We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Zip me!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mugs-Up Root Beer Drive-In

Mugs-Up Root Beer Drive-In
Ranked #30 of 249 Restaurants in Independence
Cuisines: American, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Zip me!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Mugs Up is a Mom & POP drive up that gives you an old days feel they serve a Zip burger witch is there take on a hamburger tried it glad I did will be back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank scott j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nostalgia in a bottle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

This is a place I've gone to for many many years. No one else does frosted mugs. And, the nostalgia of the baby mugs.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank makana073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
157 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A Longstanding Tradition”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

This place may not look like much but the burgers and old fashioned root beer floats are outstanding. We stop here every time we go through KC

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 816beachgirl251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

Loose meat sandwiches and root beer in a frosty mug! And wavy cut French fries my favorite! Super wizard burger is my favorite.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimbo1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Little disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Went there for just the root beer expected the root beer bite of old but was just so so. Did not eat so no comment on food

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank retired27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mugs-Up Root Beer Drive-In also viewed

Independence, MO
 

Been to Mugs-Up Root Beer Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing