We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slightly disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Independence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“slightly disappointed”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Our hostess Pam was very welcoming, so I find it difficult to be critical, but I have to say that we were disappointed with the state of the decor. The house did not smell fresh, and was very untidy and cluttered. This was the first American b&b we had stayed at so I delayed reviewing until we had visited others, and unfortunately Woodstock Inn is well below the standard we have found elsewhere. I hope that my comments will encourage the owners to put a little effort into bringing the B&B back to it's former glory.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock Inn B, Manager at Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for your review. It always informs us as to where we need to improve our establishment. I believe at the time that you were here, we were going through some change of decor and you may have seen us in the process. This is our home, and we love to kep a warm and cozy guesthouse for all of our visitors. I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit to the beautiful United States of America!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    17
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
44
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We arrived at the Woodstock after planning a romantic couples getaway. The Innkeeper was warm and friendly and food yummy. However, most of the carpets were in need of a thorough cleaning and the Inn needed decent repair work. It is an okay place if you are passing through town but not the getaway we had planned.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Well-Traveled123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock Inn B, Manager at Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for your input and visit. It is always valuable in improving our venture as we expand and make Woodstock the highlight of your vacation time. We took this adventure with Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast because of the love for people. So thank you for acknowledging our passion. Woodstock will always be evolving yearly to meet expectations. It has certanly been an adventure so far and we look forward to your visit again along with all the new and loyal faces in our future.

See you soon!
Pam French
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2013

My husband and inlaws came fo KC for Chiefs football game in october 2012. Loved this place. Will be back to stay a second time. Highly recommend this B&B. staff was so friendly, rooms were beautiful and the food was amazing.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llinnette86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock Inn B, Manager at Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Do you see the SMILE on my face!! Thanks so much for the great review. Football season is over ,but our Mavericks are doing well at Ice Hockey and Baseball -the Royals season is soon to be here Come back soon! We are always doing little improvements here and there and diffiantly making changes for the better. Let us know what you see different the next time you are here.
We would love to see you again,
Pam French
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, in the Italian suite. The room was beautiful. It had a charming fireplace and whirlpool tub in the extra room. Pam was very friendly and welcoming and very accommodating. She was also an amazing cook. The atmosphere was very social at the large breakfast table. We enjoyed meeting all of the other guests at breakfast time. The Independence area was very nice, with historical sites and just a few minutes from the Kansas City area. We would highly recommend the Woodstock Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: Suggest getting the Italian Suite, this room has the attention w/ the fireplace and whirlpool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdowney73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock Inn B, Manager at Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Loved your review! Thanks so much for taking the time and effort to share your experience with others. We hope to see you again soon!! We will be having some new activities and events so keep your eyes focused on us on facebook under woodstockinnmo or we will be sending out some emails with our plans for the spring and summer.
Thanks again,
Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We found this bed & breakfast through Groupon and it looked cute and quaint and decided to book it for our 1st year wedding anniversary. Pam was great and we had a wonderful weekend. Yummy breakfast. Very nice room and little touches that helped our stay be special. We found it's location very easy to get to and central to the things we wanted to do while in Kansas City, with quick access to freeways. Would definitely book another getaway here again if we get back to K.C.

Room Tip: I'd definitely get a room with a Jacuzzi tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoenoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock Inn B, Manager at Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Have a Blessed year!
Pam
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Perfect place for a Girls' Night! Warm and welcoming atmosphere. We brought in some dinner so we could spend time catching up without the noise of a restaurant. Pam was wonderful and helped us get set up at the beautiful dining room table. Once we finished eating, we settled in for an evening of girl talk and playing cards. Later, we changed into our PJs and moved from the table to the cozy library to watch a movie picked from the selection the Inn had on hand. We all loved our unique rooms and the ecclectic artwork and decor around the Inn. After a restful night we met up again for an amazing breakfast cooked by Pam. We'll definitely be back and recommend it to others!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbrooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock Inn B, Manager at Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
We are so glad you ladies enjoyed your stay at Woodstock Inn B&B. We look forward to seeing more groups like yours stay in our Bed and Breakfast. Seeing family and friends be able to be in one place for an event and share laughter and stories is as much fun for us as it is for you.
We look forward to you staying with us again.
Thank you,
Pam French
Innkeeper
Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast
Independence, MO
816-886-5656
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Our family stayed in multiple rooms at the Inn while in town for a family event. It was an ideal location for our family, we were able to gather in the living room and dining area and truly have family time. The family had flown in from different locations and the ability to spend time together in a home environment was wonderful. Pam was great, she is a terrific host and went well beyond her expected duties to make us feel welcome and taken care of. The house and rooms are charming and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constance L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodstock5656, Manager at Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
We are happy that your family enjoyed their family time at the Inn. You have a great family and I hope that you will find time to come back and visit and enjoy the homeyness of the Inn.
I look forward to seeing you soon!
Pam French
Innkeeper
Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast
Independence, MO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
0.4 mi away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#3 of 18 in Independence
234 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
473 reviews
4.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Stadium
5.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
275 reviews
3.0 mi away
Super 8 Independence Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1212 W Lexington Ave, Independence, MO 64050-3524
Region: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continuing a tradition of excellence, the Inn enjoys a stunning new renovation and in 2011 reopens under new management. Enjoy a warm and cozy stay in our Inn, voted "Best B&B in Kansas City" 2001 & 2003, "Most Romantic Hideaway" 2003 and "Room of the Year" 2003. Located in the heart of Independence's famous historical district, it is level walking distance from award-winning restaurants, unique shops, a first-run cinema, and ample business services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Woodstock Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstock Inn b&b
Woodstock Hotel Independence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing