We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT PLACE !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ayung Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
“EXCELLENT PLACE !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We have been there in last November and was really the best place we have ever been.
The people that work there are very kind, the view is amazing, doesn't look real...
Being there is like being in a dream!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leandro Oliver R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Leandro Oliver R

Many thanks for your great review and for staying at the Ayung Resort Ubud. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for sharing this beautiful review to fellow travelers on TripAdvisor. We will make sure to share this wonderful feedback with our team

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Ayung Resort Ubud in the near future.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    88
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
130
465
27
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

The Ayung Resort is not so easy to find, We were travelling with our own car, and you will have to try some roads and ask some helpful locals before you will finally arrive. But then a wonderful tropical garden awaits you and in the evenings you can sit on the balcony and enjoy the sounds of the jungle-like surroundings.
Once we had dinner in the restaurant which was really good, however a bit expensive.

One thing I have to say: The whole thing is a bit strangely furnished and decorated... The lobby almost killed me. There where so many statues and stuff so that my husband and I had almost lost eachother. ;-) On the other hand the rooms were a bit naked and cool.

It would also be nice if there would actually be a pool bar. Which means, a person that serves you drinks at the pool.

But altogether we had a very nice and romantic stay at the Ayung.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Umergi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Breakfast was amazing. You can select as much as you like from the menu.
Views were also amazing. The peaceful environment we were looking for in Ubud.
Pools overlooking jungle were beautiful.
Free yoga every morning.
Loads of day activities you can do which are close like biking riding tour (Bali Eco Tours was awesome).
Room was very large and very clean. Nice bedding towels, etc. Bathroom was massive with bath and separate large wet room style shower.
Staff were very nice and helpful.
Restaurant for lunch and dinner was very nice (fine dining style) but the menu could use some work as it was boring.
Location is not in central Ubud but there have free shuttle bus services three times a day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank JT071984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear JT071984

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and make our staff very proud.

They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

We wish all the very best for 2014

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The resort is well hidden from the main road, around 2 hours from the airport depending on the road conditions. It is a wonderful place to stay, quiet and surrounded by greenery. The room is very comfortable,clean and the service is excellent. The room came with complementary breakfast and a reasonably well stock minibar, which is a nice touch. We love the breakfast and the view from the restaurant while having breakfast is fantastic. Sadly we only stayed for 1 night, did not have the time to explore around the resort and the river below. Nevertheless we had a wonderful stay at Ayung and would truly recommend it to anyone who is planning a stay at Ubud area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lingth67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Lingth67

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and make our staff very proud.

They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

We wish all the very best for 2014

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We chose Ayung as our honeymoon hotel and it couldnt be a better choice! We so didnt want to leave that magical place!! The hotel is located in green paradise, has a lobby that should be called "Bali Museaum of Art", the restaurant is very good, breakfast was above our expectations!! The staff is very friendly. If you want to just relax in the paradise Dont even doubt and book this hotel right away!! We highly recommend and will definately come back here!!!
Only thing for us was really strange&dissapointing: we stayed at Sita building, only 2 umbrellas by the pool (covers only 4 long chairs), always were occupied, we and few other guests ended up lying and holding a rain umbrellas from sun, not convinient. Hotel staff couldnt do anything about it.
Few things to be ready for: Territory around the hotel is amazing, take walking boots and discover surroundings. Gym without A/C and a bit dark. Buggy waiting time is around 10min average. Spa is good for massages, but not facials. Very very limited furniture in the room, tiny closet, no shelves or whatsoever in Bathroom, not convienient for people with a lot of staff (like us), but I guess its normal for Bali hotels. Noice from people doing rafting down the river during the day.

Room Tip: Standard: Any room has a great view,may be 2nd floor is bit better. Villas: we didnt stay, but walke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
220 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is a wonderful resort which is 1.5 to 2 hours from the international airport which is in the heart of the jungle and is in a very remote and natural setting.

We were there for 5 days and got a deluxe room for US$240 per room per night (AUD$270) inclusive of breakfast + extras such as meals and taxi services.

You can bargain a taxi to take you there for $150,000 Rp to $200,000 Rp (AUD$13-18) or you can get Ayung resort to pick you up valet service in their high quality transfer vehicles for US$50.00. Your choice.

The first thing you notice when you get there is the attentiveness and quality of the staff. For the whole stay no matter whether it was the reception, cleaners or bell boys they all made you feel like you were their only focus.

The second thing you notice is the quality of the food. The restaurant for breakfast and dinner was superb (we did not have lunch there) and the range of options and quality for the price paid was excellent. In room dining was just as good. Breakfast was included in our rate and was a-la-carte to perfection. Dinner was just as good.

Third thing is this resort is located on the side of a valley leading to they Ayang river rapids and is very steep. You will need to call the carts to come and pick you up or drop you off unless you want to raise your heart rate substantially going to and from your room. Because the resort is in the jungle there is moss everywhere and the roads and walkways are very slippery. You need to be careful when moving around in this resort for this reason. There are warning signs about slipperiness everywhere. (My wife who is very safe walking slipped over and grazed her knee and ankle - staff were very attentive and sorry but this is an issue on the mossy roads, walkways and slippery marble surfaces).

The communal areas such as reception, restaurant, health spa, fitness rooms and out door pools are in excellent condition. The artwork is substantial with marble and bronze statues, wooden, marble and rock carvings with a very assorted ranges of artwork throughout the resort. They have 3 x free transport shuttle services to Ubud (drop off and pick up) which is a great service we took advantage of).

Fourth and final thing is part of the resort is still in a state of disrepair and construction/de construction (could not tell what was happening here) and there are areas which are not finished. Even in the rooms, some of the fittings and fixtures were loose, aged or had fallen out of place. This is what would have given it a ranking of only 4 stars but as noted previously, the quality of the staff and food and most of the habitable areas in the resort are fantastic. You just need to be aware of points 3 and 4.

I recommend this for Adults looking for a quiet escape away from the rat race of the beaches. It is a wonderful retreat with a very peaceful feel. It is an excellent location for tours, meditation and/or adventure in the Ubud area.

Room Tip: 200 series rooms were fantastic. Make sure you ensure your bed is a king as for the first night, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fishinwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed at Ayung Resort for two visits. After my first nine days there I came back again for another visit because I liked it so much. If you are interested in getting away from the crowded streets of Ubud and want to stay in affordable luxury this is your place. The resort provides free shuttles back and forth to Ubud town. (At times there may be some delays and some misunderstandings about going back, but it essentially works very well. You are dropped off at the main art gallery in the heart of the town and then picked up there again.) The least expensive rooms are large and very clean, with excellent coffee machines and free soft drinks in the little fridge. The swimming pools are magnificent in terms of the feeling of being right there in the middle of nature. The breakfast, which is included in the price, is extremely pleasant, with a great selection of food and very friendly staff. There is also an afternoon gathering for drinks. The more expensive rooms are incredible. If you are willing to pay for them the villas are beyond belief. Much of the artful wood comes from Java and was supplemented by local craftspeople. While few people do this it is worthwhile to walk all around the property. Bt be careful late at night because there are guard dogs. I myself also enjoyed walking out of the gate and just visiting the local, relatively poor village area, where the people were very friendly. (But I do speak some Indonesian, Bahasa Indonesia.) The general manager is very friendly and helpful and all of the staff go out of their way to help you. Some folks complain there is too much art in the lobby, but some of that art is going to be placed in the newer buildings when they are finished. The morning yoga classes (free) are taught by very pleasant young Balinese people. Their English is not that good but they try hard to teach. Since they are Balinese they do not presume to correct you, which some people feel is not so good because they are used to teachers in New York who scold you if you are not holding the posture precisely the way they think you are supposed to be doing. However, I found it a spiritual experience. I was able to not worry whether I was doing my asanas just right. (I have found that in India it also does not matter that much. What is it about North American yoga teachers anyway!) If you are plannning a honeymoon any time soon this place will be just right. Several business people were there when I was there, too. The only thing you might want to consider is that if you are going to be in Bali for more than ten days or so you really should ALSO get around and see more of the island. Everyone goes for different reasons. A month spent at Ayung, with frequent visits to Ubud town and with occasional chaffeur driven expeditions, would not be a waste of your time. Internet communication and tv worked fine. If there is any downside to staying at Ayung it would be that it is an bit hard to adjust to the real world once you have left. Right now this is a taste of paradise. But in a few years it may change, of course. Hopefully it will just continue to improve. I can imagine, for example, lessons which would allow foreign visitors to learn a few basic phrases in Indonesian or Balinese. Knowing ten words of Balinese will improve your trip when you are walking around at temples and at beaches. I should point out that although I did meet the general manager I do not have a personal relationship with him that is any different from the friendly relationship he seems to have with almost all visitors. He is simply very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Unless you are already very spoiled, always staying in five star places, stay in the regular rooms f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Govinda9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
5.3 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 24 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
6.4 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#29 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
24.2 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayung Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayung Resort Ubud

Property: Ayung Resort Ubud
Address: Desa Melinggih Kelod | Banjar Begawan, Payangan, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ayung Resort Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayung Resort is a breathtaking, mystique and unique lifestyle hotel, perched high up on the bank of a mostly untouched tropical mountain rainforest gorge, in the traditional Balinese village of Payangan Ubud, surrounded by the gentle, spiritual tranquility and pace of Balinese life. Along this serene 8 hectares rain forest domain runs The Ayung, Bali’s most sacred mountain river. In the rocks of the hotels pathways and along it’s 600 meters long riverbank fronting the Ayung Resort, 250 of the finest Balinese Stone Carvers have painstakingly worked,for over a 2 year period,to carve the spectacular Hindu mythologies, Ramayana and Mahabharata amongst others. These stone carvings have become the most sought after photo opportunity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Ayung Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayung Resort Ubud Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing