We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very kind staff, rooms not attractive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Karangsari Guest House
Ranked #9 of 28 Munduk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The staff is very friendly. That's the best part of this place. The rooms are not nice: white tiles in an unattractive building close to the road, what makes it quite noisy beacause of the traffic. The breakfast is really very poor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankw597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

The location is good, but considering that the area is very small that's not saying much.
The property is very pretty, however the room I had was disappointing. My room was way down back behind the main building. There was only one small window and no circulation whatsoever.
While the room itself was clean, the bathroom seemed as if it hasn't been finished and was quite dirty.
The food was decent at the restaurant however a little more expensive than elsewhere in Bali.
The staff spoke a little English, but not much. The map I was given to the waterfalls and rice paddies was very hard to understand and we found later that there was a MUCH easier way to get there.
Wifi was only available up by the restaurant (I'm sure the rooms up there were able to access).
Overall it wasn't anything impressive and compared to other places in Bali it was just too much money for what they were offering.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaleyS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Karangsari for two nights and were absolutely charmed. We had a lovely upstairs room with a cute balcony which was perfect for watching lightening storms and beautiful sunsets. The room was immaculate and really beautiful with a four poster bed that was exceptionally comfortable. Munduk is very small so obviously the location is perfect and near to everything.

The staff were very welcoming and helpful! We asked Kuri for directions to the Bayan hot springs and he spent half an hour drawing a detailed map for us (I do not recommend driving independently to them despite our trusty map as it was very difficult even though Kuri had written on it in Balinese: "please help us find the intersection for the hot springs" which was very smart!). Also, every time it rained there were umbrelas placed outside our door which was very thoughtful. We could not have asked for better service!

Although breakfast could not be served in a better location with an exceptional view, we were very disappointed with just having toast. We inquired about whether we could buy additional items like eggs but this was lost in translation. A big recommendation would be to offer your guests the option of purchasing more for breakfast for those with bigger appetites. Our days were disorganized because we had to eat lunch shortly after breakfast. To be fair though, they did offer us two servings of toast.

Overall this place is a peaceful, beautiful, mountain retreat and is a wonderful place to visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NikiandJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I travelled all over Bali for a month. I went to munduk for the trecking. Munduk is a remote small village. A single row of poor shops on a steep bluff between two deep gorges. To walk on either direction involves a very steep descent of perhaps 1,000 feet ! Every step down, means a step up later.
There are 2 issues. 1 is the noise. It is the noisiest place on the planet. Every child from the age of about 6 has a motorbike to get to school, and there are thousands of them. They go to school at about 6 am, and return any time after 11 am. Everywhere you walk, however remote, you are never more than 15 seconds from a motorbike. The noise is everywhere. 2. The Lorries and 4x4s. These also drive throughout the remote plantations. You are forever having to get out of their way. I wanted peace and tranquillity. To walk anywhere involves steep climbs up and down the deep gorges. The waterfall is hard to find but is worth it.
The hotel is perfect. The rooms beautifully appointed. The view across the valley spectacular. The staff want to do anything they can to help. Breakfast on the garden pavilion is perfect. I stayed 5 days and had dinner there twice. Both meals were excellent. The owner and his student son speak some English.
As I say perfect hotel, but there must be more interesting places than munduk. Compared with ubud, it is a non starter.
Too steep and not peaceful enough.

Room Tip: There are presently 6 rooms. 3 on top of 3. They are all perfect, but the top floor rooms have a be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jeffrey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Our two night stay in a second floor room was awesome. Amazing sunsets, lovely staff (especially Kuri) and very decent meals.
We were even surprised by a pineapple pancake with a candle for my partners birthday.
Would def. recommend if interested in Munduk.
Our only critisism was the family staying at the apartment with a crying child that screamed all night.
Tips:
Watch the dogs on the waterfall walk, and walk inside the roots of the Bunyan Tree - it's a must.
Take a jumper - its much colder in the mountains.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikkideee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012 via mobile

We were amazed how they can keep the cleanses of the room, it's basic with no even amenities but they do also provide towel. We just came appear with a backpack and raincoat after moto'ed from kuta. It was a very bad rain but when we come there,they were so warm and nice, they owner will also give you a map for surrounding and a lot of information. They really care of you! They only thing we dislike is there are too many of insects, overall is good! They should improve their breakfast as well, it was only toast and butter jam. It is highly recommended :)
The restaurant was okay but expensive, double price from normal! You can try Nasi campur at local restaurant close with karangsari sari, this restaurant also have Nasi goreng and the delicious ayam goring with local price

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nirarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Best place that I have stayed in Bali, this little gem at the heart of Munduk will give you an unforgettable experience. The room are huge and nicely decorated with an amazing view on the valley with its rice terasses. The restaurant is also outstanding, the breakfast was delicious with its homemade strawberry marmalade.. We had also diner their, I would recommend you to try the Nasy goreng beef or the tuna in sweet and spicy tomato sauce. Definitively the best pick in Munduk, it's sure that you will come back one day!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gecko022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munduk
0.3 mi away
Aditya Homestay
Aditya Homestay
#1 of 28 in Munduk
378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Puri Alam Bali Bungalows
1.8 mi away
Atres Villa Homestay
Atres Villa Homestay
#4 of 28 in Munduk
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Munduk Moding Plantation
0.6 mi away
Puri Lumbung Cottages
Puri Lumbung Cottages
#2 of 22 in Munduk
615 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Dua Bintang
Villa Dua Bintang
#1 of 22 in Munduk
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karangsari Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karangsari Guest House

Address: Jalan Kayu Putih | Banjar County, Munduk 80612, Indonesia (Formerly Karangsari Homestay)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Munduk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Munduk
Price Range: £11 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Karangsari Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house is located at the west end of the small village of Munduk with scenic views over the hillsides, covered with rice fields, fruit trees and jungle. From Munduk, you can start many hikes and treks, from short walks to waterfalls up to long treks to lakes or the biggest Banyan Tree in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Karangsari Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karangsari Guest House Munduk, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing