We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“by far the worst hotel on our Bali trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Raffles Holiday Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Payangan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The hotel lays isolated over a 30 minutes drive from Ubud. There is no view or something else that makes it worth to stay here. We stayed here for 4 nights. The rooms are ok, the rest of the place is past glory. The foto's on internet don't reflect the real a bit pover state of the place. The pool is 50 cm deep and not suitable for swimming. On Bali the food is great, over hear it is realy discusting. The free transport service is only offered after a lot of debate (every day again). Appointments are not lived by. The staff hardly speak Englisch. This is more a hotel where locals stay, our advice; don't go here!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tceri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2011

At first when arriving we found the hotel a bit isolated and far away from Ubud, which was actually the reason for staying here. But with the free shuttle from the hotel to Ubud 30 min away the distance was actually not an issue. And after a day in the hectic and crowded Ubud city, it was very nice to come back to the peaceful and beautiful surroundings.
The room and especially the magnificent bathroom was a very pleasant experience and the staff were very friendly and serviceminded. Every morning we had a nice locally breakfast and some nights we ordered a meal, which was simple but quite ok.
So all in all, despite the distance from Ubud, I will certainly recommend this hotel to others if they want to stay at a beautiful and peaceful place

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frederik_Valmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

IT IS NOT IN UBUD BUT FAR IN THE NORTH, at least 30min with scooter or car.
Very quiet place, but cold at night. We had a big java house for cheap, pendoppo which can host 10 people for 700000 IDR. Very good sleep :-) restaurant is a bit, crap.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luissemanggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This is a nice quiet hotel with staff that are attentive and friendly. Our room was clean, spacious and had the most enormous bathroom I've ever been in. The included breakfast was a mix of continental and Asian fare and there is a menu available for other meals. The location is about 30 mins from Ubud but they provide a regular free shuttle. We thought overall, the hotel was good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sixdegreesN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

The hotel is out in the jungle. Yes it is! But the thing is, it's the best out there in the jungle! After 3 days of staying in Legian area, I moved to Ubud for a more relaxing tone. Didn't really expect that this hotel is remotely located outside Ubud. But no fuss really even if it's quite a long drive and me & my driver got lost in the process of getting there.

Upon arrival, all my reservations are gone. I'm simply amazed and astonished on how peaceful the place is. The day I arrived is quite low time for the hotel - so it was just me, a German guy and a Kiwi Couple within the whole area.

Initially, I booked for a standard room, but Imah (the very fine young lady staff at Raffles) told me that I have been upgraded to a Junior Suite! Upon entering the room, my jaw literally dropped in surprised. It was such a big, insanely spotless room, good for 3-4 people. Bathroom is so cool - with bathtub and hot water. Though you may wait a bit for the hot water to come out since they still do it manually. But heck - what's a bit of waiting right?

Everyday, we have this superb, yummy and excellent breakfast altogether with the other guests. (Too much to handle believe me! Enough to get you by for the whole day) I literally almost know every single person in that hotel at that point in time - serious! Since the place is remotely located outside Ubud centre, the hotel gives a free shuttle service to and from the centre. Just perfect!

The pool is clean, the staffs are nice and so friendly. You get free bottled water in the room everyday. Free bicycle rental because I stayed for more than 3 nights. Towels are clean. All you needed in the bathroom is even free from toothpaste, toothbrush, shampoo, soap. (Although I always brought my toiletries in traveling).

Airconditioning is in really really really good condition. Room has big television and dvd player. It also has hair dryer which is so cool coz I even thought of bringing my own! Good thing I didnt :)

The place is just 20-30 minutes away from Kintamani (a volcano) so it is really cold for most parts of the day so better bring a fleece or some jacket when you get there! The hotel's location is really just a spot on. I liked it to be in the jungle.. ;) You can try to cycle out of the hotel and see the rice paddy fields and the amazing houses each with their own temples.. you will never regret it

The tour using the hotel's car is also reasonable, 400K rupiah for the whole day and it will take you where you want. There is also free internet access in the lounge (quite slow but you would care less, coz you are in a nice and peaceful jungle - so definitely you should lower your expectation in internet connectivity) The thing is - it is definitely working so you can keep in touch with family, book your flight, upload pics, do FB and stuffs)

Overall, this place is a must. It is fairly new with different touches. Well maintained and just awesome

Oh, there are lot's of things I want to say - really. I highly recommend Raffles Holiday Hotel (Btw, the name is quite confusing as it is also called Sewu Nusa) Keep that in mind folks. If you are an average solo traveler like me (neither a backpacker on a tight budget nor a high-end one), then this accommodation will blow you away.

I met good people here. Really good people. It is definitely a memory I will look back in time. Thanks Imah, Siti and other staffs, Riza, Raechel and Kyle for making my Bali trip a wonderful experience.

Cheers!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shuurei_chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Guilhem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoyberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Payangan hotels
0 mi away
Hanging Gardens of Bali
Hanging Gardens of Bali
#6 of 10 in Payangan
1,609 reviews
0 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 10 in Payangan
858 reviews
0 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#3 of 10 in Payangan
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Alila Ubud
Alila Ubud
#4 of 10 in Payangan
2,131 reviews
0 mi away
COMO Shambhala Estate
COMO Shambhala Estate
#2 of 10 in Payangan
483 reviews
0 mi away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Holiday Hotel

Address: Denpasar-kintamani, KM 38, No 198, Payangan 80572, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Payangan
Price Range: £15 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Raffles Holiday Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Raffles Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Holiday Hotel Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing