We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing place ever”
Review of Villa Wastra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Wastra
Ranked #1 of 6 Payangan B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most relaxing place ever”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights here and must admit that it was too short. The villa is stunning with beautiful views and the couple who run it do a superb job of looking after their guests. The staff are friendly helpful and for peace and quiet you'll never find a nicer spot anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cramand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Forster, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The many glowing reviews about this bed & breakfast on various web pages make the place sound too good to be true. Nonetheless, it is exactly as it has been described: outstanding service and accommodation, in a palatial villa, in a breathtakingly beautiful location. The owners are welcoming and generous hosts, intent on making your stay as comfortable & relaxing as possible. Villa Wastra is fairly isolated so, if solitude is not your thing, then you'll need to plan your outings in advance. However, this is a fairly straightforward process - the owners will put you in touch with a local professional driver & guide, whose knowledge of the region and its culture (and command of English) is excellent. He is also very good company! We will definitely stay at Villa Wastra again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This place is exceptionally unique. The building is a Balinese palace, with marble construction and minimalist design, smooth grand space, cool and quiet. The bedrooms in which you stay are enormous, elegant and spacious. We had the honeymoon suite, only a bed and two designer chairs and ample room, with a bedside table on either side of the bed. All white and marble, no busy design, wild colors, or intricate detail. A separate room down a long hallway has a kitchen, dining area, small fridge, desk and is so large it would easily offer an area for children to sleep or another adult. One evening we had the feast of Balinese food with many dishes, all local and fresh (be sure to come hungry). A flat fee of $20 includes the whole meal, served family style. We were incredibly grateful for a detailed map, drawn by others who have stayed before us, of the way to get to the gorgeous swinging bridge and the famous huge banyan tree in the area, about 30 minutes away. We loved walking through the jungle and felt safe and welcome by local people, although of course no one spoke any English. We would love these maps to be extended to include more of the area, to allow farther reach and exploration (without getting lost, which we did one evening, but not for long). We purchased groceries, and were able to sit and enjoy the verandah, the cooler temperatures, the wild clouds and rainy afternoons, and the gorgeous vision of the mountains every morning at the huge breakfast served. Delicious food, many dishes, and a fabulous place. I would highly recommend this unique and interesting place, off the beaten pathway, in a sort of secret palatial villa.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

My family stayed her for 4 days however it was not enough time so we must come back soon. This property is way beyond the category of bed and breakfast is simply cannot be categorised as it is unique and very special. What makes it special is Bob and Mariah and the staff that support the running of the main house and rooms. You feel an home and very comfortable to ask for anything. The food is the most amazing food and I tried so many new foods that I have never had before in Bali. beautiful and very healthy dishes persented and always different and exciting to taste. Our kids where never bored(age11 and 13y/o) we did lots of walking around the valley and a few day trips with a fabulous driver(Mariah will book him for you).
It has taken me months to write a review as I didnt really want anyone else to know about this place, however really feel now I can share. _

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee-Lou2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This was one of the most magical stays during our time in Bali. The villa is familŷ run, and it gives you that sense of warmth and homeliness. The house is huge, ornate and magical and rests in the at the top of a gorge, and is more akin to a Balanise palace than a house. The food was unbelievable, and being able to dine with other people ech night we found very interesting and informative as we met lots of people. The villa is really magical, as it is in a quite part of Bali with the convenience of visiting Ubud nearby, as well as the fact that Maria and Bob will organise a driver for you who will take you to see all the attractions. This was an absolutely memorable stay, and I could go back time and time again. By the end,Maria and Bob felt like family, and we were so sad to leave. Her cooking is fabulous and this place exceeded every review I was hoping for prior to going. This truly is a little gem in Bali, just like Maria and Bob!!!!!

Room Tip: Choos a room with a view over the gorge. Almost all rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Invinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Every family has a story and the Villa Wastra family headed by Bob and Mariah is no different. Theirs is a quintessentially Indonesian story transcending Dutch colonial rule and modern day Indonesian ethnic diversity. I am not going to tell their story but if you choose to visit Villa Wastra make sure to ask and they will happily tell you.
Looking for an end of year break we stayed in the Songket suite for 5 nights between Christmas and New Year. Villa Wastra organized airport collection and arranged a late evening dinner for us when we arrived at about ten o’clock. The very large room was a true suite with a separate dining table, small sofa and writing table in addition to direct access to the patio and garden via French doors. The bathroom was enormous and well-stocked with toiletries while there was no shortage of hot and cold water in the shower. Given that the house is situated in the cooler air of the mountains, air conditioning is not required, however a fan would be a useful addition to the room as the air can get quite stale and humid overnight. The doors to the garden can be left open during the day allowing the light and breeze in but to keep the jungle creepy crawlies out it is better to keep all doors and windows closed at night. The room does not have wi-fi but the hosts seem happy to let guests use their living room PC to connect to the Internet.
The house is about a half hour drive from the center of Ubud and is very remote. This can be both positive and negative as the house and surroundings are very peaceful with the only noise being the sounds of the jungle, but travelling to any destination off the property requires forethought and usually needs advance planning.
It is a beautiful tropical house built on the side of the hill overlooking the jungle-clad ravine below. It was built in the last few years and incorporates elements of traditional Balinese architecture (such as the high ceilings) while being a comfortable mix of indoor outdoor living with an abundance of greenery and colorful flowers everywhere.
Breakfast buffets are served each morning in a covered outdoor dining room with impressive views of the jungle. Dinner buffets are served communally in the giant kitchen as a traditional Dutch colonial rijstaffel. There are about 5 or 6 separate dishes with the idea being that guests should eat something from each. Preferring privacy at meal times I had initially been skeptical of communal dining however the ambience at breakfast and especially dinner time was jovial, very pleasant and further enhanced by the fact that the hosts join the guests for each meal. Dinners can feel like a family gathering and during our stay all rooms were occupied by couples from all around the world so the conversation had a significant international flair.
There are 2 pieces of advice that I would give to travelers considering a visit to Villa Wastra:
1. We availed of the Villa promoted day tours to different tourist destinations around the island. Each tour cost 600000 IDR (about 60 USD) and allowed for a fairly flexible itinerary accompanied by friendly, punctual and impeccably polite Balinese drivers who drove safely and seemed to know every single road in Bali. However while they are accomplished drivers they are certainly not tour guides. Having never availed of the services of any independent tour operator in Bali I cannot recommend any better tour guides, but I would advize that if you plan to use this service that you at least bring your own Bali tourism guide book so that you will know what you are looking at. A guide book will also be useful to help independently build your day trip itinerary as we found that the guides (drivers) tended to tout some sites which in retrospect may not have been worth a visit even if you happened to stay right next to them.
2. Shortly before dinner on our last night at Villa Wastra we discovered that we could not settle our bill via credit card. Other payment options such as PayPal and Bank transfer were presented to us but logistically they were difficult to organize therefore we settled for paying our bill in cash (Indonesian Rupiah). It was an unfortunate situation and caused us to have to make the long drive back to the nearest ATM in Ubud after dinner on our last night to withdraw the 800+ Dollars of local currency required to settle our bill. In reality we probably should have inquired about the means of payment earlier in our stay so that we could have planned the cash withdrawals in advance and in fairness to the hosts they remained very calm and convinced us to sit and eat dinner rather than racing to the ATM and missing dinner. Having never previously stayed in any hotel or B&B that did not allow payment via credit card, I would like to see Villa Wastra enable their POS machine in future, but knowing that payment can be made via Bank transfer, I would be happy to return to Villa Wastra if I am in Bali again.
All in all, a tastefully decorated and spacious room in a beautiful tropical house with warm and welcoming hosts, but don’t forget your Bali guide book and make sure you have enough cash to settle your bill.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Expatriate_in_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishnu W, Owner at Villa Wastra, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear Expatriate_in_India,
Thank you very much for staying at our Villa and spending the holidays with us. It sounds like you had a wonderful time.

We are sorry that we could not meet all your expectations and the inconvenience that may have caused it. While we do our best to accommodate everyone, we do fall short from time to time as it is in the case of our driver/guide. Due to the high demand, we had to use our backup driver. While as you pointed is not a guide, he was a safe and knowledgeable driver. I think it is a great suggestions in this situation to provide a Bali guide book. We will consider it for the next time a situation like this happens again.

The credit card situation was unfortunately out of our control as we rely on the payment processor and mobile wireless network to process payment. Sometimes technology does not work in our favour as it happen during your visit. We are working with our payment processor to prevent such situation to happen again.

Thank you for the feedback and suggestions. We look forward to welcome you back again to the island of the gods.

All the best!

Wishnu and Mariah Waworuntu
Villa Wastra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The location, the rooms, but most of all the hospitality of Mariah and Bob were what made this leg of my Bali trip the best part of the trip. Mariah and Bob were so welcoming and warm, that I felt like I was visiting family.

The food is absolutely delicious, home-cooked, Indonesian deliciousness. The location was amazing - we found the areas we stayed in prior to be super touristy, and Villa Wastra was incredibly serene and local. There's the best view of the stars from here.

I really can't emphasize enough how beautiful it was - the rooms were so gorgeous, the grounds beautiful, the location spectacular (a great stopover to get to Kintamani and visit the surrounding artistry villages!), but most of all -- the hospitality of Mariah and Bob will make you want to come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ting W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Payangan hotels
4.4 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Payangan
589 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 9 in Payangan
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Senetan Villas & Spa Resort
1.9 mi away
Hanging Gardens of Bali
1.5 mi away
Alila Ubud
Alila Ubud
#4 of 9 in Payangan
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Wastra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Wastra

Property: Villa Wastra
Address: Jl. Raya Payangan - Kintamani Km. 41, Payangan 80572, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Wastra 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded private bed and breakfast estate north of Ubud, set amidst lush tropical greenery. Villa Wastra offers luxurious suites and rooms, all decorated in traditional Balinese textiles. Each suite offers rich natural wood tables, a heavenly bed with high quality linen and private ensuite. Guests can recharge and return to nature by indulging in a variety of physical out door activities such as outdoor hikes and walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Wastra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Wastra Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing