We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bali Highlight - couldn't get any better than this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Wastra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Wastra
Ranked #3 of 6 Payangan B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bali Highlight - couldn't get any better than this!”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My boyfriend and I spent an amazing four nights in Mariah and Bob's Balinese palace. It was hilarious watching my boyfriend's jaw drop when he saw our room - he was speechless at how huge and luxurious it was!

This place is as good as the reviews suggest - amazing food cooked by Mariah, tranquility not found in more touristy areas, stunning views, great local knowledge, and the feeling of being in a home and not a boring hotel.

The rooms were beautifully appointed and very comfortable. The views across the valley are incredible. The scale of this place is pretty huge - the same architect designs eco hotels so nothing is pocky and everything feels lovely and airy!

It was fascinating to get an insight into a different culture and learn a bit about the Indonesian way of life, politics, cuisine etc in the nightly discussions with Bob and Mariah, and the other guests. You also escape the stiffling humidity of Ubud by being up in the mountains were the air is fresher.

I can't recommend this place highly enough. I think it's the best place I've ever stayed and I'm fairly well-travelled.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely - we were on the lowest room and Mariah offered to change us but we liked the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Oh my goodness, how we loved this place! Definitely a highlight of our almost 4-week stay in Indonesia. Words and pictures cannot give justice to this wonderful, unique place we were very quick to start calling "home".

Everything is amazing about Villa Wastra: warmth and hospitability of the hosts (we were treated, and really felt like distant, long not seen relatives), views over the jungle tops, extra delicious home made food (one of the best meals we have ever had in our lifetimes!), discreet colonial elegance of the mansion, cosmopolitan atmosphere during breakfasts and dinners shared at one big table.

A couple of hints: you can enjoy a very good massage in your own room, performed by a professional therapist who lives next door - ask Mariah for assistance in arranging the treatment; family room is the only one without the expansive views over the gorge, but it's spacious and has two bathrooms; try to arrive by daytime as the place is quite difficult to find after the dark (we made this mistake). Please reserve at least one full day for taking a leisurely walk among the rice paddies and local villages.

My 10 y.o. daughter, who was very sceptical about staying in a guest house in the middle of nowhere, gasped with amazement right after stepping in: "Mama, I have to tell you: what a find!".

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasia_Kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom Price
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was our second trip to Bali and it is one of 7 mid range places we have stayed at. This was by far the best place we stayed at for many reasons, some of which are:
1) Stunning view
2) Luxurious suite with ultra comfy king sized bed - the place is like a palace - we had the honeymoon suite and it was fab
3) Best value
4) Best food we have had in Bali. The 10+ course menu at night for only $20 adult was fantastic and was a mixture of cuisines from around the world including Balinese, Indonesian, Indian, Dutch. it was a pleasant surprise to find out that Bob was also vegan so we were we were well and truly catered for as both vegetarian and vegan ourselves.
5) Lovely hosts who were non intrusive
6) Great value massages and day hire of driver. Driver was great and was only 500,000 rupiah for a full day of travel.
7) Our kids loved it
8) The walks through the valley were great.
9) The pool was gorgeous
10) The breakfast was substantial and delicious and included a hot meal, fried fruit, fresh bread, and more.

Thanks Bob and Mariah, we will be back. Janice, Cam, Mia and Damon from Tom Price

Room Tip: I think the honeymoon suite which we had was probably the best room as it had better views than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Okay, if you've ever fantasized about spending time in a magnificent villa tucked away in the jungle, with breathtaking views of a pristine riverine gorge, with a charming, discreet, and gracious host, then this is the place for you. My wife and I are experienced travelers and have been fortunate enough to stay in many top resorts and hotels the world over, but this place surprised and charmed both of us. We found the location perfect. It is not smack in the middle of Ubud, which can be chaotic and noisy at times, nor is it in the back of beyond. It's an easy (if there is such a thing in Balinese traffic) 20 to 30 minute drive to the centre of Ubud, with plenty of activity and vibe in the immediate area. Bob was a genteel and gracious host (unfortunately his wife was away on a business trip, so we did not get to meet her), and went out of his way to ensure our comfort. The food was authentic Indonesian, and very well prepared by his staff. Totally delicious to boot. To describe this place as a bed and breakfast is to do it a massive injustice. It is so much more. All in all, our group thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay at Villa Wastra. Just book. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoryH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here recently with my family and wow it really is stunning the real Bali. The drive to get there is great then down a dirt road to this magical villa with the panorama of the mountains. Mariah is a amazing cook with fresh garden produce and so healthy !!
Rooms spacious and relaxing sitting out on veranda looking into the mountains will stay with you forever. Driver took us around through amazing scenery will come back and walk to Banyan tree next time Will be back here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights here and must admit that it was too short. The villa is stunning with beautiful views and the couple who run it do a superb job of looking after their guests. The staff are friendly helpful and for peace and quiet you'll never find a nicer spot anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cramand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forster, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The many glowing reviews about this bed & breakfast on various web pages make the place sound too good to be true. Nonetheless, it is exactly as it has been described: outstanding service and accommodation, in a palatial villa, in a breathtakingly beautiful location. The owners are welcoming and generous hosts, intent on making your stay as comfortable & relaxing as possible. Villa Wastra is fairly isolated so, if solitude is not your thing, then you'll need to plan your outings in advance. However, this is a fairly straightforward process - the owners will put you in touch with a local professional driver & guide, whose knowledge of the region and its culture (and command of English) is excellent. He is also very good company! We will definitely stay at Villa Wastra again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
2.1 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 8 in Payangan
521 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 8 in Payangan
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
997 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hanging Gardens of Bali
4.3 mi away
Alila Ubud
Alila Ubud
#4 of 8 in Payangan
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Wastra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Wastra

Property: Villa Wastra
Address: Jl. Raya Payangan - Kintamani Km. 41, Payangan 80572, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Wastra 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded private bed and breakfast estate north of Ubud, set amidst lush tropical greenery. Villa Wastra offers luxurious suites and rooms, all decorated in traditional Balinese textiles. Each suite offers rich natural wood tables, a heavenly bed with high quality linen and private ensuite. Guests can recharge and return to nature by indulging in a variety of physical out door activities such as outdoor hikes and walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Wastra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Wastra Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing