We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Independence B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, MN
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We've had the pleasure of staying at this B&B twice and will definitely return. The rooms are clean, neat, and uncluttered. Lovely antiques throughout. The breakfasts are delicious and filling - we often didn't need lunch! The innkeepers are extremely friendly and are very willing to make recommendations for restaurants and activities. While the B&B is not located in Kansas City, we usually drove into the city in the evening for dinner/music and found the drive to be quick and easy. Definitely consider this for your Kansas City base.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNTravel_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    9
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
49
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Was surprised by my husband with a weekend trip to KC. Elegant on entrance of house, led to room which in some ways was outdated (mattress seemed older than me) and other ways updated (bathrooms recently redone). As a young married couple, we have little experience but was more impressed with other parts of the B&B than our room. Breakfast was great! We had a private table and the food kept coming. We also got to pick the time we wanted to eat (within a block). It is in a good location--sort of odd that it's in the middle of everything and yet not really close to much (not within walking distance to anything we were interested in). Overall, wasn't bad but not amazing compared to experiences since then.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinlippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Guest rooms, and common areas, are extremely clean and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was well-prepared. The innkeepers are also friendly and helpful with recommending area restaurants. This is definitely a must-stay place when in Kansas City.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2MissouriTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Sttes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2010

In my first stay at a B&B I don't think I could have wished for a better experience. Jim and Wendy were amazing hosts, our room was delightful, the sheets and bedding extremely comfortable and the ambiance was charming. My husband and I were in town to do some shopping and sightseeing (the KC zoo and catching the Manchester United game at the new Arrowhead Stadium) and we fould Hawthorn a great place to stay. It was close enough to where we wanted to go (maximum of 20 minutes to get to Country Club Plaza) but provided a lovely retreat that let us feel like we were really getting away from everything. And our breakfast in the sunroom was divine - the homemade blueberry and cranberry muffins were to die for. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone who doesn't mind a tiny bit of driving for the benefits of staying at a warm and beautiful home with charming hosts.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

I stumbled across the Hawthorne on Google Maps, and I'm so glad I did. The inn is beautiful, and the innkeepers obviously take pride in their work. The breakfasts are delicious, and the hosts are welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The floors are a bit squeaky and the walls a bit thin, but that did not detract from a great stay. The home is 100 years old and the renovations were beautifully done. (Keep in mind that there is no elevator or lift, so be prepared to haul your luggage up the stairs.) My room was roomy and comfortable, with large windows. The lovely grounds are well-maintained, and I could always find drinks and snacks in the landing outside my room. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmahero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbandale, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2010

I have stayed here many times in the past few years and can't imagine staying anywhere else when in the KC area. Jim and Wendy make you feel like a part of their family and are so accommodating. The B & B is conveniently located and attractions are not too far away and very easy to find. The rooms are clean, the beds are very comfortable and welcoming after a long day of shopping or sightseeing and after a great nights sleep the breakfast Jim prepares is SUPERB!! Overall my experiences have always left me not wanting to leave this magnificent place, but always ready to make a return visit!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penquinkim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2009

The Hawthorn is beautiful, both inside, and on the grounds. We stayed in the Evans room. Jim and Wendy (the owners) were delightful. Wendy helped us pick a restaurant for dinner after listening to our preferences, and gave excellent directions. Jim cooks a scruptious breakfast. We were served fruit with yogurt and granola, juice, blueberry/cranberry muffins, and a plate with an omelet, sausage and potatoes. It was very filling! Unlike other bed&breakfast locations that have one breakfast time and table, the Hawthorn owners serve breakfast by reservation, and at individual tables. This means that we were able to select our breakfast time based on our schedule. We ate out on the sunporch. Jim and Wendy go out of their way to make sure that guests have a good stay. Although located in western Independence, the Hawthorn is very convenient for access to Kansas City. We will definitely stay here the next time we are in the area!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
2.0 mi away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#3 of 18 in Independence
236 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,134 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
7.8 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1 Hawthorne Pl, Independence, MO 64052-1966
Region: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 19th century stone mansion meticulously renovated and opened as a Bed & Breakfast in 2000. Relax in the comfort and privacy of this beautiful estate and savor the gourmet cuisine. Extra large guestrooms, exquisitely decorated, all with private baths, cable TV, wireless internet, individual heat & air-conditioning and full complimentary breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing