We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alila Ubud”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alila Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alila Ubud
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Los Altos, California
1 review
“Alila Ubud”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is an oasis among the crowds and noise that is Ubud. The hotel is beautiful and the service is wonderful. We loved our stay and hope to come back another time. We did some spa treatments and they were awesome

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susanbrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,170
    425
    139
    48
    21
See reviews for
188
1,224
62
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Alila has the most stunning views from the restaurant and pool area. We stayed in a tree terrace villa, which was absolutely beautiful, super modern and with a view that made us feel like we were sleeping high up in a tree in the jungle. The buildings, villas and the spa area is gorgeous and the surrounding hills as well as the valley took my breath away. The monkey, frogs, birds and lizards made the frame around Alila magical.

Unfortunately, there were some drawbacks with Alila that prevented it from realising its full potential. Firstly, on our arrival, were not greeted, but had to stand in line to wait to check in. This was made better when, afterwards, we were brought to a villa by a very kind and helpful staff member, who made us feel right at home.

Secondly, the Alila is a big resort and there were plenty of guests. This meant that the pool area was always crowded. We usually found a spot, although rarely on the sunbeds, which were occupied by the same guests day in and day out. However, the main disappointment for us in relation to the pool area (which is supposed to be an oasis on the hot days) was that the atmosphere was far from relaxing.Other guests took the opportunity to do exercise swimming and its hard to enjoy the view with large men butterflying back and forth. Additionally, there were children at the hotel, something which we did not expect for a place like this (but of course we should have been more cautious during our research). Both young teenagers fighting in the pool, and toddlers' parents spreading their toys and screaming in the pool area, made it significantly less relaxing for us to spend time pool-side.

Third, whilst the food in the restaurant was fine, it did not live up to our expectations. Furthermore, we were intercepted by a staff member by the name of Janine several times when reading the menu or the events of the day. On two occasions, we were told that we should reserve a table for the evening, since they were "almost fully booked". Due to the distance to Ubud and other restaurants we felt nervous and therefore booked on both occasions. During dinner we saw that there were more than 5 available tables, and we felt like we had been unnecessarily pressured to book a table. Moreover, the same staff member addressed us on several occasions during lunch and dinner asking us how everything was, but she never introduced herself, which left us feeling slightly confused.

Lastly, this may seem like a detail, but the music choice in this resort was just off. Strange elevator music by the pool and in the restaurant produced an odd, artificial atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ida N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alasdair D, General Manager at Alila Ubud, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Ida N,

Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor to share your holiday experiences with us.

I'm delighted to ready your comments on your stay in one of our Terrace Tree Villas, they are a wonderful addition to our property and have a loyal following of repeat guests due to the sensational "living in the jungle" experience they offer. It's great to note you also enjoyed the natural visitors and scenic vistas the resort has to offer.

In regards to your arrival experience, I do apologise for the inconvenience of having to stand an wait to be attended to, we do our utmost to ensure each guest is greeted upon arrival and very occasionally we have multiple arrivals and departures that overlap. I will be working with the team to review your arrival experience and alternative seating arrangements should future circumstances arise.

Our main pool is always a highlight for all guests staying at Alila Ubud and we do try to ensure that our guests are considerate of others whilst also being able to enjoy the experience. For the ultimate in personal space around a jungle pool setting, I would suggest a future visit may be better suited to our Pool Villas with an exclusive 9m x 3m in-ground pool.

During high occupancy Janine and her team do make it a practice to ask interested guests if they would like to reserve tables for dinner. The Plantation restaurant does frequently book out and we don't like our guests to be disappointed to miss out on a table. Whilst we never "pressure" into booking, reserving a table earlier in the day does afford one the opportunity to select the nicest setting at the front or on the terrace area to enjoy starlight over your meal. I will certainly pass on your feedback to Chef Erwan regarding your culinary experience and would be happy to receive further feedback from you regarding this at adavidson@alilahotels.com.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback & we look forward to welcoming you back to Alila Ubud in the future.

Kind Regards,

Alasdair Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This place was a serene jungle retreat. The pool is fab, the rooms had great views and good little touches that are mentioned in the other reviews. Although the food and drink was expensive by Bali standards, it was very good and not matched by places we tried in Ubud. The included breakfast was just wonderful and you need to take your time over it. The menu changed every day and I wanted to have every option on it - if I had a big enough stomach! Likewise the complimentary afternoon coffee and cakes were imaginative and tasty.

What negatives can I think of? A few ants in the room, but that didn't bother us. The poolside bar area could be more bar like - but maybe they are trying to avoid that vibe? You may get bored if you stayed longer than 3/4 days... but it's a good place to unwind and a complete difference from the beach resorts. We then went on to Grand Mirage in Tanjung Benoa... review coming shortly.

Room Tip: A standard room was great - good views, balcony, outside-sort-of-shower, plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Amazing hotel, very beautiful design and views, amazing pool! Very attentive and nice staff, wonderful breakfast and complimentary tea and pancakes by the pool!
However, we found ourselves in a room without mosquito nets in Ubud! - the place where there are plenty of mosquitos and actual danger of dengue and malaria in Bali - we found this mistake unforgivable. When we called the front desk they took their time but eventually (around 6-7pm - high time for mosquitos) came and installed a net in our bedroom, clearly not understanding the importance that it had for us. Actually, the room in itself was not well sealed, with a wonderful window but with small cracks through which mosquitos entered and started to bite us before the net came. Of course all this could have been avoided if there was a mosquito net in the firstplace - as published in the room description made by the hotel (and of course properly sealed windows). Inspite of this situation, overall an amazing hotel that we will recomend.

Room Tip: make sure you have a mosquito net before you settle for a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTCarr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alasdair D, General Manager at Alila Ubud, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear MTCarr2014,

Greeting from Alila Ubud and thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

Thank you very much for the great feedback on the design, views and pool as well as our food & beverage offerings. The afternoon tea is a highlight for many of our guests & the visits at this time by our local family of monkeys make this even more special...

I would like to offer my apologies for the time taken to install the mosquito net in your room and as you have quite correctly commented, we do state that mosquito nets are available in our rooms. All of our villas do come equipped with the nets due to natural alang alang ceilings and the nets offer protection against the occasional leaf matter falling from these roofs. I'm also happy to report that we are in currently in process of retrofitting these to our superior rooms this year. Whilst the deluxe rooms have a standard western type ceiling, nets are available on request & we encourage guests to advise if they would like upon arrival and room orientation, I will be following up with the team why this was not the case with your arrival experience. In addition to this, a strict fogging program around the resort helps us keep the mosquitos at bay and there is a repellant coil lit by the housekeeping team at night turn down to assist with further controlling.

Once again, I do thank you for your feedback, the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Alila Ubud and I'll be sure to have a room with mosquito net ready for next time!

Kind Regards,

Alasdair Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Me and my partner stayed at the Alila Ubud for three nights in June before heading to the south of Bali. Our first impression of the hotel and setting was wow, and it did not change throughout our stay. If anyone is going to Bali I would tell them to stay here.

The rooms are lovely, ours had a fantastic view and I imagine they all do. Little touches like the soaps and shampoos are all from the spa, and choices of teas and a proper cafetiere make the rooms even better. The pool lives up to the pictures, the sunbeds are great - very comfy. The staff are very accommodating and genuine (which wasn't the case in the next hotel we stayed in). The food was great, each morning a different menu for breakfast, which you could pick what you want from. We also ate their on our first night and that was lovely too.

There is a free shuttle bus which takes you to Ubud, which gives you a real flavour of what Bali is like. We got the shuttle in at 4pm two nights and explored as well as had nice meals out, then got the last free bus back (there are plenty of taxis for those wanting to stay out later).

Altogether a fantastic place, we will now look out for other Alila hotels as we were so impressed with this one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenagh, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I really cannot speak highly enough of this hotel and would have no reservations in recommending it. Everything about it exceeded expectatations. Firstly it is in an amazing location surrounded by rice fields and forests. The hotel itself is simply beautiful with views across the country side. The staff are lovely, so helpful and willing to go the extra mile to make sure your holiday runs smoothly. The pool, restaurant and spa are fabulous while the shuttle bus to town and free bikes are also nice touches.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel was lovely; the staff was lovely. We arrived just after a living social (or some such) deal so the majority of the guests were from LA and surrounding areas. This was in November; around Thanksgiving Holiday. We had some intermittent rain but overall it was a FINE time to visit. This place is a an absolute slice of heaven. I wasn't sure on our way from the airport but once on the property you are transported to an idyllic (mountainesque) straight up forest setting with views that won't quit!! The room was VERY comfortable with dbl beds & a super cool bathroom / Part inside outside. COOLNESS. The amenities available kept us quite comfortable. The room was really quite lovely; lots of natural light. The spa was pretty darn cool as it was both inside and outside as well. I did a very late night massage and it was literally a highpoint of my 2013. Yep, superb svcs available. There is a cute shop and art gallery as well. Yoga classes most mornings. A short ride into town and you can explore all of Ubud. For my first time in Bali this was a perfect introduction. I'll be back for MORE exploring. I can't say enough about this stay, Truly magical. Oh and they did an out side movie night (Casablanca) simply MAGICAL with the most DELISH popcorn. YUM! I should also mention that the food was simply scrumptous! End of story! Not one of my budget trips. More like a 5 star experience for a really great price!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandicef .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
16.3 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#24 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
4.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
3.4 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#12 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alila Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Ubud

Property: Alila Ubud
Address: Desa Melinggih Kelod, Payangan 80572, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#4 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alila Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Ubud hotel is a tranquil and secluded hillside retreat that sits high up on the edge of the rich green Ayung River valley in Bali's central foothills, in the traditional Balinese hill village of Payangan.The resort is located 15 minutes from Ubud, the island's cultural heart. Blending contemporary design and traditional Balinese architecture, the secluded courtyards, spacious terraces and private gardens of our charming Ubud boutique hotel create an intimate feeling like none other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alila Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Ubud Hotel Gianyar
Alila Ubud Gianyar
Alila Ubud Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing