We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ayung Resort Ubud

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Setting, staff and services were inpeccable.
The setting is gorgeous, a 15-20 min drive to Ubud city in quiet times. Nestled amoungst the mountain with lush gardens and river visible from dining room below.
The service, especially in dining room is terrific.
I liked that our beds were turned down at night and a hand written note "good night, sweet dreams" was placed on the pillow with handmade chocolates. The mini bar softdrinks and coffee pods were complimentary which was nice.
As the grounds are quite steep, golf buggies were employed to drive us from reception to our room if/when requested. All the staff were lovely and helpful.
If the hustle and bustle of down town ubud is too much, book in here for a few nights, its worth it!
The only bad point is that the wifi signal isn't great.
Thankyou for making our stay so nice :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Elizabeth F

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and make our staff very proud. The Wifi has been noted and we will be working on improvements.

They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

We wish all the very best for 2014

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    88
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
130
465
27
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Beautiful and tastefully decorated. The most welcoming and wonderful staff on foot to help with your every need. Fantastic value for money (we paid 75euro for the standard double room and it was spacious, with a balcony overlooking an infinity pool that falls into the jungle- lovely view. The room had marble floors, a very nice marble bathroom with bath and shower, and more than met all our needs. It was cleaned impeccably, 2ce a day. Incredible value for money; it also included a brilliant breakfast and afternoon tea). The breakfast/restaurant is in the most magical location looking out into the Balinese jungle. The food was incredible- the best we had in Bali was at this hotel and we felt we were being cooked for by a Michelin star chef. There is a car that brings guests into town every hour. We really enjoyed the yoga class in the mornings. The place was just wonderful and we do not know how they make money charging so little for such 5 star service. I would love to go back and would definitely stay here if I am in Bali again- I would not consider going to any other hotel. We went as part of our honeymoon and I would thoroughly recommend it on every account.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aoife M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Aoife M

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and make our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

We wish all the very best for 2014

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Definitely feel like you are away somewhere in the rainforest, but have all the luxury around you with the best food and views you can imagine. The service was good and the rooms were spacious and have a great view of the rainforest. The food was fantastic, the breakfast, lunch and dinner, no need to leave the hotel! Note that your hotel transfer will cost you $50 each way.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchTravel1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear DutchTravel1978,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and make our staff very proud.
They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

We wish all the very best for 2014

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Jave is good, Bali is better and Ayung Resort Ubud is the best! Entering the resort feels like entering paradise! Walking around in nature, having lunch at the restaurant (the best food we had on our 3 weeks trip so far) and looking down in the jungle from your balcony, it feels like a dream comes true! Couldn't stop making pictures, amazing how this resort is set up, so peaceful, so natural, amazing! Thanks to the professional, ever smiling staff and Mr. Frits the friendly and very experienced GM we had a great time in this paradise on earth! Wishing many more guests the time of their life in this not to be missed resort!

Room Tip: Let the hotel know what you prefer, if you prefer a short walk to your room, so be closer to the lob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariska_KdJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Mariska_KdJ

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and make our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

We wish all the very best for 2014

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed at Ayung Resort with sister and niece for 3 days over New Year's. Beautiful and carefully landscaped with an extensive variety of tropical plants decorating every square foot of the property. Loved exploring the grounds - the flora, stonework, decor and art were simply delightful. The lush vegetation has to be experienced:-)

The room in Sita wing was big enough for 3 adults, nice and roomy, very comfortable extra bed and toiletries and supplies carefully arranged for 3 persons. Attention to detail was much appreciated.

Service was excellent, staff were very warm, polite and attentive. Very prompt in service and given with a smile - even when they unclogged the toilet! Much thanks to Sandi for his warm welcome and patience when we arrived late and needed to make stops on the way to pick up supplies.

Free a la carte breakfast was such an enjoyable experience. Beautiful presentation, delicious and leisurely styled (available till 11am and beyond), served in a quaint room overlooking the valley and distant hills. Unfortunately, breakfast was oversubscribed on New year's morning which caused a 20 - 30 mins wait for breakfast. Obviously, late night revellers sleeping late and all arriving at 10.30am for breakfast. But staff handled the situation well and made the wait more comfortable by serving coffee and tea in the waiting room.

Only 3 drawbacks: firstly, the hotel ran out of hairdryers on the day we arrived. Strange that a 4+ star hotel would not have a hairdryer in every room. This caused some distress to the 3 women guests but the staff made sure we got one the next morning. But they promptly brought us the iron that we requested which helped...

Secondly, the property is spread out over a large area with high and low grounds. Access to rooms is via buggies that take guests up and down sleep slopes. We would have loved to walk around the property to enjoy it in entirety but my sister who had a bad knee could not manage the sleep slopes and we had to rely on the buggies to get around.

Thirdly, the distance from Ubud Town - about 20-25 mins' drive costs US$15 per way using hotel's car. Cheaper by taxi from Ubud Town. We rented a car with driver for 2 full days which worked out to be a better and cheaper option for sightseeing, shopping and explore out of the way restaurants and art galleries.

Had a great stay in Ubud over New Year's and fell in love with Bali all over again.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd or 3rd level give a nice, bird's eye view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore River, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Just arrived today in Ayung Resort at 5pm today despite having made arrangement for the earliest possible check-in at 2pm. After check-in, we were ushered to our room. To our horror, the room was still being cleaned by the staff. Took some pictures and showed them to the manager Mr Fritz. HIs response? The earlier guest had a late check-out and while the hotel received my 2pm check-in request, it was not wrong of the hotel to make us wait till 6pm. Mr Frits explained that this followed the practice of all international hotels which were only obligated to have the rooms ready for their guests by 6pm. I retorted that this being the case, what was the point of guests confirming their arrival time with the hotel? He reminded me that this was an "expensive hotel" and invited me to put up my review on the website.

For the record, the room was only cleaned and ready at 6.30pm. Just started my stay here - the room also had no wifi contrary to what it says on its website. What a lousy start to my stay here having read all the wonderful reviews. Travelled over 2hours from Seminyak with wife and one-year old baby. A disppointment the way the hotel handled the matter. What if I was on time at 2pm? Wait for 4 hours before I get my room? Clearly something went wrong, and the service recovery was just bad. Booked to stay here for 3 days - will share more reviews if useful. Just take note of the hotel's non-obligated check-in time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 8ernardong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear 8ernardong,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

It is indeed through that the room allocated to you and your family was not completely ready for you upon check-in however the butler offered you immediately a same room type on a lower floor which you rejected as you preferred to stay at the higher floor.

You were then served with the high tea at our Wijaya Kusuma Lounge.

We wish all the very best for 2014

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here with my mother for 4 days, was my first trip to Bali. The resort is beautifully designed with spacious rooms, swimming pools and a ampitheater. The collection of art is very vast with several unique and eye catching pieces. Absolutely loved the presentation of food at the restaurant - have never had breakfast presented so well! The ambience of the restaurant is not to be missed. I thoroughly enjoyed taking picutres of the food and the restaurant. Afternoon tea and coffee were also very enjoyable. Even walking around the resort is a pleasant experience with sculptures at various points and the sounds of river rafters from the Ayung river in the background.
Staff were very friendly, polite and helped a lot to plan our activities. Their suggestions for sight seeing helped us enjoy the trip. Buggy services were prompt as well. And like the other reviewers I also appreciate the free mini bar! The spa is fairly good - I liked the location much more than the treatment (friut facial of USD 70) - which was satisfactory.
The distance from the city center was a bit of a hinderance as we were in two minds about the safety aspects of two women returning late and couldnt gather the courage to see the performances at the Ubud palace which end around 9pm.
Perhaps the resort could look to arrange performances in the ampitheater in addition to the yoga classes.
I chose the hotel based on its pricing and recommendations from other reviewers from tripadvisor and was not disappointed a bit. Thanks to the other guests who took the time to post reviews.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Diya C,

Thank you very much for sharing such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could create a memorable experience for you.

As it is the rainy season in Bali we cannot have performances at our amphitheater until normally early May.

We wish you all the very best for 2014 and look forward to welcome you back to the Ayung Resort Ubud soon.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
5.3 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#4 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 24 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
6.4 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#29 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
24.2 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayung Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayung Resort Ubud

Property: Ayung Resort Ubud
Address: Desa Melinggih Kelod | Banjar Begawan, Payangan, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
#2 Spa Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ayung Resort Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayung Resort is a breathtaking, mystique and unique lifestyle hotel, perched high up on the bank of a mostly untouched tropical mountain rainforest gorge, in the traditional Balinese village of Payangan Ubud, surrounded by the gentle, spiritual tranquility and pace of Balinese life. Along this serene 8 hectares rain forest domain runs The Ayung, Bali’s most sacred mountain river. In the rocks of the hotels pathways and along it’s 600 meters long riverbank fronting the Ayung Resort, 250 of the finest Balinese Stone Carvers have painstakingly worked,for over a 2 year period,to carve the spectacular Hindu mythologies, Ramayana and Mahabharata amongst others. These stone carvings have become the most sought after photo opportunity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayung Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayung Resort Ubud Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing