We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like awesome pools, great coffee and never-ending breakfasts you'll love Alila Ubud.”
Review of Alila Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alila Ubud
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This place was a serene jungle retreat. The pool is fab, the rooms had great views and good little touches that are mentioned in the other reviews. Although the food and drink was expensive by Bali standards, it was very good and not matched by places we tried in Ubud. The included breakfast was just wonderful and you need to take your time over it. The menu changed every day and I wanted to have every option on it - if I had a big enough stomach! Likewise the complimentary afternoon coffee and cakes were imaginative and tasty.

What negatives can I think of? A few ants in the room, but that didn't bother us. The poolside bar area could be more bar like - but maybe they are trying to avoid that vibe? You may get bored if you stayed longer than 3/4 days... but it's a good place to unwind and a complete difference from the beach resorts. We then went on to Grand Mirage in Tanjung Benoa... review coming shortly.

Room Tip: A standard room was great - good views, balcony, outside-sort-of-shower, plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,016 - 1,022 of 2,111 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Amazing hotel, very beautiful design and views, amazing pool! Very attentive and nice staff, wonderful breakfast and complimentary tea and pancakes by the pool!
However, we found ourselves in a room without mosquito nets in Ubud! - the place where there are plenty of mosquitos and actual danger of dengue and malaria in Bali - we found this mistake unforgivable. When we called the front desk they took their time but eventually (around 6-7pm - high time for mosquitos) came and installed a net in our bedroom, clearly not understanding the importance that it had for us. Actually, the room in itself was not well sealed, with a wonderful window but with small cracks through which mosquitos entered and started to bite us before the net came. Of course all this could have been avoided if there was a mosquito net in the firstplace - as published in the room description made by the hotel (and of course properly sealed windows). Inspite of this situation, overall an amazing hotel that we will recomend.

Room Tip: make sure you have a mosquito net before you settle for a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTCarr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alasdair D, General Manager at Alila Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear MTCarr2014,

Greeting from Alila Ubud and thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

Thank you very much for the great feedback on the design, views and pool as well as our food & beverage offerings. The afternoon tea is a highlight for many of our guests & the visits at this time by our local family of monkeys make this even more special...

I would like to offer my apologies for the time taken to install the mosquito net in your room and as you have quite correctly commented, we do state that mosquito nets are available in our rooms. All of our villas do come equipped with the nets due to natural alang alang ceilings and the nets offer protection against the occasional leaf matter falling from these roofs. I'm also happy to report that we are in currently in process of retrofitting these to our superior rooms this year. Whilst the deluxe rooms have a standard western type ceiling, nets are available on request & we encourage guests to advise if they would like upon arrival and room orientation, I will be following up with the team why this was not the case with your arrival experience. In addition to this, a strict fogging program around the resort helps us keep the mosquitos at bay and there is a repellant coil lit by the housekeeping team at night turn down to assist with further controlling.

Once again, I do thank you for your feedback, the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Alila Ubud and I'll be sure to have a room with mosquito net ready for next time!

Kind Regards,

Alasdair Davidson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Me and my partner stayed at the Alila Ubud for three nights in June before heading to the south of Bali. Our first impression of the hotel and setting was wow, and it did not change throughout our stay. If anyone is going to Bali I would tell them to stay here.

The rooms are lovely, ours had a fantastic view and I imagine they all do. Little touches like the soaps and shampoos are all from the spa, and choices of teas and a proper cafetiere make the rooms even better. The pool lives up to the pictures, the sunbeds are great - very comfy. The staff are very accommodating and genuine (which wasn't the case in the next hotel we stayed in). The food was great, each morning a different menu for breakfast, which you could pick what you want from. We also ate their on our first night and that was lovely too.

There is a free shuttle bus which takes you to Ubud, which gives you a real flavour of what Bali is like. We got the shuttle in at 4pm two nights and explored as well as had nice meals out, then got the last free bus back (there are plenty of taxis for those wanting to stay out later).

Altogether a fantastic place, we will now look out for other Alila hotels as we were so impressed with this one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I really cannot speak highly enough of this hotel and would have no reservations in recommending it. Everything about it exceeded expectatations. Firstly it is in an amazing location surrounded by rice fields and forests. The hotel itself is simply beautiful with views across the country side. The staff are lovely, so helpful and willing to go the extra mile to make sure your holiday runs smoothly. The pool, restaurant and spa are fabulous while the shuttle bus to town and free bikes are also nice touches.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel was lovely; the staff was lovely. We arrived just after a living social (or some such) deal so the majority of the guests were from LA and surrounding areas. This was in November; around Thanksgiving Holiday. We had some intermittent rain but overall it was a FINE time to visit. This place is a an absolute slice of heaven. I wasn't sure on our way from the airport but once on the property you are transported to an idyllic (mountainesque) straight up forest setting with views that won't quit!! The room was VERY comfortable with dbl beds & a super cool bathroom / Part inside outside. COOLNESS. The amenities available kept us quite comfortable. The room was really quite lovely; lots of natural light. The spa was pretty darn cool as it was both inside and outside as well. I did a very late night massage and it was literally a highpoint of my 2013. Yep, superb svcs available. There is a cute shop and art gallery as well. Yoga classes most mornings. A short ride into town and you can explore all of Ubud. For my first time in Bali this was a perfect introduction. I'll be back for MORE exploring. I can't say enough about this stay, Truly magical. Oh and they did an out side movie night (Casablanca) simply MAGICAL with the most DELISH popcorn. YUM! I should also mention that the food was simply scrumptous! End of story! Not one of my budget trips. More like a 5 star experience for a really great price!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brandicef .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Like many people, the photos of the amazing pool seduced us into booking the Alila in Ubud as part of our honeymoon. We stayed in this hotel for four nights after having being in Singapore.

On arrival we were greeted with a welcome drink and a very warm welcome from both the reception team and the food and beverages manager. A nice touch.

We were upgraded to a deluxe room which featured an outdoor shower and massive bath which was lovely. We also received a couples welcome box which included two very tasty drinks and some nibbles.

The hotel was extremely peaceful and were surprised that there was so many rooms in the resort compared with the number of people around during the day. That said, there were times were there was competition for the limited sun loungers around the pool area.

There was daily afternoon tea served with a nibble of the day which was always fresh and tasty.

The spa facilities in this hotel were very good value for money. For regular spa goers, the treatments at the Alila may appear to be rough around the edges however the therapists were well trained and equipped. It is a shame that the Spa is so close to reception as you could hear comings and goings of traffic on the main entrance. It was also a shame that the spa did not have a private are for post treatment relaxation as other hotel guests cut through the spa to reach their rooms where there is a seating area.

I undertook the Balinese cooking class which was really good fun. Chef took us on a tour of a local food market and discussed the local cooperative between the hotel and local people to source sustainable and organic foods. The cookery course was great and looking forward to replicating the recipes at home.

Food and drink at this hotel was very well thought through with a great selection of drinks and extensive menus. The breakfast was a welcome combination of small plates ordered from the daily changing menu. Pricing for food was pretty good too, we were worried we might get stung as the hotel is remote however we were very pleasantly surprised.

Every member of staff was helpful and polite and eager to please.

Overall this hotel was great for a four day stay. We would have no hesitation in recommending this as a place to stay in Ubud.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fraser D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Staying at the Alila Ubud is like staying in forest mountain nirvana. My wife and I had the opportunity to stay there in February on a visit to Bali. The Alila Ubud is definitely one of the best places to stay at when in town. Its spa-like atmosphere, excellent design and layout makes it a good choice. It is situated on a ridge with an inspiring view of a mountainside forest. It is also 10-15 minutes by the resort’s complimentary shuttle to Ubud center, where all the visitors can spend time exploring the temples, stores and cafes.

Our check-in was swift and easy, the reception staff were very helpful. Our bags were carried to our room. We requested for a room closer to the pool and our request was accommodated right away.

The rooms at the Alila Ubud are well-appointed. There are so many features that make the rooms here exceptional. The room was well laid-out. There was a balcony area in front of our room where you can have coffee or read a book on the relaxing day bed. A small garden separates that balcony and the pathway to the other rooms. Our bed was nice and comfortable, and had two windows on each side that looked out to a stone garden behind us. The bathroom was also quite an attraction: the bathtub and shower were in an outdoor area beside the room, and allowed you to shower in a natural setting while keeping your experience private. Stone tiles and walls highlighted the mountain resort room design. Plenty of modern wood interiors and design in the room allowed us to experience a relaxing resort stay.

The food at the Alila was also noteworthy. We would take breakfast and dinners here as there are no outside establishments nearby. Nonetheless their selection of Indonesian and intercontinental dishes made sure we always had a satisfying meal. The wait staff were also friendly, helpful and gave useful travel tips.

We would hang out at the pool where we enjoyed an excellent view of the mountainside forest while right in the pool – providing inspiring moments while taking stock of one’s blessings in life.
We also had the opportunity to explore the village nearby as the resort provided complimentary bikes.

All in all we had a wonderful stay at Alila. We definitely recommend staying here while in Ubud.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheEuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
16.3 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#24 of 148 in Seminyak
1,162 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 198 in Ubud
1,320 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 10 in Payangan
827 reviews
0.6 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
#1 of 6 in Kedewatan
1,868 reviews
4.4 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alila Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Ubud

Address: Desa Melinggih Kelod, Payangan 80572, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
#4 Spa Hotel in Payangan
Price Range: £121 - £695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alila Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Ubud hotel is a tranquil and secluded hillside retreat that sits high up on the edge of the rich green Ayung River valley in Bali's central foothills, in the traditional Balinese hill village of Payangan.The resort is located 15 minutes from Ubud, the island's cultural heart. Blending contemporary design and traditional Balinese architecture, the secluded courtyards, spacious terraces and private gardens of our charming Ubud boutique hotel create an intimate feeling like none other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Alila Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Ubud Hotel Gianyar
Alila Ubud Gianyar
Alila Ubud Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing