We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay and wonderful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melanting Cottages & Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 28 Munduk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Melanting Cottages was a wonderful place to stay. The cottages were nice and very clean. The grounds were very well kept and beautiful. The staff were friendly and very helpful. I enjoyed a guided hike organized by the staff. The waterfalls, rice fields, village, plantations - wow, it was a fantastic experience. The food at the restaurant was excellent and the Kolak Piseng dessert superb - I wish I could eat some now. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melanting c, Manager at Melanting Cottages & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

thank you very much for staying with us
and forgive us if there is no pleasure during your stay with us
I hope you will come back again
regards
Putu kusmawan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had a fantastic stay here. It was beautifully quiet. The rooms were fantastic. Set up high, we had a lovely view and you felt separated from everyone. the climate was wonderful-mild in the day and really cool in the night. We had a young child with us and they made every effort to provide a cot and help us with anything we needed. It was fantastic for the price. Lovely staff.
We would come back!

Room Tip: The rooms up the top are closest to reception and best if you're not good on your feet or have y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melanting c, Manager at Melanting Cottages & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

thank you very much for staying with us
and forgive us if there is no pleasure during your stay with us
I hope you will come back again
regards
Putu kusmawan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Finally, we got away from the busy Ubud. Up in the mountain this was a beautiful place to relax. The stag is very friendly an they are happy to comply with any requests. One side note, munduk does not have very much to offer so if you are searching for activities it might become boring. Everything else is great.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Joost1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melanting c, Manager at Melanting Cottages & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

thank you very much for staying with us
and forgive us if there is no pleasure during your stay with us
I hope you will come back again
regards
Putu kusmawan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

the hotel was fantastic, the atmosphere is comfortable to rest and enjoy nature and the freshness of the air, I see innovation in this hotel then in trying to do by the hotel, from the rooms, the garden, and also the food, the better, I am very satisfied to stay here, staff who are friendly and also smiling, and help ..... food every morning in the dining maknan serve traditional, the result of a truly fantastic stempat area, from hotels that I've stayed in the area Munduk, toss is always a change that makes me not saturated. waterfall that is close, but the road to the waterfall is less well preserved. quite dangerous, especially a variety of foods that I have special meals are presented by staff that he will be selling the future .... really fantastic...

Room Tip: room 8 nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhonvandick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melanting c, Manager at Melanting Cottages & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

thank you very much for staying with us
and forgive us if there is no pleasure during your stay with us
I hope you will come back again
regards
Putu kusmawan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

There is about 15 wooden cottages in this place, each with wonderfull view from the terrace. The price for a cottage is realy adequate. Around is a wonderfull garden, each cottage has good privacy. The food was good, but not special and litle overpriced. It is a good idea to go down to the village to have a meal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petr83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melanting c, Manager at Melanting Cottages & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

thank you very much for staying with us
and forgive us if there is no pleasure during your stay with us
I hope you will come back again
regards
Putu kusmawan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Melanting cottages is at the higher end of Munduk, so if you decided to walk to the village as we did it is all up very steep hills on the way backup. This is OK if you are young and fit, however I was travelling with elderly parents. The staff had mentioned the village is about a 10 minute walk down the main road but it was more like 45 mins for us as it was very steep and we had to walk carefully.
Like us there is now way back as there is no taxi’s. We were lucky that a driver coming from Singaraja decided to stop and see if we needed a lift...What a godsend as I think it would have taken us a day and a half to get back up the hill.

The cottages are lovely for a weekend away or a couple of days as there is not much else apart from walking tracks. We did a day trip to Lovina and Singaraja which was about an hour and a half away and you also have the lake at Bedugal which is about 30 minutes away.

The views and mist are beautiful from the cottage veranda’s, and if you are lucky you will get to see the sunset which last about 6 minutes, so be quick with the camera.
It does become cooler at night time about 15 deg, so I asked for an extra blanket which the staff were happy to provide.

There are tea and coffee making facilities but there is not fridge in the cottages. The staff kindly offered to have our items put in the restraint fridge.
The wifi is very poor but is to be expected so high in the mountains, Bali is not known for the best internet services anyway. I did however manage to use 3G sometimes.

I would say it would normally be a very peaceful and relaxing place however we were there in June and there was some construction going on in the cabins below. As we sat on our veranda’s enjoying the view a planer or electric saw was being used in the cabins below which was a bit disappointing as it went for most of the daylight hours. If this was not happening it would be very tranquil.

There are some walks to a waterfall close by however I would not recommend this for elderly as it is quite slippery and pathways are uneven. Also you need to be careful of the tiling under the cottages as with the mist and evening rain can become quite slippery. My mother slipped over one morning on the way back from breakfast. I would also recommend the cottage nearer the restaurant for elderly as it is quite steep and hilly to some of the cottages.

Overall I would recommend Melanting cottages for a relaxing stay

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the restaurant for elderly. Be careful of the tiles under cottages when wet. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klynn68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melanting c, Manager at Melanting Cottages & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

thank you very much for staying with us
and forgive us if there is no pleasure during your stay with us
I hope you will come back again
regards
Putu kusmawan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

The cottage we stayed in (no 8) had a verandah with great views over the lowlands to the ocean. Beautiful gardens and the cottages are well spaced. A bit of construction / renovations was happening when we were there (mid June 2013) but otherwise everything was great. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Food wise, there's cheaper, tastier and more generous meals in Munduk than at this place and it's well worth a trip out for dinner especially if you have a scooter.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonckher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melanting c, Manager at Melanting Cottages & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

thank you very much for staying with us
and forgive us if there is no pleasure during your stay with us
I hope you will come back again
regards
Putu kusmawan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munduk hotels
0.4 mi away
Puri Lumbung Cottages
Puri Lumbung Cottages
#2 of 24 in Munduk
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Dua Bintang
Villa Dua Bintang
#1 of 24 in Munduk
193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aditya Homestay
Aditya Homestay
#1 of 28 in Munduk
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Puri Alam Bali Bungalows
1.3 mi away
Lesong Hotel and Restaurant
2.7 mi away
Atres Villa Homestay
Atres Villa Homestay
#4 of 28 in Munduk
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melanting Cottages & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melanting Cottages & Restaurant

Address: Desa Munduk, Munduk, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Munduk
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Munduk
Price Range: £18 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Melanting Cottages & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Melanting Cottages & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melanting Cottages & Restaurant Munduk, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing