We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Parardise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alila Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alila Ubud
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Parardise”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is an incredible hotel. We stayed in the valley room and words can not describe how it felt waking up and experieincing the view we saw each morning. The staff here are excellent, in particular the mananger Alisdair and also janine who you will meet at the restaurant. This is a peaceful hotel, perfect for those who select this for their honeymoon like we did.

Nikhil and Nimisha Patel.

Room Tip: Valley room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikhil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,165
    425
    139
    47
    21
See reviews for
188
1,218
62
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was our first port of call on our honeymoon in Bali. We were expecting a nice hotel, but this place blew us away! The complex is just so peaceful, and the pool is incredible. We particularly enjoyed the complimentary afternoon tea at 4pm every day, with teas and coffees, and delicious homemade Balinese treats. The macaque monkeys play in the trees next to the pool and never bother the guests. The restaurant is great (if a tad pricey) and there's a cheaper option by eating down in the poolside area. Only small problem we had was due to us being overzealous with the shower and using all our hot water! Tip is to turn on the cold tap to set the pressure and then tentatively use the hot to get the right temperature - there really is plenty so it's not an issue if you use the shower correctly.

This place is paradise - highly recommended and planning on going back one day in the not to distant future

Room Tip: We booked the cheapest room type and it was absolutely wonderful - amazing view of the forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGW1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon, and what a wonderful place. We loved the tranquility which surrounded the whole complex. We stayed in the valley villa and it was definitely worth the upgrade for the view, the privacy and the beautiful lodge. The Balinese cuisine in the restaurant was excellent, the breakfasts extensive and cooked to order, and the service excellent. Not to forget the fantastic infinity pool overlooking the valley below.

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade for a valley villa if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathhhyyyyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at the Alila, Ubud after travelling around Java for 8 days. Our plan was to relax for 6 nights whilst we were here, rather than going on any excursions.
We stayed in a Superior room (please note, this is not superior to any other room, it is the "most basic"). The view was lovely and the facilities in the room were good. We had a couple of resident geckos, which were good for getting rid of the mosquitos!
The pool is beautiful and the gentlemen are always happy to put out additional sunbeds should you arrive whilst all of the current beds have been taken.
The breakfast is fantastic, if a little slow. It's lovely and relaxing to have a lazy breakfast, but make sure you let them know if you need to be away quickly (for an excursion or to leave for the airport).
The shuttle bus to town is really convenient, we only ever took the bus one way and then took a cab back...the cab was 70,000 rupiah one way, which works out to be around £3.50 for a 2ominute journey and is cheaper and more convenient than booking the car from the hotel for a certain time.
We only ate in the hotel restaurant for dinner once and we found it to be very expensive, especially considering the number 1 restaurant in Ubud - it was cheaper for us to eat in Ubud and take a cab back to the hotel.
We did receive a free couples massage for our honeymoon, which was lovely and relaxing. It was very much appreciated after a busy week around Java.
Overall, for us, the resort was a little too far from civilisation and we would have preferred a resort with a few more home comforts and a little less nature in the rooms! (I had to ask for a lizard of around 30cm to be removed from our room on the first day) It was a very relaxing place, but I wouldn't stay here again given the choice. It was a lovely experience for our adventure of a honeymoon and I am pleased that we stayed here this time.

Room Tip: I would prefer a pool villa, obviously money permitting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Lovely greeting and an upgrade to one of the Valley Villas. Wow, these are very, very impressive places to stay. Enormous living space, terrific views and immaculately presented. Fresh flowers in the room and on the balcony just added to the whole experience.

But, the best comes at breakfast where you are treated to the best a la carte experience I have have ever experienced with lovely breads, coffee, local specialities and fruit juice and smoothie options to die for.

The evening meals were very special too but found the drink prices high compared to other high end establishments in and around Ubud.

It is a honeymooners place but equally we felt completely at home as a family and the staff were excellent with us all.

The spa is of the highest standard with very good staff and I had a fantastic 90 min massage to remember.

The Balinese dance night was a real highlight too with lovely food and high quality entertainment.

The only minor gripe that we felt the hotel should address is the wide scale 'bagging' of beds by some guest. Books and clothing were left from 7am most days and yet the beds were rarely occupied until 10!! Very frustrating.

Thoroughly recommended as a first class, well run hotel with lovely staff.

Room Tip: If you book a Valley Villa avoid 501 as there is some noticeable background noise that can mar the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beebs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

You are in the forest surrounded by ancient trees and of course those cheeky monkeys!

It is amazing, we stayed in another Alila hotel and this one was also up to the high standards we had previously encountered.

I will say that the rooms, food and all round experience is top notch. The unique attributes though are of course that amazing true infinity pool- refreshing and mind blowing! You feel in paradise sitting beside it looking over the forest!

I took a bicycle ride whilst there to see the surrounding area. They are free of charge and are well worth checking out. You get to see the real people of the area- a true eye opener.

If you are into the spa side if things you will love the site facilities. Lots of treatments available for those who wish to indulge.

Beautiful stay in a beautiful area.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam Wright W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My Husband and me were there for 3 Days for a part of our Honeymoon trip. It was a great experience, the location is beyond beautiful, the Hotel is incredible, and lets not speak about the amazing infinity pool that blends in with the colours of the nature surrounding it. We stayed at a Villa room, I miss that bathtub inside of a small pond, that was so cool and the views from your bed are priceless. The staff were amazing, very friendly and always with a smile on their faces, they are also very helpful. Last point to mention, the food is so tasty and good, it felt great not having to worry of what to cook tonight myself :-) We recommend Alila Ubud a 100% to visit.

Room Tip: The Villa is prefect, unless you want a Villa with a private pool, which I can imagine would be grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
16.3 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#25 of 143 in Seminyak
773 reviews
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
1,812 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 195 in Ubud
1,746 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 8 in Payangan
791 reviews
3.4 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#6 of 195 in Ubud
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alila Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Ubud

Property: Alila Ubud
Address: Desa Melinggih Kelod, Payangan 80572, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
#4 Spa Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alila Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Ubud hotel is a tranquil and secluded hillside retreat that sits high up on the edge of the rich green Ayung River valley in Bali's central foothills, in the traditional Balinese hill village of Payangan.The resort is located 15 minutes from Ubud, the island's cultural heart. Blending contemporary design and traditional Balinese architecture, the secluded courtyards, spacious terraces and private gardens of our charming Ubud boutique hotel create an intimate feeling like none other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alila Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Ubud Hotel Gianyar
Alila Ubud Gianyar
Alila Ubud Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing