We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Villa in Ubud but Cheap”
Review of Umah Lu'ung

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Umah Lu'ung
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Villa in Ubud but Cheap”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I enjoy staying at this villa, as it was private villa with nice outdoor pool, silence here was very good for meditation. The weather is abit cold so made me and hubby felt so romantic spending quality time here, especially when it was rainy day so you do not need Air Conditioner. Villa surrounding is nice with many trees and rice terrace like a green velvet. The staffs are friendly and gave us guidance if you plan a trip to a new place. However it was lack of breakfast menu and we are abit bothered the smell of cattle sheds belonging to village people surrounding the villa and many mosquitos in the night time.

Room Tip: It has three rooms only and i would prefer for the room which close to the pool and guest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marietha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    10
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The location was a bit a far and (very) secluded. It takes around 15 minutes drive from Ubud city center (hanoman st and monkey forest st). When you pass through the main road and you come across an intersection, where turning left will take you to Como Shambala, Umah Lu'ung is on the right. The road is small, fit for one car only. Which I don't mind at all on this situation. What I do find a bit disturbing was that there is no sign of Umah Lu'ung on the main road. So, at first it was a bit difficult to find this villa.
Once you pass through the rice field, at the end of the road, you'll find this villa. Not so amazing in the front. But, take a good look inside and the villa.....it was marvellous. It was all I've ever dream of for a competitive price villa at Ubud area.

The room in the villa that I stayed was amazingly spacious an unique. A walk in closet in the open bathroom. Outdoor and indoor shower, a bathtub...what more can you ask of a bathroom?

The villa has a terrace overlooking lush greenery trees and a glimpse of rice terrace in the distance. A day bed, a big comfy day bed overlook the infinity pool was to die for. I can imagine my self reading book and fall asleep due to the calmness and serenity of the atmosphere.

A word of caution to you who hates bugs and insects. Since this villa is very much close to nature, at night there are a lot of flying insects. But, nothing worries me. I am also not a big fan of insects. But, mostly harmless and not disturbing.

I can imagine myself stayed in Ubud for quite sometime in this villa. I had the most nicest sleep in Umah Lu'ung.

For a price they offered, it is a real bargain. I only hope that the price won't be up at any time soon. Since I will and I am gonna back to this villa very soon. :-)

Room Tip: the first villa near the pool was the best choice. Near the main villa where you can relax watch tv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexanderdendol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We spent two weeks over the Christmas holidays in this amazing villa and enjoyed every moment! Strong points: the rooms are five star (each one have a private entrance, are very spacious and have a luxury bathroom), the king size beds are very comfortable and the sheets felt crispy clean every day. The surrounding nature is stunning and from our bed we could enjoy the view of the rice paddies with no other construction in sight. The pool is beautifully integrated in the house, feels like a lagoon more than a swimming pool! The staff is friendly and always available to help out, day or night. They keep the house spotless (even though a few more towels would have been appreciated - we only had two per bungalow). Breakfast (included in the price) is abundant, tasty and you can choose between four or five different menus each day.
Weaker points: there are no restaurants or shops at walking distance, so you definitely need a car or a motorbike to get around. Ubud is a 10/15 minute DRIVE from the house (walking is NOT an option). The price of the villa included one drop off to and from Ubud every day, but if you want to come and go from town more than once in the same day, you have to pay extra or organize your own trasportation (taxis are widely available). We would have liked to be a little closer to Ubud because riding a motorcycle for 15 minutes on the appalling Balinese roads can be a little tricky, especially at night. Basically, if you like the idea of being isolated, this is the place for you. If, on the other hand, you want to enjoy all that Ubud has to offer, you might want to consider something closer to town. The house manager, Made, who is extremely friendly and kind, claims to be a "guide" too, but when we used his services to visit the island, we felt he was a little unsure of where he was going and he kept on trying to take us to all the classic tourist spots (including tourist-trap shops). Anything outside of the beaten track is pretty unknown to him. Plus, I would expect a real guide to give some info on the places we were visiting, instead of just dropping us off and letting us walk around alone. We ended up finding our own way around the island, which was cheaper and more efficient.
All in all, it was a wonderful holiday. The beauty of the house, combined with the staff's friendliness made every moment a special one! We thank the entire Umah Llung staff for their extreme kindness, their discretion and their availablity to help us in any occasion. We recommend this villa without hesitation.

Room Tip: There are four bungalows: ask for the two that are closer to the pool (larger and better located). I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarziaAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

i've traveled with my friends, there was Fabulous, amazing view with the genuine nature surrounded... in the morning when I opened my eyes, I saw the most Beautiful sunrise direct through the windows of my room. Amazing . . . I miss this place already. . .
Spacious room, with Television, DVD, Fridge, the Big Bathroom (like a room), actually I need just 10minutes to take a bath, but here i was take a bath approximately 45minutes.... :)
I Fond this place....
I think u need to come here, It's a MUST. . .
Loveliest place EVER!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pingki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We (11 persons) spent an amazing four days at Villa Umah Lunng. From day one we were looked after very well by the wonderful staffs. We felt throughout our stay that in fact the quality of the staff is a major strength of the Villa. They love their job and always go the extra mile with a bright smile. Suyasa has been a great communicator, answering all our questions promptly, especially the WiFi problem. Madi is a fantastic organizer, housekeeper and other nice staffs. They were amazing at helping us relax, taking care of things without being intrusive. Thank you! The villa is beautiful. We like the private, surrounded by all nature, fresh air, firefly, the starry night... the pool water is cool but fun… All you can see is the beautiful nature rice paddy, forest, the friendly staffs. You can hear the wind, the cows, the rooster and birds, pigs, simile… We will go to come back again surely! Will miss you all!

Room Tip: don't forget to bring flash
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ocean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

we are mesmerized by the view and the greenery surroundings. Beautiful villa with huge windows, opens up to fresh air and very pretty view. And also very serene. Pool was great too.
Very spacious room/villa (perhaps if they change air conditioner to a newer one would be nice, it can be a bit warm with blanket at night). Large bath area inside the villa/room. Breakfast was good (the coffee was great).
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
You are going to need to rent a car or at least a motorcycle to get around from here.

We loved our stay at Umah Lu'ung, totally worth the price, and definitely will go back & suggest this place to our friends :)

Only one thing : the pin placed for this villa in google maps was wrong & misleading. Just go straight ahead from Jalan Kedawetan & Jalan Sayan, turn right once you see Como shambala sign edge at the left side of the road.

Room Tip: ask for the villa/room close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titis2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I fell in love with the private, welcome homy feeling of Umah Lu'ung...
the lovely villas surrounded by all nature, bedrooms are spacious with indoor and outdoor shower under the stars... dining room is cozy.. the pool is small but clean.. the staffs are helpful and very friendly!
you can hear the wind, the cows, the rooster and birds in the morning, so if you like the idea this is the perfect place for you

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KURO123baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
0.6 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 9 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Bayad Ubud Bali Villa
Bayad Ubud Bali Villa
#2 of 6 in Payangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
COMO Shambhala Estate
COMO Shambhala Estate
#3 of 9 in Payangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Bayad
Villa Bayad
#192 of 536 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.1 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umah Lu'ung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umah Lu'ung

Property: Umah Lu'ung
Address: Jl. Banjar Bayad | Desa Melinggih Klod, Payangan 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Payangan
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umah Lu'ung 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Umah Lu'ung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umah Lu'Ung Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing