We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ayung Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. The resort is beautiful. We booked a standard room, it was very spacious with a balcony and beautiful view of the pool and rain forest. The breakfast was the best I've had in Bali. All the staff were 5 star standard, very efficient. The location was beautiful I wish we had stayed longer. The location is a 20 minute drive from Ubud town but we didn't mind. Book this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katleen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Katleen 87,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and make our staff very proud. We are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    88
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
130
462
27
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Beautiful hotel. Perfect to explore Ubud and to relax in the middle of the jungle. The food from breakfast to dinner was amazingly delicious. The staff was very nice and the managers very professional. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior double room and the view of the jungle from the room was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank potcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Potcho

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and make our staff very proud. We are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karlstad
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Ayung Resort and were very sad to leave ! The staff was perfect on every level, the room was beautiful and big ( we stayed in one of the "small villas"). The view from our day bed itself was worth every cent, we even saw a monkey from there the very first day.
Trully an amazing hotel, with outstanding value for the price.
The only downside was the restaurant prices, the food was way overpriced even for an hotel of that standard (a pizza costed us 150 000). So if you are on a budget like we were, you definatly have to take a taxi to go eat in Ubud. The view from the restaurant is breathtaking though, so eating there at least once is highly recommended.
Overall, even with the restaurant prices, we would go back to that hotel any day, and highly recommend it to anyone looking for an hotel in the Ubud area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaSu231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Suzie B,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and make our staff very proud. We are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Me and my wife have travelled so many places in last 10 years and just back from a 3 weeks Dubai+Kenya+Singapore+Bali+Jakarta trip and have stayed in some very good hotels (including the Marina Bay Sands Singapore) but the services and people of Ayung resort has definitely toucher us - really amazing people with always a smile for you. Hats off to Fritz (the GM) and their HR department for hiring such amazing people - how can not one or two but everyone has such an effortless smile on their faces at this place - so good ! The restaurant is a must visit for a formal meal purely because of the service and of course the good food.

The resort itself gives you amazing value for your price (we were upgraded to a superior room from the deluxe so our experience is based on the superior room). They say 'hear the silence and peace' I think and yes they are not lying. The views from the breakfast lobby is breathtaking. The infinity pool was like a private pool with a lovely jungle view where I was the only one for over an hour.

I'd definitely recommended this place over the crowded and commercial Nusa Dua resorts - this is true Bali for you with a difference!

Take Care.

Room Tip: I stayed in Sita - which was very good. There are some lovely cottages as well obviously more expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItsPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear ItsPD,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and make our staff very proud. We are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights and didn't want to come home. This hotel is 100% worth what you pay for it. The food is seriously good, including the presentation. The staff at this hotel would greet us by name everyday and treated us in such a nice manner everyday. I agree what someone else posted about the yoga- I love that they offer it for free but the teacher needs more training (it was too fast one of the times I did it and she should explain the poses and breathing more for first-timers). I actually LOVED where the hotel was located. Yes, it is about a 15 minute drive from Ubud central, but I knew that before booking. This hotel is so peaceful and quiet, I didn't to be anywhere else. Not to mention how beautiful the view is in the restaurant. You really feel like you can just relax in peace and quiet, which is exactly what we wanted. We will for sure stay here again on our next Bali adventure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Meg 244,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and make our staff very proud. We are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

Your comments on the Yoga has been taken and we have enrolled our Yoga staff for further training.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I would normally travel to Bali for business and for the first time I visited Ayung Resort, I have to force my self to attend meetings the next morning because the villa, the view, the huge bed and the cold breeze makes me want to stay. I received a very warm welcome from Elle and their GM Frits who have always been accommodating and welcome guests personally. The staff were all very nice and would always service with a smile. Never miss to eat at their restaurant. Food is fantastic from pastry, starter,main dish to desserts. The spa is also highly recommended, don't miss to try their body scrub and massage. This is my third visit in Ayung and they never failed to exceed my expectations. Cheers!

Room Tip: The villa is perfect for couples, for honeymooners most especially.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AK Sheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Sheryl

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and makes our staff very proud. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

On behalf of all of us,
With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

After a last minute change of plan we booked this hotel the night before arrival not knowing much about it and the gamble paid off. This hotel is fantastic. OK, it's not in Ubud, it's about a 30 minute drive but the setting is fabulous. The food is so, so good. Breakfast was a positive feast! Fresh bread, pastries, muffins that change daily and extensive selection of other food to suit all tastes and nationalities. I don't normally stay in 5 star hotels as I tend to prefer small independent hotels however this had interest (the artwork apparently is from the owners personal collection) and small enough that you didn't just feel like a number. After only one day, most of the staff knew our names and I got the impression they were genuinely happy with their work which made for a lovely atmosphere and good vibe. For me, this hotel is a perfect chill out destination to spend a few days just lapping up the atmosphere, eating amazing food and feeling pampered. My recommendation is perhaps combine a stay here with a few days in central Ubud because once you're in the hotel you'll find it difficult to leave! This hotel is great for friends, couples and solo travellers perhaps less so families.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Rosie Y,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and makes our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
5.3 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
6.4 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
24.2 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayung Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayung Resort Ubud

Property: Ayung Resort Ubud
Address: Desa Melinggih Kelod | Banjar Begawan, Payangan, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
#2 Spa Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ayung Resort Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayung Resort is a breathtaking, mystique and unique lifestyle hotel, perched high up on the bank of a mostly untouched tropical mountain rainforest gorge, in the traditional Balinese village of Payangan Ubud, surrounded by the gentle, spiritual tranquility and pace of Balinese life. Along this serene 8 hectares rain forest domain runs The Ayung, Bali’s most sacred mountain river. In the rocks of the hotels pathways and along it’s 600 meters long riverbank fronting the Ayung Resort, 250 of the finest Balinese Stone Carvers have painstakingly worked,for over a 2 year period,to carve the spectacular Hindu mythologies, Ramayana and Mahabharata amongst others. These stone carvings have become the most sought after photo opportunity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Ayung Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayung Resort Ubud Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing