We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot with stunning service & views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manah Liang Bungalow
Ranked #24 of 26 Munduk B&B and Inns
Paarl, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely spot with stunning service & views”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We required a place where we (a couple) could stay with our adult friend which would afford us all privacy, and this was not that easy to find. However, Manah Liang delivered. The service prior and during our stay was very good. Dinner and lunch served at the restaurant was also very tasty and freshly prepared. Good breakfast too; the fresh juice was amazing! Wi-Fi reception was not always 100%. Transport to airport and Sanur arranged through ML; it worked very well. Was great to have a kettle, tea cups as well as a fully stocked fridge in our room; this was replenished swiftly as and when required. Bathroom spacious, though it and the bungalow in general are a bit dated. No fan in the room where my husband and I stayed and this might be an issue in Summer, but it was no problem for us this time of the year (no windows that can open). The balcony at the other bedroom with the 2 single (big) beds was fantastic; stunning views of the rice paddies and the waterfall in the distance. We loved that we could walk down the hill into the village and the walk back uphill was a bit of an effort, but good (and necessary) exercise! I recommend this place for your stay in Munduk. See my room tips.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 8B (if I recall correctly). Perfect for a couple with children or a couple and ano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrietWesternCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    27
    18
    7
    9
See reviews for
19
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This location is a series of detached bungalows with balconies which give views down a forested valley. It has unusually noisy wildlife.

Reception is a bit of a climb from the car park, but don't worry, willing hands carry your cases. Don't be put off by descriptions of these bungalows being on stilts, they're not really. They are absolutely solid and don't sway when you move around; i.e. not Borneo rainforest!

The bungalows are set in nicely presented and well-maintained gardens. Our balcony (No. 4) was beautifully private. There is no TV and electricity supply is minimal. There's just enough to recharge a phone and plug in an anti-mossie thingy. The four-poster bed was really comfortable and the mosquito net worked fine. The hotel also provided a candle which we assumed was another anti-mossie thingy and so we lit that. It was replaced the next day.

The shower is private but open to the elements and covered over by netting. There is both hot and cold water but be warned, everything is pumped and when you get a power cut all the water stops. Power cuts are part of life up here.

There are three main activities for this peaceful mountain location other than sitting looking at the view and drinking Bintang. A guided walk to two waterfalls, a temple-on-a-lake trip taking in a market and a Balinese cooking experience.

We did all three and the one that wasn't worth it was the temple trip. But it was raining that day and perhaps we might have had a different view in sunshine!

On the other two, we lucked in and met a couple of guys who are plugged in to Munduk. . Sure, you can do the waterfall trip on your own, it's all well-trodden, but you don't get the benefit of having the flora and fauna pointed out as you do with the guide, who also organised our cooking experience for us - one of the gems of this little break. You get to cook in an authentic Balinese kitchen, are carefully watched so you don't ruin anything and then get a candlelit dinner with what you've just cooked. You're even transported on the back of a moped. Great!

Not too many roads in Bali and the bungalows are directly on a main road. It can get a tad noisy but if you're able to shut it out, it's a lovely place.

The restaurant breakfast was OK, but nothing to shout home about. We ate an evening meal there and it too, was average. Frankly, I would have taken the Balinese cookery evening twice! They're on fb - search ArideMadia and you can pre-organise.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benhuczek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night at the Bungalows on our first trip to Munduk. It was so peaceful and serene (apart from the ever present moped sounds). We stayed in Bungalow 4 which has a magnificent view from its little verandah. We had lunch and dinner and breakfast at the restaurant - the food was great. Our favourite was the Timbungen Be Siap soup - just delicious. The accommodation was clean and unique with a split level bungalow. Just a heads up - there are none of the usual toiletries or hair dryers (not a problem for us as we always carry our own). Also bring insect repellent - you are surrounded by vegetation. We walked to a nearby waterfall in the morning - only a 20 minute walk following a track along the stream, then walked back along the road. It was easy to find by ourselves. We also walked into the tiny village - easy walk down (15mins), a bit more sweat-inducing coming back. For the price of the accommodation it's good value.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mish767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Yes, stunning views and location, About 1 km walk from central Munduk, which is a very small village. The 1st bungalow we were given was very dark and surrounded by a moat, not very appealing. They happily changed our bungalow to something much brighter and better. Really good for nature lovers. We struggled with the amount of insects in the bungalow. Good little restaurant, great staff. The map given to us by the hotel for the waterfalls hike was not very good and we got lost in the forest. Amazing waterfalls in area. Quite good accommodation for the area.

Room Tip: Beware bungalow 9, very Games of Throne like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Well after browsing for hours on the available options in Munduk, our choice got settle on this place.

The bungalow are a little old but the view is just stunning and for the asked price (400 000 tax included per night with bkfast) this is more that satisfying :)

The manager was just so sweet, the restaurant is a good value, the staff there reminded me of the kindness and shyness that you can find in Flores or other remote indonesian Islands, it is good not to feel like a bag of dollars walking around.

They were really helpful to arrange a driver and provide good advice for organizing a walk around, even provided a plan of the valley.

I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheoSalvador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

on the way for our trip to lovina,me with my friends sebastien & floriane,we stop at manah liang bungalows at munduk,to get meal,the staff is welcome,and we go to the restaurant manah liang bugalows,is nice food and nice place to get coffee break to in here.before the meal coming ,one of staff coming and escort us to see the room and the facilities in this area,nice place for rilexs,trekking and he say have cooking class in this bungalows.

Room Tip: before to check in try see the room or bungalows first inside and the facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank komangrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This accommodation ticked all the boxes for us ... We really enjoyed the view from our balcony in the family bungalow with views to the waterfalls in one direction & the coast to Java in the other!
The staff were very helpful & courteous & every meal served to us in the restaurant was above average.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weedsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munduk hotels
0.3 mi away
Melanting Cottages & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Puri Alam Bali Bungalows
2.5 mi away
Atres Villa Homestay
Atres Villa Homestay
#4 of 26 in Munduk
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Puri Lumbung Cottages
Puri Lumbung Cottages
#2 of 22 in Munduk
594 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dangin Mangkalan Homestay
0.5 mi away
Aditya Homestay
Aditya Homestay
#1 of 26 in Munduk
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manah Liang Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manah Liang Bungalow

Property: Manah Liang Bungalow
Address: Munduk Village | on a curve in the road, opposite a village food store, Munduk 81152, Indonesia (Formerly Lumbung Bali Cottages)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Munduk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Munduk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Manah Liang Bungalow 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Manah Liang Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manah Liang Bungalow Munduk, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing