We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag”

BD's Mongolian Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
BD's Mongolian Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 251 Restaurants in Independence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
186 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I've eaten at BD's Mongolian Barbeque, and the experience varies. Sometimes the food isn't very good at all--overdone meat, and other times it's exactly what I expect. It's a fun place to eat and one of the few where you handpick what you eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryfrances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    28
    16
    14
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The only restaurant where the customer burns the food!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I went there on 10/06/13 and had my food burnt, twice. The waitress told me the cooks response was that it was my fault for saucing the dish before handing it to them. That the caramelization of the sugars in the sauce causes the burning, so it was in fact my fault and that I should have added the sauce later in a separate bowl. My fault the cooks burnt my food. I had to type that twice because I still can't believe it. No, it was the fact the grill was set at too high of a temperature that the food was burning and the cooks weren't very attentive with my dish. They watched as it burnt and repeatedly scraped the burnt parts down the center hole of the grill. I got half of the plate I even started with because it wound up down the shoot or on the floor. Never in my life have I gone to a restaurant and been told I ruined my dinner, not them. Preposterous. I've gone to many Mongolian Grills all over the midwest and have never had my food burnt and I've always sauced the food before hand. I would have gone back up a third time but my party had to leave. To think I tipped the cooks $3.00 before hand. At least the waitress was attentive and understanding.Thanks BD's Mongolian Grill for $17 worth of crap.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deming, New Mexico
Level Contributor
490 reviews
374 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stopped here just to try this type of venue. The food was ok and the place was clean, service was good but it just wasn't for us.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank dqdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun place, great food”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We've eaten at many Mongolian grill places. BD's food is very good albeit a bit pricey compared to other similar restaurants. If you've never done Mongolian grill before this is a good place to start. Staff is friendly and helpful but be aware it is obvious they are trained to up-sell. BDs is putting a corporate chain spin on something that is more often a mom-and-pop operation. By the way, they have an extensive beer menu. I had a vanilla porter that was outstanding. We would probably eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gd540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
138 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A must visit, very unique...”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I was a little reserved when I was told about this place but pleasantly impressed and will return! Visited for lunch so not busy, pick your vegies first and then meat ontop...they grill it right in front of you and put on a great show at the grill (be sure to leave a tip). Meal was excellent, can't wait to go back...even worked the chop-sticks like a champ! Service, food and value EXCELLENT!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BD's Mongolian Grill also viewed

 
Independence, MO
 

Been to BD's Mongolian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing