We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant overnight stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Puri Sunny Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Puri Sunny Hotel
Ranked #13 of 26 Munduk B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A very pleasant overnight stop”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

A very nice place for an overnight or two stay. Excellent food. Great rooms and beds. Magnificent views from your room and in the other direction from the restaurant. Very friendly staff. Nice nearby walks to the waterfalls. I readily recommend for a short stay. But you would want to think about what you planned to do before staying in Munduk for any longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveller234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    24
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
25
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Just one thing that need to be added, is coffee and tea maker. Food at the restaurant is good, fair price and taste good also. Recommended for relaxing.

Plenty of hot water with amenities such as soap and shampoo also toilet paper. The breakfast is great, you choose for continental breakfast or indonesian breakfast. Good place to stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank melaniemuriadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, TN
Level Contributor
181 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed one night here during our tour of Bali. The bed matress wasn't that great but it will do. And the internet connection does not work well. You may log onto your email, then 30 seconds later when trying to open an email, it won't work. What was weird is that there is not a mirror over the sink, instead the mirror was over a desk in the room. The bath was outside and it was ok. I had enough hot water and you use a hand held sprayer for the shower. By the way, we had to ask for soap, appearantly that is not standard, so bring your own. There is no air conditioner, but you don't need it at night. For breakfast they had honey, and toast and pineapple jelly and hot chocolate. That was very good, don't skip it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkles200000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The rooms look directly onto the rice fields and volcanoes in the south, sheets are clean and the Puri Sunny is very centrally located, which can be a bit of a problem because of the noise that is associated with the road. Saying that, the staff are super friendly and have helped me big time with local knowledge and organising a great trekking guide and transport. Even if you don't stay here, visit the restaurant because the food is very good and reasonably priced. From the top floor of restaurant you may see an amazing sunset.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank efassbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Great place, well recommended. Munduk is a really nice tranquill place. Has one main road going through it, and Puri Sunny is on that road. The compound grounds feel as though you're inside a temple, with beautifully kept gardens. Inside are little houses with 2 floors, - 1 room on each. In front of your room is a a little porch, from where you have absolutely stunning views over the valley. Very quiet. Room is good too, beds fine. Only downside is that you can hear the guest staying on the floor above you really well. Breakfast fine: 2 toasts, fruit and coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kikkert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabanan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The rooms are very nice and comfortable. The view is peaceful, you can see the mountains and rice fields from the terasse and from the restaurant. Everything is clean and the staff is friendly and helpful.They really care about you and they make sure you are having a great time. Trekking and waterfall is nice, they have a map to help you and they have guides also. from there they can make you visit other place of Bali. They also suggest cooking class and massage. I had a really great experience there. The people of this village are very friendly. I loved the 3 days I spent there. The restaurant is a little bite expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhekel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I was booked into this hotel by a friend when my preferred choices were unavailable. It's peak season in Bali. The hotel clings to the hillside adjacent to the main road which leads to the coast. The views are really great, a green expanse of clove, coconut and cocoa trees stretching out across the hills and valleys. In the distance, on a clear day, you can see the ocean.

The hotel consists of a number of cottages built in a local style, most of them fairly new. The room size is adequate but no room to swing a cat! The large double bed was comfortable and draped with a mosquito net but I never sighted a single mosquito. The nights are chilly - bring some warm clothes. The bedding is sufficient. No aircon as the climate doesn't require it. The room was clean and furnished with a small table and chair plus a bamboo rack for clothing and bags etc. an ensuite bathroom is semi-open to the outside which is a nice touch though chilly in the dead of night! Hot water on demand is provided for the basic shower. Towels are plentiful though toiletries are restricted to a single small cake of soap - barely adequate. A good-sized balcony attaches to the room equipped with a small table and two comfortable chairs - a great place to sit, contemplate and take in the vistas. House cleaning was excellent. Walls are paper-thin so you can hear your neighbours conversations and even their bathroom ablutions. Take care!

If you have a cottage to the rear of the property it alleviates most of the disturbing sound of unmuffled motorcycles roaring up and down the main road from dawn to late night. They really do spoil an idyllic location but are essential to the local population. Just wish they were quieter.

The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful to a point. It seems they can't deviate much from standard procedures and responses. I got the feeling that they wanted to be more helpful, but just couldn't. Pity, it is what differeniates service in these establishments - a willingness to satisfy the guests.

There is no room service and breakfast was the biggest disappointment of my stay - coffee, a couple of pieces of fresh fruit and two slices of white bread toast. The same for everyone. A request for a fruit juice was politely declined yet later in the morning it's possible to select from a large variety of juices. Cooked meals are available from 11am and there's a reasonable selection. The food quality and presentation are pretty standard. All of the people staying in the hotel during my visit were European tourists most of whom were out during the day trekking or sight-seeing in the region. I'm sure they would have appreciated a more substantial meal to start the day, but then maybe that's an antipodean excess.

There's free wifi available in the restaurant and also to the adjacent cottages. But the signal strength is abysmal and the connection irregular and very slow. I was fortunate not to have to rely on it but then the telecom connections were also weak and not 3G (not the hotel's fault I know). I really feel they should address the wifi issue as there are a number of adjoining establishments - hotels and eateries - providing much stronger connections though you require a logon and password to access them.

It's not an expensive hotel and this perhaps reflects the lack of services. Still this is a growing area for tourism and businesses need to remain competitive.

Room Tip: There's no swimming pool or fitness centre - i just couldn't unselect my accidental rating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bulegaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munduk hotels
0.1 mi away
Aditya Homestay
Aditya Homestay
#1 of 26 in Munduk
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puri Lumbung Cottages
Puri Lumbung Cottages
#2 of 22 in Munduk
562 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Dua Bintang
Villa Dua Bintang
#1 of 22 in Munduk
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Atres Villa Homestay
Atres Villa Homestay
#4 of 26 in Munduk
200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lesong Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Karangsari Guest House
Karangsari Guest House
#10 of 26 in Munduk
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunny Hotel

Property: Puri Sunny Hotel
Address: Jl. Raya Munduk-Kayuputih, Munduk 81152, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Munduk
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Munduk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Puri Sunny Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Puri Sunny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunny Hotel Munduk, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing