We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great clean friendly little place”
Review of One Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
One Homestay
Ranked #9 of 26 Munduk B&B and Inns
Antwerp
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great clean friendly little place”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

A small, friendly and utterly CLEAN little place with very nice views on the munduk hills. Very simple but it's got everything you need. One of the best showers we had all through Bali, clean bathroom and room, good food on the little terrace with again that superb view. Kadek and co are very friendly and helpfull. Really cheap too, book directly through the phone with Kadek.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fairyfeebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    30
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
68
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Try the star fruit leaf soup!

We liked the rest of the food and drinks too, fresh fruit and iced bali coffee - but the star fruit leaf soup was spectacular!

Otherwise we enjoyed the nice view over the valley from the restaurants terrace and apperantly it's a good place to view rainbows over the valley when it's partly cloudy, rainy and the gods are smiling upon you.

Friendly staff, can't say anything first about the rooms as we visited the restaurant only, but the guests we met were happy with their rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay_1384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

One Homestay is located in the centre of Munduk and looks out over terraces. The owner has experience and can give great tips on trekking routes, together with a map and the offer of a guide service. I travelled to Munduk on my own and found that he always made time to chat with me and offer insights into the local culture and history. The accommodation is basic compared to the south of Bali - however, I was in one of the cheaper rooms and had my own shower (with hot water) plus a mosquito net over the bed, so compared to my expectations it really wasn't all that basic! The restaurant is also fantastic value and the owner's aunt prepares a local breakfast every morning. I'd certainly recommend One Homestay for anyone who wishes to have a handy trekking base and who is travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkie_talkie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

One Homestay offers two rooms, on separate floors, both with their own balcony seating areas offering breathtaking views of the mountains and rice fields surrounding Munduk. The rooms are basic, but have reliable hot water and comfortable beds. The owner, Kadek, is fantastic -- he is always available to serve his guests, and provides a treasure trove of information about the Munduk area and Balinese culture. He is also an excellent cook -- I would recommend that you give his dinner a try.

At around $15 a night, it was an unbelievable bargain.

My wife and I spent two nights at one Homestay, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Kadek is a gracious host, full of interesting stories about the history of Munduk and its people. He mapped out some great treks through the surrounding countryside for us (including rice fields and waterfalls). He also offers guide services (which I wish we had taken, since the trails proved much more confusing than we had expected). Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The top floor has a slightly better view, but the lower floor has a nicer balcony seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelofte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had a really great stay here. It's simple accommodation but very good value for money. Kadek is a lovely host, very welcoming and helpful. He arranged for us to go trekking with his brother which was a wonderful experience. The Balinese cakes for breakfast were very yummy!
Would thoroughly recommend, thanks to Kadek for a great stay in Munduk :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Simple and clean room that has a spacious balcony with fantastic view. Homestay also serves traditional balinese breakfast that's yummy and authentic. Owner, Kadek, is friendly and always ready for a chat, show you nice hiking trails that leads you through rice fields, coffee plantations and waterfalls or recommend you nice places for a meal. Munduk is a small, simple and quiet village - a good place to get away from all the noise of the tourist spots down south.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pak_sowme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here one night while travelling around Bali, wish we could of stayed longer!
Kadeck was very welcoming and one of the nicest people we met on our travels.
We spent our time in Munduk going on a hike to the waterfall with one of Kadeks maps! The waterfall was beautiful! We also went for a walk to the rice paddies!
Munduk is a beautiful quiet mountain village which is still relatively quiet in terms of tourists.
The homestay was small (only 2 guest rooms) but really clean and had hot showers! It gets quite windy on an evening so there really isn't any need for air conditioning (there isn't any)
Kadek also cooks some amazing food (and very cheap too!)

An amazing experience!

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms, both with great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01flora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munduk hotels
0.0 mi away
Aditya Homestay
Aditya Homestay
#1 of 26 in Munduk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atres Villa Homestay
Atres Villa Homestay
#4 of 26 in Munduk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Puri Lumbung Cottages
Puri Lumbung Cottages
#2 of 22 in Munduk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Karangsari Guest House
Karangsari Guest House
#10 of 26 in Munduk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maliana Homestay
Maliana Homestay
#4 of 22 in Munduk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edy Homestay
Edy Homestay
#5 of 22 in Munduk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Homestay

Property: One Homestay
Address: Selawu Street, Munduk 81152, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Munduk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Munduk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your One Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One Homestay Munduk, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing