We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oustanding position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Puri Lumbung Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Oustanding position”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Outstanding position and views. Nice and spacious cottages, but some of them are on two floors. The shower and toliet on the ground floor and the bedroom on the second. So you have to go up and down for basic needs. Very nice gardens and public spaces. Simple restaurant for breakfast and dinner.
Located in an amazing zone with beautigul walks to nearby waterfall.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muggia1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    254
    79
    19
    7
See reviews for
110
323
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed for two nights. I loved the lush gardens and cute bungalows perched on a cliff overlooking the hills and distant sea. The food was good (not great) as was the service. I really appreciate the fact that they grow their own veggies and try to be eco-friendly. Great experience! Mosquitos were not a huge deal, though the hotel does provide coils and nets. We found it to be a tad pricey for what is was, especially compared to other places we stayed. Also, I suffered a hay fever attack on one of the days, which I think may have been due to dust in the room, but it was not overtly dirty.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrchidVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
221 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is not a review for the accommodation at Puri Lumbung but just for the Kopi Bali Restaurant - we stayed elsewhere but had lunch at the restaurant. This is definitely one of your best meal options in Munduk. A wide variety of Indonesion, Balinese and "Western" food is served. Between the 3 of us we had a variety of dishes and everyone left happy and satisfied. Service is friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paarlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed there with my classmate team. We stayed for 1 night. We did tracking tour there, really good. We saw a beautiful waterfall.
We got our "romantic dinner". heheheh under the stars.
That area really cold. My friends and I stayed on... sorry i forgot the name. With 2 levels rooms. When on the night, the situation so silent.
heheheheh

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junktha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Puri Lumbung cottages is a great hotel, for a number of reasons. Firstly, as a seasoned traveler I see very little 'top-class' hospitality from staff. Puri Lumbung is an exception to this trend, with polite and well-meaning staff. They go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Secondly, the hotel itself has an excellent restaurant and kitchen. The food is varied (Indonesian, Balinese, Western), and 9/10 it came out perfect. The hotel has trained its own chefs who produce the best food in the village, undoubtedly. Further, the food was cheap (for western standards). Under £10 for a meal for two, with pudding! I recommend the Black Rice Pudding with Palm Sugar. Thirdly, the hotel is located in a beautiful part of the world. The scenery around Munduk is sublime, especially the views. In addition, forest surrounds the region with a number of stunning waterfalls. A plethora of treks are offered by the hotel. Fourthly, the hotel offers a variety of activities, something for everyone. These include: cooking classes, spa treatments, cycling tours, treks and herbal medicine classes. If you visit for 2 days, you will never be bored (unless you want to be!). Each of these activities is led by a local person who gets 100% of the profit from the activity. Lastly, the rooms are nice. As the other comment state, they are basic, but nice. The architecture is lovely. The beds are fine, and the bathroom is nice. By no means slumming it; luxurious in comparison to many other facilities out there. Most importantly, they are very clean and well-maintained.

Whilst struggling to think of improvements that could be made, there are a couple. I would perhaps suggest a phone in the bedroom for emergencies and room service. And, perhaps, new pillows.

Other than that, I truly enjoyed my stay at Puri Lumbung and urge people to stay beyond the traditional 2 days. Try 4-5, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: If you are someone who likes a lot of sleep, be warned the Balinese people wake up very early. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 04jransomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

As these reviews say, a real gem. If you want to experience the classic Bali rice field views this is the place. Located actually within the rice fields themselves the coffee fields and amazing waterfall is also very close. The hotel organised a really nice excursion for me where I got to see some spices being dried and the worlds most expensive coffee! The waterfall is truly stunning and well worth the walk.

Food at the property was very reasonable and tasty. I also really liked the cultural events they put on. Luckily it was Bali Independence Day when we were there and everyone had organised some fun games including tug of war and pole climbing , beauty pagent which was really interesting to see.

The villas themselves are ok, not very luxurious but neat enough. Given that you are staying in the rice fields there are a lot of mozzies so bring your repellent !

Room Tip: Go to the waterfall! Also look at the spices and local coffee plantations
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14quanum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
208 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

After a adventurous week in Java, this place was heaven for us. It is just perfect. The property itself has an outstnding panorama view, a good restaurant with romantic seating. The service is excellent. The rooms are cute and very clean. Everything works. Hot water small terrace, wifi workîng perfectly although with a 30,000 ir fee. Omelette chef in the morning. Even activities at the end of the day. We loved this place. Also very nice 3h hike around the property to see the falls. We loved it !

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fgoblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munduk
0.4 mi away
Aditya Homestay
Aditya Homestay
#1 of 26 in Munduk
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Dua Bintang
Villa Dua Bintang
#1 of 22 in Munduk
169 reviews
2.3 mi away
Atres Villa Homestay
Atres Villa Homestay
#4 of 26 in Munduk
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Munduk Moding Plantation
1.2 mi away
Bali Rahayu Homestay
Bali Rahayu Homestay
#3 of 22 in Munduk
90 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lesong Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Lumbung Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Lumbung Cottages

Property: Puri Lumbung Cottages
Address: Munduk Village | Banjar District, Munduk 81152, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Munduk
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Munduk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Lumbung Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Puri Lumbung Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Lumbung Cottages Hotel Munduk
Puri Lumbung Cottages Munduk, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing