We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good price, comfortable beds, but low water pressure and thin towels” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good price, comfortable beds, but low water pressure and thin towels”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

The Fairfield Inn is a comfortable place with good value, it's highway access, cleanliness and friendly staff are welcoming. Our room was comfortable, clean, and the beds and pillows were quite comfortable. We got a great night's sleep. Once morning arrived the continental breakfast was good, they offered a good spread of eggs, pastries, cereal, and fruit. The belgian waffle maker was a nice touch. What I especially liked was that on the way out, the manager asked me if I "had any suggestions for improvement?" I found that to be a nice question for a hotel manager to ask which showed attentiveness that other hotels do not seem to seek from customers.

My only complaint is that the water pressure was severely low, and the towels were near paper thin. It was not a comfortable shower, nor a comfortable way to dry yourself after. Maybe I'm being particular, but that's something that's a pet peeve of mine while traveling. If those things aren't as big of a deal for you as they are for me, this might just be a great hotel for you. But for me, I'm remaining neutral and not saying to stay away, but I'm not sure this would be my first choice the next time around.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frenzee617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us a review. I apologize for the water pressue but it is being looked into. We hope you will stay with us the next time your are in our area to enjoy our midwest hospitality, comfortable beds, and our "good spread" for breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    38
    31
    14
    8
See reviews for
47
26
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
215 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We were visiting with the wife and my sister. Needed a location that would be easy to get on interstate and local highways and this Fairfield met the bill. Is right next to a Residence Inn if you are thinking of upgrading. :) Pluses - very friendly staff, clean, well maintained, nice indoor pool, outstanding Wifi but then we were on 1st floor not far from reception area. Minuses - pricey even for a Fairfield, a bit noisy from second floor guests, no whirlpool (had one but it is permanently out of service), TV remote was an agony had to call the desk and a very helpful lady came and gave me a remote that would change channels (you must change channels via remote) however the remote would not control any other functions (not a disaster as the TV's own buttons worked ok for the sound, power).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wmralls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for your review. I agree that our location is convenient and close to just about anything you would want. We hope you stay with us when in our area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Carbon, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
298 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

I needed a hotel at the last minute, the rate was good on the travel budget, the location off of I-70 convenient, and it is a FFI. Room was clean, it is not on the highway so it was quiet. I checked in at 10pm, and out at 8am, no issues during my 10 hours here. Excatly what I look for in a stop and sleep situation.

Room Tip: There is a Residence Inn next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank JBretteD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Than you for your review. Although a brief stay, I a glad we were able to meet your travel needs. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had a large youth group of 168 people. The staff at the Fairfield Inn were wonderful and so helpful as we planned and once we arrived, everything was in order to make checking in that many people a breeze. The hotel is nice and clean and the breakfast was delicious. Elaine Rose, the GM, was especially wonderful! Great staff, great hotel! We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank groovyLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We love having the church youth groups stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in four years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I rate it poor because they seem to invite pet owners but segregate them upon arrival with lower standard rooms and special signs that indicate them as pet owners. I understand that dogs are dangerous to service staff, they are messy and incur extra costs but the lengths this hotel goes to charge extra and label those with dogs made me feel unwelcome and like my money wasn't as good. First floor room next to the restrooms, bangs at 4am from the breakfast staff setting up...the morning staff was vicious at my inquiry of the bill upon check out. I won't stay again, and I hope they just say "no pets" so I remember not to stay there in the future. $130 dollars buys me a really nice hotel somewhere else even with a pet.

Room Tip: Don't say you have a pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPTR_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
My sincere apology that you felt unwanted. We have specific rooms that are for our guests with pets. We have these rooms on the first floor for ease of taking pets outside. There is also the issue of guests who have extreme allergies to pet dander; we want to acknowledge their situation also and be sure other rooms do not house animals. Our rooms with a pet inside have the room tag so housekeeping and maintenance knows an animal may be inside. This is for the safety of our employee and the pet in the room. We would hate for a pet to get loose. Again I apologize that we did not make you feel welcomed; that is our goal for all of our guests (even the four legged ones). We hope you will try us again on your next trip through our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Independence hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We just got back from spending two nights in this hotel. We choose it because of the good reviews and it did not disappoint. Right within walking distance from a strip mall with a 20 cine, down the road from the mall and just 20 minutes from downtown Kansas City. The staff was very nice, the room was great, and the hot breakfast was wonderful (special thanks to Ken!, he did a great job taking care of the breakfast area and the biscuits and gravy was so good!) I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelikaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very excited about our new breakfast options, and agree Kenneth does take good care of our guests at breakfast! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Independence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Basically agree with some of the other reviewers on the average rating. No real negatives and would stay here again because it's a good value and close to the airport. Staff was friendly. Breakfast area a little to narrow and small for the numbers it handles. Seems like a bit older Fairfield.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Deserthusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. I am glad we met your needs and look forward to you next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Independence hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
#6 of 18 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence

Property: Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence
Address: 18700 E 37th Ter S, Independence, MO 64057-2302
Region: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Independence
Fairfield Independence
Independence Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing