last there. We got the noon checkout we asked for. Those were the good.
The marginal? We had to wait on the desk clerk for over five minutes to check in. No sign of her anywhere. When she did show up she was apologetic but obviously harried and harassed. I do believe she was the only person working in the hotel and it was at 100%+ occupancy. Later in the evening I saw the poor woman mopping up pool water with towels from the hallway floor that some very inconsiderate guests with multiple children left behind. Those same guests and children continued to shriek in the pool and run up and down the halls until the pool closed. Then the slamming of the doors started and continued for about an hour. It resumed at 6:45 the next morning. I know these things aren't in the control of the hotel but there must be very little soundproofing. I've never heard noise at that level at the competition. Breakfast selection was very limited. Egg and sausage patties, bread for toast, waffles,muffins and cereal. There is only one soft drink machine in the hotel on the third floor and it wasn't working. There is a soda cooler in the lobby where 16oz bottles are two bucks. In the evening it had two choices, neither diet. It was finally restocked at 10:00 the next morning. The competition provides an unlimited free soda fountain and popcorn as well as a full breakfast. So given that the two hotels are comparable in price, I will choose the other where they are always fully staffed, quiet, and provide those extra little things that put it a cut above the rest.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank drhalfpint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear drhalfpint,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your candid comments. I'm very sorry you were unhappy with us during your recent stay and offer my sincere apologies for the frustration, disturbance and inconvenience you experienced here. We want all our guests to be happy they decided to stay with us and take it very seriously when we learn that we have failed to deliver excellent service and accommodations. We will use your review in discussions and training to improve our operation, so this does not continue or recur. We'd like to make amends and hope you will contact us via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com so we can discuss this further. I hope you will give us the chance to regain your confidence.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The room was large and was extremely clean. In addition to the two queen beds there was also a sofa and coffee table. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Breakfast was good and had a large selection. It was conveniently close to the Truman NHS and the Truman library. This hotel is a great value. We would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Greg L,

Thanks for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to write and post your great review. We know you have a lot of hotels to choose from, and are glad you hear that you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very pleased for the price. Easy to find, but far enough off the Interstate so traffic noise is minimal. Hotel was crowded but room noise was not a problem. Staff was efficient and honored my room requests. Large breakfast area with good choices, including sausage, eggs, blueberry waffle batter, fruit, and both kids and adult yogurt. Pool was small and a little cold but sufficient. Decent barbecue restaurant in the parking lot, or half a dozen other choices across the street. Nearby Independence Center mall has a beautiful double-deck carousel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jeremiah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear TheHolidayRoad,

Thanks for choosing our hotel and sharing your nice review. We are proud to provide excellent service and accommodations at a reasonable price and pleased to know you found us to be a good value. I hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The room was large and clean. Breakfast was good except we couldn't get the person working there to get us waffle mix, others also ask but the person keep telling everyone to wait 15 minutes, we were they a half hour and they never brought any mix to make waffles but when we were leaving and look in the breakfast room and saw they did have mix ready. The staff at the front desk were great and help us with directions to the Truman Library. There is free wifi and was very fast. Costco was just down the street for a little cheaper gas. Area was good with many restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Gene G,

Thanks for taking the time to write and post your review about your stay with us. I'm sorry about the lack of waffle mix when you wanted it at breakfast and hope you will accept my apologies for the disappointment and inconvenience you experienced. I'll work with our breakfast team to make sure we have all items in inventory and proper procedures to make them available at all times, so this doesn't continue or recur. It is only with timely feedback from valued guests such as yourself that we can improve our operation. I'm glad you were happy with other aspects of your stay and appreciate your kind words.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great hotel, room was clean and comfy, breakfast was great. Located far enough off the highway to be quiet, and located close to restaurants and shopping. Good price and friendly staff, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank driver604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear driver604,

Thank you very much for posting your excellent comments about your stay at our hotel. We value your business and are proud to deliver a higher quality guest experience than our competitors. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here a couple weeks ago. Everything was nice, room was very clean and furnishings were also nice. I would definitely stay here again. Breakfast was good with a lot of choices. Plenty of parking and restaurants nearby. We walked around to the back and saw a couple of benches off of the indoor pool. Was nice to sit outside although I think it was designed for smokers, we found it to be a nice change of scenery. We accidentally dropped our camera bag outside and within 30 minutes, a maintence man came to our door with it. We had our name on it and he looked us up. Very nice to have honest workers there. Easy to find off of 1-70 and close to Independence Center. Restaurants very close. A good choice if you're in Kansas City on the east side.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OkieDokieIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear OkieDokielll,

Thanks for posting your excellent review about your recent stay at our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us. We are very proud of our people and appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. We look forward to welcoming you back and thanking you in person the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
1.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
3.7 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
#6 of 18 in Independence
631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Independence
5.6 mi away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#3 of 18 in Independence
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Independence

Address: 19751 E Valley View Pkwy, Independence, MO 64057-2157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range: £78 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Independence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Independence Hotel Independence
Independence Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing