We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cottages, fantastic view!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melanting Cottages & Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 26 Munduk B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottages, fantastic view!!!”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

A lovely place, we will definitely be back! We stayed two nights at Melanting Cottages Munduk and we loved it from the first moment. The cottages are set in wonderful surroundings, we loved to have an afternoon coffee on our balcony and to have a look over the valley. The kids loved the short trip to the waterfall which is about 15 minutes from the cottages. The whole place is spotless clean and the staff are lovely! Thank you very much, we are looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mavejuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melanting c, Manager at Melanting Cottages & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2016
thank you very much for staying with us
and forgive us if there is no pleasure during your stay with us
I hope you will come back again
regards
Putu kusmawan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    59
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
28
54
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sydney australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I really enjoyed our two nights in these simple cute cottages. They are in an excellent location with a beautiful waterfall only an easy 10 minute stroll. The food although not outstanding was fine. The fresh strawberry juice was delicious. The whole place s immaculate. The first night was really cold. We had 2 blankets and I still ended up putting on a jumper 1/2 way through the night. Would love to return to Munduk and further explore.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saltydog42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melanting c, Manager at Melanting Cottages & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2016
thank you very much for staying with us
and forgive us if there is no pleasure during your stay with us
I hope you will come back again
regards
Putu kusmawan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

After being over-heated in Tuban, we moved on to the Melanting Cottages in the mountains of Munduk where it was much cooler and it did rain some. They picked us up on time in Tuban and on the way to the hotel we were able to stop to see the Ulun Danu Temple / Bratan (which was one of the temples on our must-visit list).
The wooden cottages are quite large, plenty of room to spread out your suitcases. The bath was also spacious with an indoor sink and large counter plus a shower and toilet room open to a private outdoor garden surrounded by a stone wall. There was plenty of hot water. We saw very few insects, which was a plus.
It was not in close walking distance to town, but they set up transportation for us when ever it was needed. Their restaurant is very good for all meals. The staff was terrific and meet all of our needs. We were even given a discount on the price of our cottage because it was the low season which made it very affordable.
We wanted to hike around Lamblingan Lake, so they set up our transportation with a great driver that waited for us. You will need hiking shoes if you want to experience this. We really enjoyed the dugout canoe ride at the end. We also visited the Bhuddist temple and the hot springs for another day trip. If you want to get off the tourist path and cool down in the mountains, I would highly recommend this hotel but be sure and bring some long warmer clothes during the cooler rainy season.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melanting c, Manager at Melanting Cottages & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2016
thank you very much for staying with us
and forgive us if there is no pleasure during your stay with us
I hope you will come back again
regards
Putu kusmawan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Some of our friends thought we were mad travelling to Bali with our daughters and not having all of our accommodation organised before we left, especially given we travelled during the Australian School holidays. Happily, having a few 'free' nights led us to staying in Munduk at Melanting.

I don't think it would matter where you stayed in Munduk... the scenery is spectacular and the people are lovely... if you enjoy getting 'off the beaten track', you will love Munduk. It didn't take long for us to understand the travel guides suggestion that many travellers 'come for a day and stay for a week'. We could easily have done the same.

After settling in and enjoying a drink on the balcony taking in the view, we headed to reception for directions to the waterfall. There are myriad paths criss crossing the moutainside, but the first waterfall was easy to find, and the walk easy enough for our girls (aged 6 and 8). Friendly locals have a small shop selling drinks, snacks and spices near the waterfall and we were lucky enough to pass as they played the gangsa. The waterfall was suitably impressive, but it was the size, variety and frequency of the beautiful butterflies and dragonflies that captured the girls hearts.

We walked to the second waterfall the next day, where we had a few stumbles, saw many more beautiful insects, discovered tiny temples hiding behind lush leaves, met many smiling, laughing and welcoming families, marvelled at the beauty of the place, were refreshed by the spray of the waterfall, and finally, got lost. Well... not exactly lost as we could hear the motobikes on the main rd and knew we were heading in the right direction. When we eventually made it to the main rd, a couple of locals offered to take us back up the hill to Melanting on their motorbikes - an offer the girls were most enthusiastic to accept!

The family room at Melanting is fantastic and the staff are lovely. The food was OK, but they are currently building a new restaurant (just below the family room, with similarly spectacular views) so hopefully the food improves as the view does for the restaurant.

We highly recommend a visit to Munduk and to Melanting. If you ware wishing to contact them, try the email address(melantingcottages@yahoo.co.id) directly rather than the automatic contact form on their website. I sent an message via the contact form which they never received (luckily for us as we then received a discount when we arrived without a booking!).

Room Tip: The family room is the newest room (6 months old) and has fantastic mattresses, 2 bedrooms ( with 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mouse1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melanting c, Manager at Melanting Cottages & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2016
thank you very much for staying with us
and forgive us if there is no pleasure during your stay with us
I hope you will come back again
regards
Putu kusmawan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

In most towns and villages in Bali, sidewalks and footpaths are poor at best and typically nonexistent. Munduk itself is no exception -- the village sprawls along the main highway, and walking from one place to another means sharing the highway with trucks, cars, and swarms of motorbikes. Melanting Cottages, however, provide a magical escape from the traffic that plagues most of Bali.

Melanting is set back from the highway with a spectacular view all the way down the mountain to Lovina Beach. More importantly, it is the starting point for three excellent walks:

- From the hotel restaurant, a level path leads along an irrigation canal to an amazing waterfall, wandering through a shady forest of clove trees, bananas, other crops and wild plants. Keep going, and descend a very long set of stairs, and you find another waterfall, bigger than the first, and far from the few tourists who find their way to Munduk. We went in high season and were alone along the entire trail to the lower falls.

- Cross the street from the hotel and wander out into miles of rice terraces, farmland, plantations, and wild forest. Outside Ubud, the rice terraces are lined with hawkers' shops and queues of smoke-belching buses. Here, it's just you and the farmers. While we wandered aimlessly along trails and water canals, we were invited for fresh roasted coffee and casava by a coffee-growing family. Children occassional rushed over to practice their English.

- Continue downhill along the canal from Melanting and you reach Puri Lumbung, perhaps the best accommodations in Munduk, though more expensive than Melanting and often full in the high season. Puri Lumbung offers excellent classes and facilities, all of which are open to non-guests. Get a massage and try their cooking class, which is done in an outdoor kitchen by local villagers, just for you.

The cottages at Melanting are simple but charming, made entirely out of hand-carved hardwoods. They're up on stilts due to the slope. Most have no glass windows -- just carved wooden shutters. There are outdoor showers and great view balconies in each. The beds have wooden canopies and mosquito netting. Bizarrely for Bali, it can get cold at night.

The restaurant is simple but good. Their coffee is excellent.

The hotel provides maps for these hikes, but the maps are vague at best. If you don't have a good sense of direction and adventure, hire a local guide. We wandered off on our own and enjoyed getting lost, seeking help from villagers as necessary to find our way back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sfurbanist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melanting c, Manager at Melanting Cottages & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2016
thank you very much for staying with us
and forgive us if there is no pleasure during your stay with us
I hope you will come back again
regards
Putu kusmawan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotterdam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed in the family house, it was clean, had two rooms and a nice balkony, the staff is great are very helpfull.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joshua12rotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melanting c, Manager at Melanting Cottages & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2016
thank you very much for staying with us
and forgive us if there is no pleasure during your stay with us
I hope you will come back again
regards
Putu kusmawan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munduk hotels
0.8 mi away
Aditya Homestay
Aditya Homestay
#1 of 26 in Munduk
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Puri Lumbung Cottages
Puri Lumbung Cottages
#2 of 22 in Munduk
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Dua Bintang
Villa Dua Bintang
#1 of 22 in Munduk
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Atres Villa Homestay
Atres Villa Homestay
#4 of 26 in Munduk
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Puri Alam Bali Bungalows
1.6 mi away
Bali Rahayu Homestay
Bali Rahayu Homestay
#3 of 22 in Munduk
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melanting Cottages & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melanting Cottages & Restaurant

Property: Melanting Cottages & Restaurant
Address: Desa Munduk, Munduk, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Munduk
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Munduk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Melanting Cottages & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Melanting Cottages & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melanting Cottages & Restaurant Munduk, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing