We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort not obliged to have room ready by check-in time”
Review of Ayung Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore River, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Resort not obliged to have room ready by check-in time”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Just arrived today in Ayung Resort at 5pm today despite having made arrangement for the earliest possible check-in at 2pm. After check-in, we were ushered to our room. To our horror, the room was still being cleaned by the staff. Took some pictures and showed them to the manager Mr Fritz. HIs response? The earlier guest had a late check-out and while the hotel received my 2pm check-in request, it was not wrong of the hotel to make us wait till 6pm. Mr Frits explained that this followed the practice of all international hotels which were only obligated to have the rooms ready for their guests by 6pm. I retorted that this being the case, what was the point of guests confirming their arrival time with the hotel? He reminded me that this was an "expensive hotel" and invited me to put up my review on the website.

For the record, the room was only cleaned and ready at 6.30pm. Just started my stay here - the room also had no wifi contrary to what it says on its website. What a lousy start to my stay here having read all the wonderful reviews. Travelled over 2hours from Seminyak with wife and one-year old baby. A disppointment the way the hotel handled the matter. What if I was on time at 2pm? Wait for 4 hours before I get my room? Clearly something went wrong, and the service recovery was just bad. Booked to stay here for 3 days - will share more reviews if useful. Just take note of the hotel's non-obligated check-in time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 8ernardong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear 8ernardong,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

It is indeed through that the room allocated to you and your family was not completely ready for you upon check-in however the butler offered you immediately a same room type on a lower floor which you rejected as you preferred to stay at the higher floor.

You were then served with the high tea at our Wijaya Kusuma Lounge.

We wish all the very best for 2014

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    89
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
135
480
31
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here with my mother for 4 days, was my first trip to Bali. The resort is beautifully designed with spacious rooms, swimming pools and a ampitheater. The collection of art is very vast with several unique and eye catching pieces. Absolutely loved the presentation of food at the restaurant - have never had breakfast presented so well! The ambience of the restaurant is not to be missed. I thoroughly enjoyed taking picutres of the food and the restaurant. Afternoon tea and coffee were also very enjoyable. Even walking around the resort is a pleasant experience with sculptures at various points and the sounds of river rafters from the Ayung river in the background.
Staff were very friendly, polite and helped a lot to plan our activities. Their suggestions for sight seeing helped us enjoy the trip. Buggy services were prompt as well. And like the other reviewers I also appreciate the free mini bar! The spa is fairly good - I liked the location much more than the treatment (friut facial of USD 70) - which was satisfactory.
The distance from the city center was a bit of a hinderance as we were in two minds about the safety aspects of two women returning late and couldnt gather the courage to see the performances at the Ubud palace which end around 9pm.
Perhaps the resort could look to arrange performances in the ampitheater in addition to the yoga classes.
I chose the hotel based on its pricing and recommendations from other reviewers from tripadvisor and was not disappointed a bit. Thanks to the other guests who took the time to post reviews.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Diya C,

Thank you very much for sharing such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could create a memorable experience for you.

As it is the rainy season in Bali we cannot have performances at our amphitheater until normally early May.

We wish you all the very best for 2014 and look forward to welcome you back to the Ayung Resort Ubud soon.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent all round. Amazing a la carte breakfast & dinner. Peaceful, relaxing, beautiful surroundings, & polished service. My only suggestion is to give the rooms a fresh lick of paint & get rid of the damp problem. Great for romantics, couples, or those needing utter relaxation. As two friends we simply started here and stayed one night to start our Indonesian travels.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Ramnags,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and make our staff very proud.
They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

We wish all the very best for 2014

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We were there this December (family of 6). We stayed in the two bedroom Arjuna villa. The staff are super friendly, location is idyllic and resort is really beautiful. Food was fresh and great value for money (for a five start restaurant). We had a great time. The free breakfast and free afternoon tea with snacks was great too. This is the only resort that I have visited so far which had free mini bar!!

Resort is away from Ubud city center. One needs to drive about 20 mins to get to the city center. There are free shuttles from the resort but last one is at 4:45 pm.

Other than that minor inconvenience, there was really nothing to complain.

Room Tip: We stayed in the two bedroom villa which comfortably slept 4 adults and two children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramnags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Ramnags,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and make our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us.

With reference to the shuttle service there is one at 7:00 pm with a return at 10:30 pm charged at US$ 7.50 per person or US$ 20:00 for the van which can accommodate 6 persons.

We wish you all the very best for 2014 and look forward to welcome you back to the Ayung Resort Ubud soon.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were there for 2 night, quite and serene environment; I like the location of the cafeteria, high up, giving a good view of the vicinity, the breakfast were wonderful.

setback... undersize air/cond... not sure about other rooms; the hotel should provide pickup from the air port, and more shuttles service to the UBUD Town.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor , better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 007SERENITY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear 007Serenity,

Thank you for sharing this beautiful review to fellow travelers on TripAdvisor. We will make sure to share this wonderful feedback with our team.

We wish you all the very best for 2014 and look forward to welcome you back to the Ayung Resort Ubud soon.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

There was only one problem with this hotel; I had to leave. After staying in a number of big name brand hotels this was a breath of fresh air, The place is obviously a labour of love and oozes character. The staff are among the most professional I have ever encountered, warm without being over the top or false. The food in the restaurant is fantastic - no half-baked fusion but excellent European and Indonesian. The view from the restaurant is worth the trip alone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sureitsgrandontworry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Sureitsgrandontworry,

Thank you very much for sharing such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could create a memorable experience for you.

We wish you all the very best for 2014 and look forward to welcome you back to the Ayung Resort Ubud soon.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This place is simply amazing. The staff are the nicest. The facilities are amazing. The grounds are so cool, it's kind of like entering Jurassic park crossed with the shangri la.

Our room is amazing. I'm in room 307 now (we still have 3 more nights here) and it is so blissful.

The morning breakfast is amazing. Afternoon tea is amazing. Dinner is amazing. The pool is amazing. The river below is amazing.

Just stay here. You won't regret it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Captaincool01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Captaincool01,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and make our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

We wish all the very best for 2014

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
5.3 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Payangan
585 reviews
4.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.7 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 198 in Ubud
712 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#12 of 198 in Ubud
337 reviews
4.7 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayung Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayung Resort Ubud

Property: Ayung Resort Ubud
Address: Desa Melinggih Kelod | Banjar Begawan, Payangan, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ayung Resort Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayung Resort is a breathtaking, mystique and unique lifestyle hotel, perched high up on the bank of a mostly untouched tropical mountain rainforest gorge, in the traditional Balinese village of Payangan Ubud, surrounded by the gentle, spiritual tranquility and pace of Balinese life. Along this serene 8 hectares rain forest domain runs The Ayung, Bali’s most sacred mountain river. In the rocks of the hotels pathways and along it’s 600 meters long riverbank fronting the Ayung Resort, 250 of the finest Balinese Stone Carvers have painstakingly worked,for over a 2 year period,to carve the spectacular Hindu mythologies, Ramayana and Mahabharata amongst others. These stone carvings have become the most sought after photo opportunity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ayung Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayung Resort Ubud Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing