We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small and simple homestay with a warm owner !”
Review of One Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
One Homestay
Ranked #10 of 28 Munduk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Simple homestay located at 5mn walk from the village. The owner welcomes you with his heart opened and makes everything he can to make your stay a pleasant one. Possibility to have a plan for a free walk of one hour and a half in the ricefield without meeting any one but local people. His breakfast is the most delicious and original among those we experienced during our 2 weeks stay in Bali.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tranberissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

Fantastic location and a fantastic price! The owner is a font of knowledge regarding the area and recommended walking routes and things to see. He also arranged on request a pick up from the airport and travel to our next destination. Rooms are basic but have clean comfy beds and plenty of hot running water and western toilets. Views from the outside seating area was just stunning and sitting out there early morning and sunset was a highlight. Breakfasts were home cooked every day and were delicious!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_blue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed here for two nights only,regret! Should stay longer,munduk is a very small mountain village,its view is marvellous,the people here friendly,of course the owner of One Home stay is great too,Kadek is a honest, sincere ,friendly Balinese, his way to do business is not very profit-oriented,so you can enjoy very good price for room,also the price for lunch and dinner is very local(for guests only).that time i stayed(9 June -11 June) at upper floor ,room has very good view,and suitable for couple or solo traveller,the lower floor room slightly bigger and suitable for bigger group(around 4 I think,can ask the owner),if you want to rent a car with a driver,Kadek is willing to help,he will ask his friend to help,and again very reasonable price!i love to chat with him,he told me many things about himself, his homestay, Munduk...he pointed out that there's a bad comment on his homestay,he explained that time he was not there 'cos something urgent to do in Java,he asked someone who cant conversed well in English to take care of his homestay...hmm,communicative problem...for me communication is important,so ask first before leave bad comment.another thing is important too,One homestay is a very simple and basic homestay( no fan no air cond.actually you dont need them in Munduk,but do offer hot shower)everyone stays here should knew it before booking.and there is no wifi here,you can go to the internet cafe nearby(though that time i stayed it was closed),actually if you have local sim card,just buy a package,i did buy one (simpati card), for browsing and receiving emails ,no problem at all ,even in this rural mountain village,amazing!will come again for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stayed at one homestay for 2 nights, whised it could have been more.

Positive points: most beautiful view in whole of Munduk. Clean bathroom. Good food (17.000-25.000 rph). Cheap room price (100.000 rph low season pre-booked). Very sweet, honorable, honest owner, Kadek. Gives you the real Balinese hospitality experience compared to most Bali hotels/guesthouses/homestays In tourtisty areas. You can go trekking with his brother for 35.000 rph/hour. We choosed to trek by ourselves threw the rice paddies and to the waterfalls. Kadek has drawn a map of the most of the trekking paths around Munduk, perfect!

Negative points: none

A lot of people came by to ask for a room, but the homestay was full most of the time as there are only a few rooms, so better you book in advance. Note that this is a very cheap accomodation so don't expected luxury here. But if you want a really nice homestay, please book!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelmer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed there for two nights and took great trekking betwen rice filds - heavy recomend! The rooms are basic bud clean! Owner is THE MAN and great cook! For this price you could't get more!
Thay also organizied transport for us fom Munduk to Pandangbay for great price!

Darka

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeDeeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed at One Homestay in the top floor room in February 2013 for 3 days.

The Good:
The Million Dollar View (Unreal)
The Breakfast (Homemade, local favorites)
The Price (Cheapest we had in Bali)
The Owner (Komang is a Legend. His hand drawn maps and knowledge of the area are golden)

The Bad:
Nothing. Some may think the room's a bit on the shabby side, and it's got a bucket flush toilet - but as Komang explained to us - "Do you really sleep better in a more expensive bed with expensive things around you?" Nope.

The Ugly:
Nothing. This place is perfect for those on a budget, or those who want a slice of real Balinese life.

View: http://wehadabadidea.tumblr.com/post/44071978398/finally-after-3-short-taxi-rides-and-2-long-bus

Breakfast: http://wehadabadidea.tumblr.com/post/44162132269/the-breakfast-at-one-homestay-is-fit-for-a

Komang's Walking Routes: http://wehadabadidea.tumblr.com/post/44161984647/after-following-one-homestays-hand-drawn-map-we

Room Tip: Top Room has Hot Water and the Million Dollar View. Bottom Room is cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABadIdea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

If you want to experience mountain village life in Bali, this is the place. Very good rates. We felt so welcome by Kadek and his family, including his brother and family and his father who would love to speak more English to have a chat. We were not looking for a 5 star hotel, but to experience the culture of the people in Bali and we were not disappointed. We also went on the rice fields and waterfall trek which was great and had the cooking experience. We ate both at One Homestay and also at another local restaurant. Neither disappointed the taste buds. Thanks, we will return.

Room Tip: Both top and bottom rooms have balconies with views over mountains. Bottom room appeared to attract...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scharryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munduk hotels
0 mi away
Aditya Homestay
Aditya Homestay
#1 of 28 in Munduk
390 reviews
2 mi away
Atres Villa Homestay
Atres Villa Homestay
#4 of 28 in Munduk
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyang Lala
Hyang Lala
#12 of 28 in Munduk
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Geriya Siena Guesthouse
Geriya Siena Guesthouse
#6 of 28 in Munduk
30 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karangsari Guest House
Karangsari Guest House
#9 of 28 in Munduk
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Puri Lumbung Cottages
Puri Lumbung Cottages
#2 of 24 in Munduk
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Homestay

Address: Selawu Street, Munduk 81152, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Munduk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Munduk
Price Range: £7 - £8 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your One Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One Homestay Munduk, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing