We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an amazing experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alila Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alila Ubud
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Melb
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What an amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Alila Ubud is an exceptional property, from the moment you arrive you are treated like a VIP .Nothing is too much trouble, the staff are amazing . We stayed in a deluxe room with amazing views over the valley.The spa is a must do experience and very reasonable for a 5 star hotel. Each Yuni greeted us in the restaurant and made sure every need was catered to. On our final night Dewa the executive sous chef made the most delicious Ristaffel ( a taste of many of the dishes of Indonesia), I recommend you try this. The overall experience should not be missed

Room Tip: The deluxe room are bigger than standard with the luxury of outside bath and shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbCaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alasdair D, General Manager at Alila Ubud, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear MelbCaps,

Greetings from a sunny Alila Ubud and thank you for your recent review.

It's wonderful to read your feedback, I will be printing out your review for the team notice board, it's a pleasure seeing the staff smile at the positive comments of our recent guests.

I'm pleased to read the reviews on Yuni & Dewa, both of these Food & Beverage team members are fantastic ambassadors for Alila, having a genuine warmth and care for their guests. I hope you managed to try the home made ice cream tasting platter for dessert after the Ristaffel, it's a must do and completely decadent!!

Thank you also for your comments on Spa Alila, I agree with you that the treatments are very reasonable and a wonderful way to relax after a hard day of leisurely breakfast and lounging poolside...

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back home to Alila Ubud on your next visit to Bali...

Kind Regards,

Alasdair Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,140
    415
    139
    47
    20
See reviews for
183
1,193
59
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The architecture of the hotel is interessant. Most of it is made by rounded stones.

The normal room where i have been is not shown on the pictures on tripadvisor. They are showing only the junior and king suite. (++$$$$)

When i look those pictures, i have the impression that i haven't been to the same place...but is it well!

THE WEAK POINT:
The room was very poor:
1) the lock of the door was defect. I had to fix it many time.
2) the opening of the sliding windows in the room is really sh... you have to be on the ground to pull up a piece to unlock it. After a few times, you get really pist off to do that.
3) the shower was almost broken - the pipe was almost hanging out of the wall.
4) The A/C was really noisy. We had the impression to have a generator close by.
5) The tap of the sink in the shower room was leaking all the time. No proper door between shower room and the room. Then you could hear the ..."plick....plick....plick" of the drop during the night.

The service at the restaurant was very poor:
1) Not enough personnel to take care of all the guess.
2) Long waiting time
3) If you are a good eater - don't go there. You will need to order 3 time the main course to be satisfied. But perfect diet for anorexic poeple.
4) Breakfast.... not buffet but "a la carte" - only 3 items at a time. Take a long time to arrive and most of the time very small portion. I have ordered a sandwich...i get a piece of 50mm by 75mm of bread on my plate.
5) The restaurant is in open air. If you want to eat protected from the mosquitos, the best will be to be cover of anti-mosquitos. No sheltered area in this restaurant.

THE GOOD points:
1) Free shuttle service between UBUD and ALILA. Only 4 times a day. Don't miss it!
2) Free "Tea time" around 4-5PM at the pool
3) Monkeys visiting the hotel in the evening
4) The employees are really very friendly and once they have time take good care of you.
5) Nice view on the forest

Room Tip: Do not take a normal room! Put the budget to have a bathroom enclosed or even the private swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe-Franco... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alasdair D, General Manager at Alila Ubud, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Philippe-Franco... D,

Greetings from Alila Ubud and thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Having initially read your comments, I was concerned if the review was of the same hotel, especially as the room you had stayed had undergone a full interior & exterior refurbishment in March of this year. The team and I visited the room upon receiving your feedback and whilst I agree that the shower pipe was loose and needed tightened, the condition of the rest of the room was in excellent shape. Upon speaking with both the housekeeping and F&B teams, no one had been intimated of a leaking tap, we would have been only too happy to rectify this concern immediately, occasionally room moving guests if we cannot address the problem completely.

Your concerns with the restaurant have been addressed with the team and we are working to identify guests who wish to have a quick meal rather than the leisurely 'grazing' breakfast that our a la carte menu offers. As one of the key highlights for many guests, the breakfast tasting menu is usually enjoyed 2 - 3 courses at a time allowing for each dish to be freshly prepared by the kitchen.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the shuttle service, the monkeys and the friendliness of the team. We will most certainly be working on the points you have raised and look forward to welcoming you back to Alila Ubud in the future.

Kind Regards,

Alasdair Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had a pool villa, the food and service was awesome, views and walks in the jungle are very cool. Very much a retreat, quiet with not much going on. Free shuttle bus Ubud where there are some very nice restaurants. The second of two hotels that we stayed in whist in Bali and perfect to finish off our holiday "Super Chilled"

Room Tip: Get a Villa they're awesome, with your own private pool and Apple TV, so take your iPad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WesEmerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is an oasis among the crowds and noise that is Ubud. The hotel is beautiful and the service is wonderful. We loved our stay and hope to come back another time. We did some spa treatments and they were awesome

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susanbrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Alila has the most stunning views from the restaurant and pool area. We stayed in a tree terrace villa, which was absolutely beautiful, super modern and with a view that made us feel like we were sleeping high up in a tree in the jungle. The buildings, villas and the spa area is gorgeous and the surrounding hills as well as the valley took my breath away. The monkey, frogs, birds and lizards made the frame around Alila magical.

Unfortunately, there were some drawbacks with Alila that prevented it from realising its full potential. Firstly, on our arrival, were not greeted, but had to stand in line to wait to check in. This was made better when, afterwards, we were brought to a villa by a very kind and helpful staff member, who made us feel right at home.

Secondly, the Alila is a big resort and there were plenty of guests. This meant that the pool area was always crowded. We usually found a spot, although rarely on the sunbeds, which were occupied by the same guests day in and day out. However, the main disappointment for us in relation to the pool area (which is supposed to be an oasis on the hot days) was that the atmosphere was far from relaxing.Other guests took the opportunity to do exercise swimming and its hard to enjoy the view with large men butterflying back and forth. Additionally, there were children at the hotel, something which we did not expect for a place like this (but of course we should have been more cautious during our research). Both young teenagers fighting in the pool, and toddlers' parents spreading their toys and screaming in the pool area, made it significantly less relaxing for us to spend time pool-side.

Third, whilst the food in the restaurant was fine, it did not live up to our expectations. Furthermore, we were intercepted by a staff member by the name of Janine several times when reading the menu or the events of the day. On two occasions, we were told that we should reserve a table for the evening, since they were "almost fully booked". Due to the distance to Ubud and other restaurants we felt nervous and therefore booked on both occasions. During dinner we saw that there were more than 5 available tables, and we felt like we had been unnecessarily pressured to book a table. Moreover, the same staff member addressed us on several occasions during lunch and dinner asking us how everything was, but she never introduced herself, which left us feeling slightly confused.

Lastly, this may seem like a detail, but the music choice in this resort was just off. Strange elevator music by the pool and in the restaurant produced an odd, artificial atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ida N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alasdair D, General Manager at Alila Ubud, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Ida N,

Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor to share your holiday experiences with us.

I'm delighted to ready your comments on your stay in one of our Terrace Tree Villas, they are a wonderful addition to our property and have a loyal following of repeat guests due to the sensational "living in the jungle" experience they offer. It's great to note you also enjoyed the natural visitors and scenic vistas the resort has to offer.

In regards to your arrival experience, I do apologise for the inconvenience of having to stand an wait to be attended to, we do our utmost to ensure each guest is greeted upon arrival and very occasionally we have multiple arrivals and departures that overlap. I will be working with the team to review your arrival experience and alternative seating arrangements should future circumstances arise.

Our main pool is always a highlight for all guests staying at Alila Ubud and we do try to ensure that our guests are considerate of others whilst also being able to enjoy the experience. For the ultimate in personal space around a jungle pool setting, I would suggest a future visit may be better suited to our Pool Villas with an exclusive 9m x 3m in-ground pool.

During high occupancy Janine and her team do make it a practice to ask interested guests if they would like to reserve tables for dinner. The Plantation restaurant does frequently book out and we don't like our guests to be disappointed to miss out on a table. Whilst we never "pressure" into booking, reserving a table earlier in the day does afford one the opportunity to select the nicest setting at the front or on the terrace area to enjoy starlight over your meal. I will certainly pass on your feedback to Chef Erwan regarding your culinary experience and would be happy to receive further feedback from you regarding this at adavidson@alilahotels.com.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback & we look forward to welcoming you back to Alila Ubud in the future.

Kind Regards,

Alasdair Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This place was a serene jungle retreat. The pool is fab, the rooms had great views and good little touches that are mentioned in the other reviews. Although the food and drink was expensive by Bali standards, it was very good and not matched by places we tried in Ubud. The included breakfast was just wonderful and you need to take your time over it. The menu changed every day and I wanted to have every option on it - if I had a big enough stomach! Likewise the complimentary afternoon coffee and cakes were imaginative and tasty.

What negatives can I think of? A few ants in the room, but that didn't bother us. The poolside bar area could be more bar like - but maybe they are trying to avoid that vibe? You may get bored if you stayed longer than 3/4 days... but it's a good place to unwind and a complete difference from the beach resorts. We then went on to Grand Mirage in Tanjung Benoa... review coming shortly.

Room Tip: A standard room was great - good views, balcony, outside-sort-of-shower, plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Amazing hotel, very beautiful design and views, amazing pool! Very attentive and nice staff, wonderful breakfast and complimentary tea and pancakes by the pool!
However, we found ourselves in a room without mosquito nets in Ubud! - the place where there are plenty of mosquitos and actual danger of dengue and malaria in Bali - we found this mistake unforgivable. When we called the front desk they took their time but eventually (around 6-7pm - high time for mosquitos) came and installed a net in our bedroom, clearly not understanding the importance that it had for us. Actually, the room in itself was not well sealed, with a wonderful window but with small cracks through which mosquitos entered and started to bite us before the net came. Of course all this could have been avoided if there was a mosquito net in the firstplace - as published in the room description made by the hotel (and of course properly sealed windows). Inspite of this situation, overall an amazing hotel that we will recomend.

Room Tip: make sure you have a mosquito net before you settle for a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTCarr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alasdair D, General Manager at Alila Ubud, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear MTCarr2014,

Greeting from Alila Ubud and thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

Thank you very much for the great feedback on the design, views and pool as well as our food & beverage offerings. The afternoon tea is a highlight for many of our guests & the visits at this time by our local family of monkeys make this even more special...

I would like to offer my apologies for the time taken to install the mosquito net in your room and as you have quite correctly commented, we do state that mosquito nets are available in our rooms. All of our villas do come equipped with the nets due to natural alang alang ceilings and the nets offer protection against the occasional leaf matter falling from these roofs. I'm also happy to report that we are in currently in process of retrofitting these to our superior rooms this year. Whilst the deluxe rooms have a standard western type ceiling, nets are available on request & we encourage guests to advise if they would like upon arrival and room orientation, I will be following up with the team why this was not the case with your arrival experience. In addition to this, a strict fogging program around the resort helps us keep the mosquitos at bay and there is a repellant coil lit by the housekeeping team at night turn down to assist with further controlling.

Once again, I do thank you for your feedback, the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Alila Ubud and I'll be sure to have a room with mosquito net ready for next time!

Kind Regards,

Alasdair Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
16.3 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#22 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
4.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
3.4 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#3 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alila Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Ubud

Property: Alila Ubud
Address: Desa Melinggih Kelod, Payangan 80572, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#3 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alila Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Ubud hotel is a tranquil and secluded hillside retreat that sits high up on the edge of the rich green Ayung River valley in Bali's central foothills, in the traditional Balinese hill village of Payangan.The resort is located 15 minutes from Ubud, the island's cultural heart. Blending contemporary design and traditional Balinese architecture, the secluded courtyards, spacious terraces and private gardens of our charming Ubud boutique hotel create an intimate feeling like none other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda and Travelbag so you can book your Alila Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Ubud Hotel Gianyar
Alila Ubud Gianyar
Alila Ubud Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing