We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“date night place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Verona

Cafe Verona
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Verona is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 249 Restaurants in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Osage St
Description: Nestled in historic Independence Square, Café Verona will whisk you from the Midwest to the romance of Italy.
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“date night place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great food, kind of pricey(but I'm kind of a cheapskate), and good friendly service. I had gelato there for the first time, and it was soo yummy(made it easy to finish the large portion).

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marinda_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    48
    15
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Crazy good and the atmosphere kills!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have recommended this wonderful restaurant to everyone who would stand still long enough to listen! The atmosphere is wonderful, cozy, dress-up if you want to but just fine if your out shopping with the girls or date night. We took friends here from Australia for dinner there after an incredibly long flight, beat to their socks and they still say it was the BEST meal they had in the States. The food is delicious, the menu is extensive, it won't be hard to find multiple things you'll adore - the hard part will be making a choice. I have numerous favorites. We had our rehearsal dinner in one the upstairs banquet rooms and also had one of our children's rehearsal dinners there because it was just soooo wonderful. The staff is warm - I cannot say enough good things about this great place - oh! And if you'd like to sit outside on a lovely day - that's available too in the courtyard!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sulleysgirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bates City Missouri
Level Contributor
184 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Small portions & charge for bread!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Don't get to Verona often. Maybe 2 times a year. But over the years the portion size has continued to get smaller. Full portion size is now what the small portion use to be few years back. What's up with that? My husband ordered stuffed shells and he received 4 small shells with about 1 teaspoon of filling with a drizzle of rosa sauce on top. My orchetta dis was very good as but full portion very small. Salads were crisp but small. Ordered calamari app which 1/3 of it was zucchini fingers. Should mention that on menu! We think our waiter must have normally been a bus boy that was recently stepped up. We had to inquire bout special. Ask for grated cheese and cracked pepper. And why do they charge $2 for bread? Overall for the prices and service doubt we will go back. Too many other options out there.

Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Incredible lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We enjoyed a scrumptious lunch at Cafe Verona. The bread was tasty, the entree was delicious. And the waitstaff were very friendly. It was kind of busy, so we had to ask for a couple of things but they were quick to respond. We enjoyed a great lunch.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dale J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This Has It All”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Cafe Verona has everyhing, best Italian food one can imagine, a fine atmosphere, handy on the Independence, MO Square, and excellent staff. The owners have created the perfect place to take guests, family members for Birthday celebrations, or just a great meal when you want to relax. It is always top notch, so you never have to worry about a great experience when you are taking guests out to eat. I have eaten there many times both for noon business luncheons and for family evening dinners, and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank l_slaght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Verona also viewed

 
Independence, MO
 

Been to Cafe Verona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing