We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will not dissappoint...5 star in every aspect”
Review of Ayung Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at ayung as part of our honeymoon. We had already stayed at other 5 star resorts, but ayung raised the bar further. The staff were amazing, especially sika who personally attended to our every need. Our villas was packed with amenities like an espresso machine, free mini bar, massive bathroom, wrap around terrace and private plunge pool. Mornings started with outdoor yoga, followed by breakfast of every cuisine and to the highest quality. Afternoons included free high tea, walks around the amazing art in the resort and to the river.the restaurant did not dissapoint with amazing italian food and local cuisine with great wines. We stayed in the draupadi villa, however the standard rooms looked great. I didn't want to leave, but as we did we were met by the general manager who presented us with a gift! Would come back again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The draupadi villa was amazing, but all standard rooms looked good too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Deena C

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and makes our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

743 - 749 of 949 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

We attended a wedding in Ubud September 2013 and chose to spend 3 nights at Ayung Resort and Spa before moving on to other parts of Bali. Wow, what an experience! Such a serene and peaceful environment, you could feel as if you were the only guests on the extensive property. The staff were extremely helpful and kind, whether bringing extras to the room, arranging transport to and from the wedding we were attending or taking the time to teach us the local language which we were trying to learn (Suksma, Ari)!
I wish we had stayed a lot longer at Ayung. It was so peaceful tucked into the mountains, we will definitely stay there next time we visit. The restaurant was fantastic, awesome coffee, breakfast and would definitely recommend the Barramundi.
I would also strongly recommend the spa, and this is from a Beauty Therapist who has enjoyed many spa treatments both good and bad. My partner and I had the best Hot Stone Massage I am yet to enjoy, the quality of the treatment attention to detail for overall experience is enough to take me back there again.
The only things I could say that would improve our experience would be that at times it was hard to find a staff member. The first time we went to book into the spa there was one therapist in a treatment and no one attending reception so we were unsure of how we could book or what to do, likewise when sitting by the pool there was a drink menu but no one in sight to order or ask for help. Having said that, as I mentioned the spa was more than worth the wait and the lack of people (staff included) did make for an incredibly relaxing experience and next time we would just make sure to advise the staff at reception of our plans and needs and no doubt they would happily accommodate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Elise R,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and makes our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Lovely place located in the forest. The hotel itself has lots of Balinese artwork which makes you feel like you are in a museum. Great view of the forest when swimming in the infinity pool. Helpful, friendly and attentive staff. It would be great to have more international channels on tv. Breakfast was great with a breath taking view of the forest valley. We were given special attention and a delicious cake (though they realised later that we were on honeymoon).Would be glad to stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Diya S,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and makes our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This 5 star resort is great! I would rank them 6 stars! The resort is just outside Ubud but they have a free shuttle that takes you within 15 minutes to Ubud. The entrance of the resort is overwhelming, I have never seen such a lobby before. Spacious rooms with balcony, great views, delicious food in the restaurant and not to forget, the wonderfull staff. The resort is surrounded by ' jungle' and you can take a walk down to the river. They also have villa's with private swimmingpool.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank castroholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Castro Holland,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and makes our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

If you wanna see real Bali and enjoy your stay in tropics,choose Ayung hotel,its a dream! All hotel personal is very friendly,food is great-breakfast is served from menu(which is amazing) and we recomend have a dinner in the hotel restaurant,because its the best food what we had in Bali!5++++stars:)) hopefully next year we will get a chance and wil come back!!Area around hotel is very clean and huge-u spend at least 3 hours walking around and making a great pictures!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iveta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Iveta V,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and makes our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I spent a couple of days here while being in Indonesia for work, and this resort was definitely worth it!
Everything is carefully looked after in any details, and the stay was wonderful. The place itself is extremely relaxing, in the middle of the forest, with small buildings well separated from one another so that, though there are many rooms and therefore there can be many guests, you don't get the feeling it is overly crowded. Even the standard rooms are super spacious, beds are comfy and you have a nice little balcony overseeing the swimming pool or the forest. They are always super cleaned, and you can enjoy a very spacious bathroom furnished with their own products (bathfoam, moisturizer, hands soap...). You can take a little detour of the place to discover that there are some deers and there are stone walls with faces, symbols, animals carved in. And food is delicious as well - breakfast is humongous and you can have everything you like, lunch and dinner are very good at totally reasonable prices. Ingredients are super fresh (I had some shrimps that were delicious!).
Staff is very friendly as well and people are willing to help as they can.
They also have a spa that is a superb treat to try!

Room Tip: You can choose a standard room that is really well equipped and spacious enough. If you want to be i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Michi Fa,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and makes our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. The resort is beautiful. We booked a standard room, it was very spacious with a balcony and beautiful view of the pool and rain forest. The breakfast was the best I've had in Bali. All the staff were 5 star standard, very efficient. The location was beautiful I wish we had stayed longer. The location is a 20 minute drive from Ubud town but we didn't mind. Book this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katleen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Katleen 87,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and make our staff very proud. We are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
5.3 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 10 in Payangan
789 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 199 in Ubud
819 reviews
4.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
3.7 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,288 reviews
2.4 mi away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayung Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayung Resort Ubud

Address: Desa Melinggih Kelod | Banjar Begawan, Payangan 80572, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Payangan
#3 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range: £80 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ayung Resort Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayung Resort is a breathtaking, mystique and unique lifestyle hotel, perched high up on the bank of a mostly untouched tropical mountain rainforest gorge, in the traditional Balinese village of Payangan Ubud, surrounded by the gentle, spiritual tranquility and pace of Balinese life. Along this serene 8 hectares rain forest domain runs The Ayung, Bali’s most sacred mountain river. In the rocks of the hotels pathways and along it’s 600 meters long riverbank fronting the Ayung Resort, 250 of the finest Balinese Stone Carvers have painstakingly worked,for over a 2 year period,to carve the spectacular Hindu mythologies, Ramayana and Mahabharata amongst others. These stone carvings have become the most sought after photo opportunity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ayung Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayung Resort Ubud Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing