We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites Independence(Independence)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
My Place Hotel - Kansas City / Independence, MO(Independence)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Truman Inn(Independence)(Great Value!)
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Higher Ground Hotel(Independence)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
77
17
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
17
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoroccan roomwafflesbeautiful roombreakfast was deliciousroyals gamedowntown independenceeasy accessgreat place to stayhot tubparking lotpamsuitekclouislinensstadiumfurniture
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Recently, we had the good fortune of having our home on stated tour, As such, it was requested that we vacate our home for the duration. With the in-laws coming up to visit and participate with us we thought about where we might land for the event. Pam received us as if royalty. We selected the Tuscan Room and the in-laws chose the Bridal Suite. The spa bath and push button start fireplace were just what the doctor ordered. Breakfast the next was served very early for us - as we requested - so we could get an early start. Fresh mixed fruit, quiche, bacon, muffins, 3 different juices, premium roast blend coffee of one's choosing - and all with great conversation. Contrary to a previous poster, I didn't even see a microwave on the premises much less used (maybe Pam could dig one up if someone requested some late night popcorn?). Anyway, I am very glad that the Woodstock B&B was able to accomodate us so well. We will be back, sorry Pam, that's not a threat...

Room Tip: Get a spa for sure, and crank up the fireplace...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pbaglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodstock5656, Manager at Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for all the kind words and great review. Just wanted to let you know that I visited your home on the Holly & Mistletoe tour and it was beautiful , lots of hard work and creativity went in to the decor. Looks great!
I look forward to seeing you again soon!
Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

While most people had an amazing time at this Inn, my husband and I left with rather different feelings. We stayed in the Scandinavian Room, which really should be converted to an open reading room or closet. We felt like we were staying with a relative in the kid's room, which is unfortunate when paying $125/night. It seemed like some of the other rooms were a bit roomier and nicer for the same price so maybe it was our tough luck.

Regarding the Inn as a whole, the common area was nice but felt dirty and cluttered, and again, like we were staying with a relative who wasn't in the mood to clean the place up. There wasn't really a nice place for us to feel like we were relaxing on a romantic weekend so we didn't spend much time there. The breakfast was good the first day, a bit on the heavy side, and then disappointing when we were served pretty much the same thing the next day. Fatal mistake when running a b&b. You can't serve the same dishes on Saturday AND Sunday - especially Sat & Sun.! The main carb was different but all of the sides were the same and reheated in the microwave. I was disappointed that I didn't skip breakfast and eat at the local coffee shop in Independence.

Pam was very sweet but seemed chained to the premises and very unhappy. We felt bad for her situation, instead of enjoying our weekend away. I know that this is going to come off as selfish and insensitive, but it's hard to be on vacation and then listen to the person who's hosting you complain about the burdens of running the place where you paid money to stay. I put this fault on the owner, who obviously isn't taking good care of her innkeeper.

I would not recommend this Inn to a friend. Next time we visit KC, we might have to splurge a little more to find a quality stay. Sorry for the negativity but I want others to know what they're walking into when considering a romantic weekend away with their spouse or loved one.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jessica t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodstock5656, Manager at Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to make everyone's stay comfortable and enjoyable. Rooms are decorated in different European styles and pictures of each room can be seen on our website in order to choose the room you desire to stay in. It is important that you book your stay in advance in order to be able to reserve the room that fits your eye appeal and the amenities you most want.
We do work with everyone's dietary needs and serve a full breakfast in order for everyone to get pleasantly full.
We do hope you will come back and try out one of the other rooms.
Pam French
Innkeeper
Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast
Independence, MO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I've been with my wife Susan in B&B Woodstock, and really we have had a very good time there. Nice place, nice location, the room was clean and nice and a very relaxing atmosphere. We absolutely suggest to go there.

Room Tip: The English Room - Luxory Qeen Spa is perfect for a couple!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodstock5656, Manager at Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give a review.
I look forward to seeing you again soon.
I love to see familiar faces and share the Inn with you again.
Pam French
Innkeeper
Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast
Independence, MO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My husband and I went away to Independence for a getaway. We arrived Friday evening and stayed in the Italian Suite through Sunday morning. Love the bubbling tub for two! We were treated to a large sit-down style breakfast that was delicious and different each morning. There was an Italian themed dinner one evening that included a slide presentation and music. How unique and fun for us! Kim and Pam were wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodstock5656, Manager at Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

We are known for our romantic getaway. We are certainly glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. We will let you know if you decide to do another Italian weekend special.
Thank you,
Pam French
Innkeeper
Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast
816-886-5656

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This is a charming inn not far from The Square in old downtown Independence. The Inn and rooms have a times-past charm with lots of personality. The innkeeper, Pam, is wonderful -- friendly, accomodating (even for special dietary needs), and breakfasts are delicious! She makes cookies some evenings. We had the Scottish room, comfortable queen bed, a sitting area, small shower. Guests can open windows or use the heat/cool unit each room has. Ample parking off road. Flowering trees were in bloom during our visit -- beautiful!

We had dinner at Cafe Verona, which Pam recommended, and it was superb. Lovely atmosphere, good food, excellent wait staff. The Square has numerous shops and eateries and a 4-plex movie theatre. We also had a meal at the famous Gates BBQ, and it's a crazy busy place with good food. Kindly wait staff, always busy at the order counter.

There is a riverfront in Kansas City nearby where a market is held on weekends. We didn't get to that, but someone told us there is fresh produce, food, crafts, art and more. In the general area are good flea markets and antique stores, especially east of Independence.

Room Tip: The Scottish room is relatively spacious with a queen bed and sitting area. Small shower. Good location near the end of a hallway on the second floor; it's quiet there.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rascalstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodstock5656, Manager at Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Wow, what a nice full review. You pretty much covered your whole stay in detail. I love it! You should be a writer. Great to hear that your stay was all you desired. I love to hear people come away from their weekend stay relaxed and happy.
Hope to see you soon!
Pam French
Innkeeper
Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast
Independence, MO
816-886-5656

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews