We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Independence B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place was awesome!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We spent our 30th wedding anniversary in the Westminster suite. The room was charming and had fantastic views: to look out our window was like looking out into the English garden. Both Windy and Jim were fantastic host and hostesses. We had such a great time there. The breakfasts were magnificently presented and delicious. We sat out on the sunroom enjoyed our surroundings. Both Jim and Wendy were so helpful making our stay simply the best. I highly recommend this bed and breakfasts! We have stayed at many B&Bs in our last 30 years and this is one of the best!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    9
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
49
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were married on Dec 14th 2013 and had a wonderful experience and stay here. The place was decked out and very cozy. There were trees in all the rooms and the mantels were all gorgeous! We had a small family wedding and dinner and the setting was perfect. The food was home cooked and outstanding! The room was very comfortable and breakfast the next day was more than we could finish. Fresh muffins, and fresh fruit along with a full breakfast. The owners were friendly and helpful and we highly recommend anyone staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisakrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raytown, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This B&B is out of this world wonderful! Jim and Wendy were heavenly hosts. The home had ethereal beauty and class. Every need was attended to. The rooms were tastefully decorated. Breakfast was incredible. Fresh, homemade, and plentiful. It was quite convenient to purchase tourism packages and tickets for Independence attractions. The location is close to historical Independence Square as well as attractions in Kansas City. We thought we'd died and gone to heaven. Perfect Staycation for us. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuemmeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This historic Bed and Breakfast is beautifully maintained, with large, luscious treed lawns and flower gardens. Located in Independence, MO, home of President Harry S. Truman, it is within minutes drive of many museums and national historical sites. A great hideaway for history buffs (especially presidential, civil war, or early America westward movement), or those in search of a quiet place to relax for the weekend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KY
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Well appointed house, nice amenities such as coffee by our room, some snacks and bottled water. Smallish room but given the architecture of the building, understandable. The bathroom was quite tiny. Breakfast was slim - despite the owners being told I was vegan, they had no clue what that meant. "So you eat pancakes?" WiFi connection though free was weak to at times non-existent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sylph7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The building is beautiful in a very quiet neighborhood on a large corner plot. The dirt driveway entrance was full of potholes. Jim warmly greeted us as the door and showed us around. The living and dining rooms were nicely furnished. We had the suite, which was very roomy and nice. They are oddly strict about no red wine inside the mansion. I've never seen that at a B&B before. Our room had two adjoining rooms on either side of the rooms. There might as well have been just a curtain it was was so thin. We could hear everything that went on in the bathroom next door, which wasn't very romantic. The doors are squeaky and the floors creak a lot. The bed was super comfy. The breakfast was pretty good and huge, which was what we expected from a B&B. Nothing special, but just a nice breakfast in the dining room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I can only echo the praise of the other reviewers.

Jim and Wendy truly made us feel at home, and were as welcoming as can be. My wife and I stayed in the Westminster Suite over Christmas, and it was a perfect getaway. We got married the weekend before, and needed to get away and clear our heads. This was our first B&B experience, and I can't imagine anything better than our experience at Hawthorn. We have their number on our refrigerator, and will always be on the lookout for an excuse to call up an make a reservation for a weekend getaway.

The mansion was decorated magnificently for Christmas. The only thing I could say when we first arrived was that it looked like it was straight out of a movie. It felt like we had been transported back in time, with all the comforts and amenities of our modern day. The room was enormous, and the sheets... Oh my goodness, the sheets. Softest sheets I've ever felt in my life. The mansion was meticulously well kept, and absolutely quiet and peaceful.

Breakfast was, of course, absolutely incredible. Jim even made biscuits and gravy for my bride as a special request.

If you are looking for peace, tranquility, hospitality, and the best breakfast of your life, look no further than Hawthorn.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
2.0 mi away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#3 of 18 in Independence
236 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,133 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
7.8 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1 Hawthorne Pl, Independence, MO 64052-1966
Region: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 19th century stone mansion meticulously renovated and opened as a Bed & Breakfast in 2000. Relax in the comfort and privacy of this beautiful estate and savor the gourmet cuisine. Extra large guestrooms, exquisitely decorated, all with private baths, cable TV, wireless internet, individual heat & air-conditioning and full complimentary breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing