We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 Miles Kaufman Stadium”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Tahoe City, California
Level Contributor
240 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“6 Miles Kaufman Stadium”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I traveled this past weekend to KC to see a Royals game and to take in some historical sights in Independence and downtown KC. This Fairfield Inn met my needs. It was a short drive to see the Royals game. This hotel is just off I-70 and an easy drive to and from Kaufman Stadium.

The room was absolutely quiet. That helped with a good night's rest. The rate is certainly attractive but do realize you've not a large room and the minimum of furnishings. But the A/C worked well and the bed was comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was very popular and attracted a large group of those in the inn. The only downside was the water pressure for the shower was barely enough to lather up and rinse off.

My next day's activities took me to the Truman Presidential Library. It took was a short drive away. If you've the time and interest, I strongly encourage a stop there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fallfan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. I apologize you had a problem with water pressure, but am glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us on your next traip to Independence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    38
    32
    16
    9
See reviews for
48
27
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here over the 4th of July weekend. Kim was absolutely amazing. (easy to remember her name-- same as my wife's) I am not sure if she takes time off. Kim was at the desk almost every time we went there. We brought our little dog so she made sure that we got a room on the first floor close to the end so it would be easy access to walk him. I appreciate the fact that she put my wife's name on the room in case she needed a key and I was not with her. Kim was always smiling and cheerful. She sent us to dinner at Zio's. We did not even know there was one in K.C. She was knowledgeable about what restaurant were open on the 4th of July.
On Saturday and Sunday... breakfast was the normal for a Fairfield Inn, but what made it great was Kenneth. He does not just put the food out. He talked to us, cleared our table and asked if we needed anything else. He really entertained my children. This is big. When you are out with kids, every minute that someone else has their attention is time that my wife and I can have an adult conversation and not talk about Sponge Bob. Thank you Kenneth. I told Kenneth I was going to write this review. I like to keep my word so here it is. I tried getting Kenneth to come work for me, but he said if he moved from Missouri, it was back to Florida.
All in all the hotel needs some renovation, but the service level from Kim and Kenneth make up for any minor items. Sorry for the look review... but I just cannot contain how well this hotel worked for me. Do not look anywhere else, stay here!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crymdogd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for the compliments on Kim and Kenneth. We are proud of our staff and it is always nice to have positive feedback from our guests.

We look forward to seeing you when you are in the Independence area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed 1 night at Fairfield Inn with our dog.
Sheena at the front desk is so friendly and helpful. It was a quick and easy check-in.
There were no more rooms on the first floor, so we were allowed to stay with our dog on another floor. Our room was near the elevator and was very clean and comfortable. Only complaint is the low water pressure in the shower and scratchy towels.
Breakfast was good with scrambled eggs and biscuits & gravy.
There were a couple of softball teams staying in the hotel and the breakfast area was very busy.
The breakfast attendant was amazing! He kept everything refilled and fresh.
Hotel is close to shopping, restaurants and I-70, but far enough off the road that you don't hear any of the traffic.
We will be back! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcfaninok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for yiour review. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. The "new" Fairfield breakfast has been very popular.

It is nice to receive compliments on employees. Sheena and Kenneth both do an exceptional job taking care of our guests.

Again, thank you for the review and we hope you choose the Independence Fairfiield Inn when you return to the Independence area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

It was clean, comfortable, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It is in a great location, near many shopping and dining opportunities. You don't expect 5 starts with Fairfield, but I have been in better ones than this. You could tell that it was not it its best shape. The breakfast was lack luster and had limited options.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank VictorM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
I appreciate you taking your time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad you had a comfortable stay, but apologize that our breakfast was not what you expected. The new Fairfield Inn breakfast has been very popular offering more protein and choices.
We thank you for staying with us and hope you stay again when in the Independence area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, MO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We just returned from a short stay at the Fairfield Inn, Independence, MO. What a nice hotel with a great staff, especially Kim at the front desk and Kenneth who took great care of us at breakfast. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to KC.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janis72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of our hotel. I especially love seeing compliments concerning our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
192 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Great location to many things that we wanted to do in the area. Major mall at the Independence Center is a quarter of a mile away. There are many good restaurants that are close by as well an AMC 20 cinema. It is very close to I-70 which leads to Truman sports complex for Kansas City Royals baseball. One of the best genealogy libraries in the United States is located about 3 miles from here it is called the midcontinent genealogy library. Right across the street from the library is the Drumm golf course. It is an excellent 27 hole course which is very reasonably priced. The Harry S Truman Museum and Library are within 5 miles. The hotel staff is very helpful and polite in suggesting restaurants and giving us directions. The hotel is clean and the bed is very comfortable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WYPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. We appreciate you and are glad you enjoyed our hotel and the Independence area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel itself was decent - it didn't quite live up to the Marriott name, but all in all, it was sufficient. They had a small indoor pool, which we didn't use, but it did look clean. There was free wifi, and it seemed to work pretty well. The free hot breakfast was not quite as described....there was sausage and powdered eggs, but no waffles, and it wasn't very good. Also, the breakfast ends at 0900, which I think is too early. The beds were comfortable, the rooms clean, and the location good. You have several restaurants, both fast food and sit down all within walking distance. You are also right next to a shopping center (Kohls, Ross, etc.) and a movie theater. All in all, it was a decent hotel, but they really do need to work on their breakfast. The staff were all very friendly, but I would probably choose to stay at the La Quinta near by next time, for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MustangMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We do appreciate your input. Marriott has taken the waffles off the menu for Fairfield Inns. We offer them occassionally but not on an everyday basis.

We hope you choose to stay with us again when you visit our area.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Independence hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
3.0 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
#6 of 18 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence

Property: Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence
Address: 18700 E 37th Ter S, Independence, MO 64057-2302
Region: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business and leisure guests know that Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence is the premier choice of Independence, MO hotels. We’re conveniently located just off I-70 and 291 near many businesses and attractions. Corporate guests stay minutes from Lafarge North America, Ford, Unilever, ATK, GE Transportation and Fike. We're adjacent to Independence Center Mall and close to Independence Event Center, the Harry S. Truman Museum, and the famous Harrah's Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairfield Inn Kansas City Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Independence
Fairfield Independence
Independence Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing